We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surpising Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Surpising Quality”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife booked an overnight stay at this motel for the day we flew to L.A.

Just a few miles from the airport, this motel is conveniently located. If picking up a car rental at LAX, the location of the motel easy to find.

The Check In was quick and courteous. Parking is at a parkade within easy walking distance. Key entry to the parkade ensures vehicle security.

Entry to all rooms was through a secured inner courtyard requiring pass key entrance (a very nice feature). Our room was very well appointed, including a "full sized frig" and "stove top burners." The room was very clean.

Breakfast is as per advertised with hot and cold items. Depending upon "groups" staying at the motel, the area can be a bit compact.

We felt that the Rate charged was fair and that we received good value for money spent.

Room Tip: We stayed on the north side of the building, which helped to keep any noise away from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Don W,
Thank you for your nice review. There is nothing better than reading all these excellent reviews about our hotel. We are looking forward for your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    399
    96
    19
    15
See reviews for
264
243
74
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holden Beach, NC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

When we stayed here the staff were helpful and friendly. We got to the motel from the airport about 2-3 p.m. and they had a room for us. It was still being cleaned when we got to the room so they gave us another one. They arranged for an early morning pick-up for the airport (it came) and a wake-up call (it was made). The airport shuttle was on-time and got us to LAX quickly. They have a computer station where you can print boarding passes and the rooms have free wifi. The room (222) was roomy and had a frig and microwave, and was clean with a couple of exceptions: the carpet was worn and looked suspect even if it was clean. This was true throughout the whole motel. There was a big spot on the carpet in front of one of the end tables in our room. This being LA my first reaction was "Boo got shot" (with a tip of the hat to the Neal Boortz program) but it probably a red wine stain. <g> Also there was a faint smell of sewer gas coming from the bathroom which didn't bother us badly with the door closed and being tired from a pacific flight. This may have been just this room. We could have asked for a different room but were tired from traveling. We left too early to be able to take advantage of the breakfast so can't comment on that. I was worried the location would be noisy but was not and the guests around were thankfully reasonably quiet. This can vary greatly of course depending on who happens to be next to or on top of you. Overall it is a good value if you can overlook the "worn" issues and is an inexpensive stay if you are unfortunate enough to have to lay over at thoroughly disgusting LAX.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subtropical_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear subtropical_ken,
Thank you very much for your thorough review. While I am pleased you found the staff helpful and friendly and our shuttle service satisfactory, I am truly sorry if you experienced any inconvenience due to the room or accompanying amenities. Thanks to your review it enables us to focus on areas of improvement so that we may continue to provide excellent service and a comfortable stay. We strive exceedingly hard to ensure our rooms maintain the utmost level of functionality and cleanliness, so please know that your comments have been discussed with our team and were addressed immediately. We look forward to your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is still excellent to stay at. All the comforts of home. Good quality beds, microwave, refrigerators very helpful staff in all departments. Very knowledgeable and
helpful front desk. Rooms very large, clean and quiet.

Room Tip: No restaurant but several close by, in walking distance. Higher floors quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Dorothy P,
We are very pleased that you had such a great experience and found our staff to be friendly and knowledgeable. We like to make things as easy as possible for our guests, so we strive to have all the information you may need on hand. We thank you tor taking the time to express your experience and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Those people who reviewed that this place was "too far from everything" obviously did not do their research before booking and hence they are so shocked at the location. This place IS far from most sight-seeing locations, so it's not for those who want to rely on public transport for a holiday in LA. This is however, an ideal location for those who are in transit between flights as it is close to LAX and has a free airport shuttle running every half hour.

The place is clean and well-kept. A friend of mine coming to pick us up for dinner thought at first that it was new because everything looked well-maintained. There is a heated pool that opens from 9am-9pm I believe. The door after the reception that leads to the room is locked usually, and can only be opened with your room key.

Our room was spacious with 2 queen beds, and has a full sized fridge, a flat screen tv, and a big microwave oven. Beds were very comfortable, and we both slept really well. Pillows were firm and great support.The beds are a little high, but it might just be because we're short Asian girls. There are many power outlets around the room, and close to the bed, which was very appreciated for charging our phones and other electronic devices. However, there are no adaptors so you still have to bring your own as the outlets are the usual US type.

The bathroom was also big, and although there wasn't much provided except for towels (4 large and 4 small) and body shampoo & lotion, there was a sign that said if we needed anything essential, we could go to the front desk to request for it. We were just really grateful that the bathroom was huge and extremely clean. No reservations about having to walk around it barefooted at all.

In the morning, breakfast is provided and it was really good for a small establishment such as this. There was warm items such as scrambled eggs, sausage patties, toast, and you can even make your own waffles! They do provide you with jam, butter and syrup for the waffles. There was also hard boiled eggs,different kinds of cereal, bagels, muffins, and fruits. You also have a choice of juices, milk, coffee or tea to go with your food. A staff was there to make sure that everything was topped up constantly. We had a really good breakfast there before setting off for the airport to catch our flight!

We absolutely loved this property and would not hesitate to book here again should we need to. Though the price was slightly higher (about 20usd) more than some other places I looked up, it was well worth the difference for the cleanliness, comfort level and the extremely satisfying breakfast, not to mention the convenience of an airport shuttle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mynthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Mynthe,
Thank you for choosing us for your stay and sharing your detailed review with fellow travelers . It is such a wonderful compliment to us that when you stay in LA area that you make it a point to stay with us, even with a bit of an extra drive.
Although, if you are not driving there is still plenty to do; for example, there are plenty of dining options nearby like El Torito, Chips and Samurai Sals that are all very tasty. There is also great shopping malls a few miles from our hotel like South Bay Galleria, Del Amo Fashion Center and Manhattan Village. If you are a fan of the Los Angeles beaches Manhattan Beach and Santa Monica beach are about a 20 minute drive from the hotel and if you don't have transportation we also have a tour company that we work with that provides tours to all the local attractions, just ask the front desk representative when you check in.
I am so pleased that we have made you feel so welcomed and comfortable here, hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

It is an interesting hotel tucked behind two other hotels near LAX. It was obviously an older property that was remodeled. Our room was large with a kitchenette. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. They also have a complementary parking garage along with the two adjacent hotels. The layout of the hotel is not the typical traveling hotel, but it is fine. The breakfast was good although very crowded. For the price the hotel is an excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brentp999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear brentp999,
I am very happy to hear of your satisfaction. We are trying to give the best service to all our dear guests. Here at Comfort Inn Cockatoo we have all the amenities you would need during your vacation in Los Angeles, for example our Outdoor heated pool, Complimentary Parking with each night of stay, Complimentary WiFi, and our delicious Morning Breakfast make our hotel the best choice. We are eagerly looking forward to your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Front staff is really friendly and helpful. Room was clean, but carpet, bedding and linen are showing its wear and tear. Towels are extremely thin. Bed is comfortable but blankets feel old. The entire property smells like room freshener. Breakfast is free, but breakfast room is pretty small and really busy. I agree with other reviewers about the area - it is rough and does not feel safe, but parking is in a secured and gated lot right next to the property. As long as you're not walking on the street, you'll be fine. Overall, it's a decent stay and a great value for the cost of the stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fungster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel is very nice, close to airport and the staff was great.
I had a room that overlooked the pool on the third floor, the room was nice and spacious and had all the ammenities one could hope for.
The bed was very comfortable and also the pillows. we only stayed there one night since we were on a road tripo but I would definitly come back to the Hotel If I found myself again in the LAX area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear RBG71,
We appreciate you allowing us the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel. How wonderful to know that you found our service and location convenient for you stay and that our complimentary amenities provided such an exceptional value. As a reminder we do provide 24 hour courtesy shuttle to and from LAX and we have our outdoor heated pool. Thank you for your review and please consider us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
Address: 11500 Acacia Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Cockatoo Near LAX Airport is four miles from Los Angeles International Airport and offers free airport shuttle service. This Hawthorne, CA hotel provides easy access to major freeways like the 405 and 105, and is minutes from a number of local points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Hotel Hawthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing