We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome - A must stay in LA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Missouri
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome - A must stay in LA”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This place is great, a must stay if you fly in and out of LAX as its only blocks from all the car rental return places and LAX. The heated pool was great, the balcony rooms overlooking the pool were great, and the rooms had full size refrigerators, sinks, and kitchen cabinets. Bathroom was great, room was great, employees were helpful and on the spot on everything. Covered garage parking with coded gate entry.

Again, if you fly in and out of LA you should stay here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kariandnoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    402
    96
    19
    15
See reviews for
266
244
74
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not quite "decent" or even average. Managed to stay one night in a somewhat clean king room - stained chair and not thoroughly cleaned toilet. Hotel iron spit water all over my clothing. Hotel food, well, found something that felt and looked like a fingernail in my food. So glad that I did not confirm that it was a fingernail...it was a bit dark in my room and I didn't have on my glasses and I was grossed out enough already...spit it out and left the hotel - disgusted. Stay away from free breakfast buffet. Also, room was on first floor right near pool so that those sitting at outside tables could see directly into the room - they were too close to the window. The hotel is located at the end of a deadend street, so there is little room to turn around to find parking to go and check in when it gets busy there since there is not enough "check in" parking. Parking lot structure sucked cause you had to use the little ghetto code system which was difficult to pull up close enough to without getting out of the car, and its located down the block from the actual hotel with no entrance directly to the hotel. So be prepared to haul your stuff a distance out of the parking structure, down the street and across the hotel when you go to your room. The more convenient lot across the street appeared to be for employees or another hotel across the street. Rooms have below window unit air (very noisy). Not a good area, but hotel "security" was evident going up and down the block of hotels. Other hotels on that block were probably much better. I didn't complain and I know, I should have. I was just so disgusted by the place that I couldn't get out of there fast enough and the 5 more minutes complaining would have taken would have prolonged my stay way too long. Also, complaining would have made it all too real - I could just leave, try to forget and tell myself it was all a very bad dream. That's it, it was a bad dream. I should never have stayed there. I'm used to better - much better.

Room Tip: To choose a good room - stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Had a nice stay, would return if visiting the area in the future.

* Did not get a room over looking the pool - - Because when I arrived, it was explained that those rooms only have (1) bed in them (I was staying here with my brother and sister-in-law). It would have been helpful if they had mentioned that on the phone when i called.

Anyway, we had a nice stay and enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: If you only need one bed, definitely choose one overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a decent hotel in a somewhat iffy neighborhood near LAX. It's a decent place for a nigh'ts rest and the rooms were large with comfortable beds but somewhat worn furnishings and carpets. Actually it seemed pretty dark in rooms but we didn't spend to much time there. The pool in the courtyard is a nice smaller pool and breakfast was in a quite crowded breakfast room off the pool. There are several restaurants of various types in the area ranging from McDonalds to several ethnic places. Security was evident throughout but in some ways it felt kind of like staying in a fortress. Honestly I'd go back only if just looking for a place to sleep at a reasonable price. I wouldn't stay ther if I was planning on spending much time in the room or at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We found the hotel GREAT. It isn't in a high end area but felt it was in a safe location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean,comfortable and quiet. It appreared that the hotel wasn't full so they had empty rooms between ones that were occupied. We had breakfast early and there was a nice selection. The shuttle to LAX was perfect. I would not hesistate to stay here again.

Room Tip: . The hotel sits back from the main street and we had no noise of traffic. We always ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okshew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

After many months of research, we decided on this place due to the reviews and the very reasonable price. While we were a bit skeptical due to the comments about the neighborhood, the gated parking garage and the secure entrance eased any fears. The room was very clean, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. We loved the in room thermostat and the free Wi-Fi and of course, the free breakfast. The only complaint...after a long day seeing the city sights...we would have liked to pool to be open later.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
185 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a great hotel. They highly value security with roving staff, secure gates, and even a card needed to enter the courtyard. Rooms were great and no airport noise. It is very close to LAX and the on ramps to 3 major freeways. Could not be more convenient. HOWEVER, if you are hungry in the morning it is a mob-scene. For my stay I was able to get breakfast only once. The room is not big enough to hold the guests, the lady serving is wonderful but slow...I waited 20 minutes on two straight days for eggs, yogurt, and even milk and never got it. I wound up eating across the street for breakfast. The front staff need to do better and be concerned about the food service (they were not...WHICH WAS A BIT ABNORMAL). Otherwise,it's a great place for that stopover or a central location for meetings in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMarkES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#82 of 351 in Los Angeles
4,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
Address: 11500 Acacia Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Cockatoo Near LAX Airport is four miles from Los Angeles International Airport and offers free airport shuttle service. This Hawthorne, CA hotel provides easy access to major freeways like the 405 and 105, and is minutes from a number of local points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Hotel Hawthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing