We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Healthy Gem in Hawthorne” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hummus House

Hummus House
Ranked #3 of 124 Restaurants in Hawthorne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Healthy Gem in Hawthorne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

If you like Mediterranean fare, look no further. This is one of my favorite restaurants and consistently serves high quality, tasty food. The staff is very friendly, the decor in the front room is beautiful, but go here for the food. The kabobs are great and the shwarma is special. I love the rice and it has the best tabouli salad ever. The lamb shank is to die for. Try the specials. This chef is really talented. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Surprise find in Hawthorne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were in Hawthorne to visit their most famous tenant housed at Rocket Road and came across this restaurant on my local restaurant finder. Three of us ordered different meals (Chicken shawarma, Lamb shawarma, Chicken/Lamb kabob combo) and a Falafel plate. All three items were excellent - I thought my kabobs were among the top 3 I have eaten. Service was fine, place can use a decor update but we really didn't care as the food as so good and we just needed to kill an hour.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nkashyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Liberia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Could be cleaner. Needs update. Great location. Prices are reasonable. Recommend to everyone! Try their hummus plate.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank s d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“INTERESTING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

the restaurant was referred to me by a clerk at the hotel not to far from here. the food selection was interesting and very good. i know i will come back and visit next time i am in the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank inandouttravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Intriguing & Inviting Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We arrived near closing time but were treated like royalty. If you want authentic Mediterranean cuisine with an amazing taste for bargain prices - this is the place.
My wife had the beef & lamb kabobs with house salad & artichoke hummus - it was fresh, tasty & incredibly seasoned. The salad was the right mix of the best of various greens with a tangy house dressing. Yummy!
I had the pita vegetarian wrap. It was the perfect combination of ingredients.
I wanted to try one of their delicious looking baklava treats - but was so content with the delicious & intriguing meal that I had to resist. Maybe next visit.
My only concern is the restaurant's appearance. It's somewhat dated and would benefit from an upgrade.

Helpful?
Thank A2coolcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummus House also viewed

 
Hawthorne, CA
 

Been to Hummus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing