We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Hawthorne
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
57
13
5
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
57
13
5
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard hotel paul mitchell front desk awesome stay common areas great amenities an upgrade police station nice room across the street little things hot tub great place to stay booked this hotel recommend this hotel airport shuttle definitely stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having tried our first TownePlace Suites property in Portland and liking our initial experience, decided to try it again in LA. Decided to pick the LAX/Hawthorne property over the LAX/Manhattan Beach property as this one looked newer in the pictures and better ratings on TA.

I have mixed feelings about this property. What we liked was the property is new, well designed, good amount of lighting throughout the building, and in a good location. It's located across the street from city hall and the city police & public library is located next door. The outdoor area is nice as well with a basketball court, pool, and BBQ grill with seating area.

What we think can be improved are:
- front desk staff. didn't get any recognition of status. they level of service was 'cold'. The hotel is connected to the Courtyard hotel and there is stark contrast b/w staff service level b/w the Courtyard vs. the Towneplace.
- the hotel was oversold during our stay b/c of the Utah vs. USC game over the weekend. A lot of the Utah fans were staying there. WIth that many people, the hotel felt crowded especially noticeable during breakfast. Wow, what a mad house. Food offering was ok, but with that many people at the hotel, the food ran out often and the staff was trying hard to refill.
- more focused on cleanliness. Probably a buyproduct of the # of guests, but the common areas were messy throughout the day. Even late at night, small pieces of garbage can be seen. Also, in the morning, went to use the bathroom in the lobby and there were whole bunch of beer cans/bottles on the bathroom floor, empty toilet paper rolls, and full garbage cans which were overflowing. I went to tell the staff so hoping they sent someone to clean.

The property also charges $15/night for parking. The parking lot did get full so you may have to park far from the front/back entrances. Felt safe in the area and there are several restaurants nearby (ex. Popeye's chicken across the main street).

I'd come visit again if i'm in the area, but i think i would have to temper my expectations a little bit more. Overall the property feels new and amenities pretty good. But staffs need to spend a little bit more time/effort to keep it well maintained.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Los Angeles LAX/Hawthorne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review and for your feedback. We apologize for us not meeting your expectations. Our staff always strives to make our guest’s stay as pleasurable as possible. We will definitely take your comments and use them to improve. Once again, we apologize and we hope to make a better impression on you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

The hotel was very clean, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The amenities were a plus you get free breakfast in the morning and there is also a bar located in the lounge area of the hotel that I discovered the day before we left lol I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to California.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Terretia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Los Angeles LAX/Hawthorne, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2019

Thank you for the great review! You actually touched on everything our hotel tries to provide - a clean/modern room, friendly staff, and a nice environment. Combine that with an excellent rate and you could see why we have so many guests leaving satisfied. Thank you again and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

It was very good experience to stay this hotel. The room is good, the facility is good, staffs are very good. Only one thing, when I checked in, the room was not ready, then, we had to wait about 30 minutes in the lobby. Actually, we wanted to enter our room soon. but at that time, free coffee and tee was good for help.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vacation803746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Los Angeles LAX/Hawthorne, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

Thank you for the great review! You actually touched on everything our hotel tries to provide - a clean/modern room, friendly staff, and a nice environment. Combine that with an excellent rate and you could see why we have so many guests leaving satisfied. Thank you again and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

A great place to stay near LAX. Rooms are brad new and clean. Kitchen works great since there's a Super Groceries just across the street. lots of places to meet new friends and hang out in the lobby or near the pool. free parking + complementary airport shuttle. breakfast is five-star.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kaikaikai2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Los Angeles LAX/Hawthorne, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Thank you for the great review! We also agree that our hotel offers a great value for what we provide. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

The hotel looks very new and the design is quite stylish. The rooms are big, clean and modern. Parking is safe and has a good availability. Conveniently located. It is only a 10 minute drive to the airport (shuttle service is available for free). 15 min drive to Venice, 20 min to Santa Monica, 30 min to Hollywood (without traffic). If you rent a car try to avoid rush hour at all cost. In the area there are some restaurants and also many choices for delivery. The fireplaces on the patio are a nice touch.
The breakfast buffet is quite well stocked and features waffles on the weekends.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and consider staying there again (very good price-value in overpriced LA). Staff is very friendly.

Room tip: We had a room facing the pool on the 4 floor and found it to be very quiet.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rita_hermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Los Angeles LAX/Hawthorne, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Thank you for the great review! You actually touched on everything our hotel tries to provide - a clean/modern room, friendly staff, and a nice environment. Combine that with an excellent rate and you could see why we have so many guests leaving satisfied. Thank you again and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews