We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night en route to London. Very reasonable price for the quality of the hotel and breakfast was included. Room was spacious and clean..

Check in was friendly and efficient.

We had a car so didn't feel the neighbourhood was unsafe. There was a McDonalds across the road which we used. Car parking was in a locked garage and was free.

Breakfast was included and was okay.

All in all it was a good stay and worked out at half the price of the hotels we had previously stayed at closer to the airport. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Lax Hawthorne thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us I am glad you decided stay and try our hotel giving us the opportunity to prove ourselves and making your stay in los Angeles nothing but great. As you mentioned we are conveniently located just a couple miles from the airport close enough but just far enough from all the noise and the craziness. We do offer a great variety of breakfast items in our free hot continental breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again please don’t hesitate to contact us directly for any future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 632 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is very well located if you want to be close to the airport (LAX), otherwise the area seemed to me a bit shady.
The room was huge and had all the facilities. Also very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was very good, not a lot of choice but enough.
The staff was ok, they helped me find/borrow a power adaptor which was very good of them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iulia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hi Lulia

Thank you for such a short but sweet review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our amenities. The staff always goes above and beyond to accommodate all our guest and I am glad they were able to help you with your needs during your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I live in southern california and stayed here for 1 night as it was closer to where my business was that day and easier than driving home. Hotel is only a few miles from LAX and right off the 105 freeway. Easy access. The greet staff up front was very friendly and did recognize my platinum status. The room was very clean and quiet. Everything worked fine. My room did not have any issues at all. The only challenge is the lack of parking. There is a parking structure across the road that you share with 3 other hotels, so get here early to get a decent spot. It is secure however. If you are coming in on business this is a nice little affordable hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Michael,
First and foremost I would like to thank you for being a Platinum priority member, and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you truly enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our location was convenient to your needs. Thank you again for such a great review and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Free airport shuttle was good.

The hotel is in need of an up grade, the room rug looked dingy, the furniture was stained, and the room smelled a bit moldy. The bed was too soft.

The bathroom had yellow mold on the shower ceiling, and the bathroom ceiling was chipping and in a need of patching and painting. The tub and shower water pressure was very poor.

We had to leave before the breakfast room was open, so they gave us a banana, 1/2 pint of milk and a blueberry bagel with cream cheese.

Not up to Holiday Inn standards!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Bostonskier,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you had on the room. I wish you would have advised the front desk immediately, we would have been more than happy to accommodate you to another room. Rest assured that your comments are being reviewed by our team and we will take actions accordingly.
Please remember that breakfast is not served until 6:30 in the morning. Our staff did go an extra step to assure you with a continental breakfast to go before you heading out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this excellent hotel. Easy to find in rental car from the airport. Reprint very friendly and helpful with quick check in. Large room on the fourth floor with 2 queen beds, small fridge and microwave. Good breakfast with hot choice as well as cereals and pastries. Parked car in secure garage nearby for free. Used the Metro, only 3-4 mins walk from hotel. Bought day pass for $6. Ey trip into downtown LA. Would recommend this hotel, enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEATHER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Heather,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we truly appreciate the feedback. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the location was ideal for your travel needs. Our staff always goes above and beyond for each guest joining us and we were glad your experience was nothing less. Thank you again for the great feedback and we hope to see you soon. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I would thoroughly recommend Holiday Inn Express we took our Daughter and Grandson and booked two rooms for 4 nights. The rooms were quite large, clean and the beds were very comfortable. A good location from the airport with a free shuttle bus to take you to and from the airport, you must phone from the airport when you want to be picked up, we found a service desk who phoned for us. Breakfast was basic but what do you expect for free, quite adequate to start the day off. The staff was excellent and very friendly and helpful.Free internet and a nice swimming pool to lounge around and relax to get over the shopping. Being from New Zealand we didn't have a car but we caught the bus down to the South Bay Galleria great shopping to be had down there. Apart from the actual shopping center behind is a Target, there is Nordstron Rack great bargains to be had from there and over the road a DSW shoe wholesalers, amazing bargains. You can shop until you drop, so Holiday Inn Express for us was in a great location. We then went onto New York and then came back for another night in LA before we flew home to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julies-Views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Ms. Views,

I would like to thank you for such an AMAZING review. We are glad we were able to exceed your expectations and you liked every aspect of your stay with us. I am happy to hear our staff was of great help to you and your family. Our main goal is for guest to enjoy their stay with us and make it as comfortable as we can. And I can’t tell you how rewarding it is to hear that we succeeded in making your stay such a great memory. We hope to see you and your family again on your next to trip to L.A Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is my family's second stay at the HI Express Hawthorne. This time, we stayed just one night after a 13-hour transpacific flight, before flying on to Oregon the next day, and I'm happy to report that we enjoyed our stay (again).

Service was still top-notch --- front desk, shuttle driver. We were immediately given a bag of goodies (being Priority Club members) and a set of LA maps (part of the room package). Best of all, we were upgraded to a suite with a sofa, small dining table and a little extra space. I wasn't too happy being on the ground floor at first (we asked for a higher floor), but it turned out OK --- the breakfast hall was just a few steps away and that was very convenient for a one-night stay.

The room, however, is showing some wear and tear. We encountered peeling wallpaper, a cracked outlet, scuff marks and scratches on the dark wood-like surface of the furniture ---- disappointing when you consider that the hotel is still relatively new. (2 years ago, the room condition was impeccable.)

Breakfast was thoroughly enjoyable. It was exactly the same as we recalled from 2 years ago (some guests might think that's a minus point), but that suited us fine. The pancake machine, the bagels, the cartons of milk and chocolate milk and yoghurt, the egg and sausage patties, the juice and coffee --- we had our fill and still rate the free breakfast rather highly (never mind the paper plates and cutlery). A good thing, too, since we ended up waiting more than 9 hours at LAX airport for our onward flight to Portland!

Work a bit on the maintenance, HI Express --- but otherwise, a job well done.

Room Tip: Breakfast hall fills up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wingdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
LAX Area
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#95 of 354 in Los Angeles
4,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne

Address: 11436 Hawthorne Blvd, Hawthorne, CA 90250-2312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range: $122 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly constructed 120 room hotel offers the fastest and most reliable free high speed Internet in the city! To help you stay fit our hotel features a 24 hour complimentary fitness center. Our state of the art meeting space can facilitate any of your business or social event needs. On the road with no laptop? Don’t worry; you can print directions to local attractions and your next boarding pass in our complimentary business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing