We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap, clean, nowhere near anything except the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Virginia
Level Contributor
298 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“cheap, clean, nowhere near anything except the airport”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Before we pushed on down under from the east coast, my wife and I decided to break up the long flight with time to adjust at an airport hotel. The price for this was downright reasonable; we rolled the dice. I have to admit that I never found myself in a neighborhood that was so bleak. Other than fast food, there are only a few places to eat within walking distance: Rosalita's Baja is a family style restaurant, Pan American Bakery has the best pan dulce north of the border, and next door is a nice taco place with a lovely women who will modify her authentic fair to your taste. The Holiday Inn is clean, provides breakfast, and has a small business center. The workout room has three barely functioning machines; the pool and hot tub are outdoors. The rooms and common spaces are very clean; the staff is friendly. Shuttle service from the airport is only if you call and arrange pickup. There are other Holiday Inns in the area that have regular running service but have no connection to Holiday Inn Express Hawthorne. For the budget conscious, this will serve in between flights. If you want a proper hot meal the night before your flight, you're better off looking for a hotel that has a restaurant on site or at least offers someplace you can easily walk to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear ProfessorCharles,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness, shuttle service and staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding places to eat around the area.I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    276
    98
    29
    17
See reviews for
229
149
47
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here for a week while working in the area. Normally the Holiday inn brand of hotels is very good and recieves exceptional reviews from me, this time the hotel just came up short. It wasnt a bad stay, it just wasnt up to par of other hotels, even the Candlewood across the parking lot. The breakfast was cold, the kitchen staff really needs to warm things up and not just dump the contents of a can and throw it under a warming light. The staff was pretty good, but the whole hotel just seemed to come up short in my expectations . I will stay at the Candlewood agian for sure, but not this Holiday Inn Express

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregw357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear gregw357,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest
Level Contributor
252 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent three nights at the Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne in February. The hotel is about 20 minutes from LAX but it offers complimentary transfers to/from the hotel. The property is located on Hawthorne Boulevard and is about three blocks away from a Ralph’s super market (which comes in handy if you want to pick up items to enjoy in your room; in addition to food, it also sells liquor, beer and wine).

The hotel has a very spacious lobby and all rooms are accessed via this entry. Located on the first floor is a small business center (two computers with printers) as well as a fitness center. A very large breakfast room is located off the lobby. All rooms have microwaves, a mini-frig and a coffee maker. Our room had a work desk with lots of work space. Wifi was free and very fast.

The Holiday Inn Express breakfast is always good with lots of choices. A nice extra here was that kids were given a plastic drinking cup and a collection of colors and other items to keep them busy while enjoying breakfast. The buffet included hot items – cooked eggs (one morning was cheese omelets, another was scrambled eggs and the last was vegetarian omelets), breakfast meats (they rotated between sausage & bacon), biscuits, sausage gravy, pancakes and cinnamon rolls. Cold items included cereal, yogurt, boiled eggs and a variety of breakfast breads & muffins. Coffee, various juices and milk (regular and fat free) were available. Everything was kept full and fresh and it was a great way to start the morning.

We enjoyed our stay at The Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles Hawthorne. We enjoyed being able to walk to Ralph’s (although we might not have done so in the late evening hours). All staff members were friendly and professional. The hotel offers an affordable stay and access to food shopping that isn’t available at many properties closer to the airport. We will use it again when we next pass through Los Angeles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExcellentAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is quite new and is well appointed. It has a whirlpool and swimming pool which are availablefo 9am to 9pm.

The breakfast is complimentary and is very good. At the price it is probably the best hotel I have used. Staff were friendly and efficient and were obviously enjoying their work.

Beds were roomy and comfortable and the rooms were spacious.

It would be difficult to find anothert like it at these prices

Room Tip: This is described as an 'airport' hotel though it is not really that near. However the shutt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.Thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hawthorne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

we stayed here for three nights, it was a very clean hotel, with great WiFi and TV , a good free breakfast , free safe facility (something that makes a pleasant change as we are often charged for this in Europe) and a good secure parking facility. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The only reservation i had was the area the location was located in, although close to the airport, it isnt next to it, and if you don't know you're way around, you could find yourself lost in LA, make sure you have clear directions ready when you arrive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time and giving us your feed back. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights, very comfortable bed, clean room with fridge and microwave, very good breakfast, high speed wireless internet, the only thing we didnt like was the parking lot near the hotel, looked abandoned not so good to walk at night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Draelachtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. We will dafinitly discuss the parking issue with our staff to make it more welcoming to our guests. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel is fine with a good breakfast and good free parking in a locked parking lot not too far from the airport (LAX)but on arrival the first room we were given had dirty and stained bed sheets,we complained and were given another room on the same floor but this too had dirty and stained bed sheets also the pillow cases in all the rooms I believe have never seen a iron as they are all crumpled,The area the hotel is in is not a really good area but we did not feel threatened,The final room was ok but when you have been traveling for over 24 hrs you don't really want to be swapping and changing rooms,I think they are trying to improve and maybe one day will get there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesdeeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for giving us the feedback from your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express - LAX Hawthorne. I apologize that we fell short in meeting your expectations during your stay at our property. I hope you give us a second chance and we will do a better job in serving your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
LAX Area
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Westside
Holiday Inn Los Angeles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne
Address: 11436 Hawthorne Blvd, Hawthorne, CA 90250-2312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly constructed 120 room hotel offers the fastest and most reliable free high speed Internet in the city! To help you stay fit our hotel features a 24 hour complimentary fitness center. Our state of the art meeting space can facilitate any of your business or social event needs. On the road with no laptop? Don’t worry; you can print directions to local attractions and your next boarding pass in our complimentary business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing