We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENJOYED THE STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Lax Hawthorne
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ENJOYED THE STAY”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The convenience of having a full kitchen was enjoyable. The room was clean and adequately equipped. Even had a dish washer and detergent to get you started. So sweet of them to put a buttered popcorn package and plastic bowl in the microwave as a room gift. Had an internet room in the lobby, very convenient, and a commissary snack room also. The staff was very friendly. Each day and evening we were greeted at the door with smiles and friendly "Hello's". I appreciate it when the front desk dont talk loud when checking you in and everyone then knows your business. Candlewood talked directly to us in a reasonably tone of voice. The hallways were quiet. Even the cleaning staff were friendly and always spoke with a "good morning". We, ( my husband and I) truly enjoyed our stay. We celebrated our 44th wedding anniversary during our stay in California. (our only small complaint was our window faced a lot with constuction debris and 6am we awoke to loud sounds of trucks moving and stacking debris.) That really didnt bother us too much since we wake 6:30am normally. Otherwise it was a great trip. We would definitely return. Hopefully construction will be over then.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELAXHB, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Lax Hawthorne, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
"Enjoyed The Stay" that is our goal and I am very happy to hear that. Thank you for your review about our hotel. We enthusiastically look forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    61
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
31
33
18
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you are needing a hotel near LAX this is a good little hotel. The rooms are very clean and the bed linens were spotless (and we check). The staff was friendly.

I understand why some people were freaked out about the safety. It's all perspective. No, it's not in the most opulent suburb. But believe me I have also been in MUCH worse neighborhoods. This neighborhood is really not all that bad.

They have a locked garage in which you can park your car. And I wouldn't recommend that women go out wandering the streets by themselves at night. But then hey I don't like my wife to that here at home either, just not ever a smart thing to do.

The hotel is close to LAX, without being right on top of it (so you don't have be kept awake by jet engines all night). And there are plenty of stores etc. in the area.

Great place for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Shane_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELAXHB, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Lax Hawthorne, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing Candlewood Suites for your stay near Los Angeles international airport. We really appreciate the time you put to write this review about our hotel. We are very happy that you had a good experience with us and we would look forward to your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I'm going to just keep this simple and sweet.

PROS
Great pricing
Rooms are very comfortable. Have kitchens , tv's , utensils, plates, glasses, complime loontary popcorn, paper towels, great soft linens and towels. Definitely a home feel.
Free WiFi
Great air conditioning
Instant hot water
Complimentary laundry room
Complimentary computers with printers.
Complimentary Gym
Complimentary shuttle to and from LAX
The prices of the items (snacks) in the gift shop are great.
Close to the airport.

CONS
Small lobby (shouldn't really matter )
Not the greatest neighborhood.
No attractions in the area for vacationers.


Basically, do not go out and walk around at night as it seems to be a bad neighborhood, a lot of odd and scary characters walking around.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family but with one condition they MUST have a car. This is not an area you want to be walking around and riding the public transportation, I had to as I had to car and it led to several uneasy moments. Bus drivers would even tell me to be safe as I got off the bus.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe4225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELAXHB, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Lax Hawthorne, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review. I am very happy to hear about your satisfaction. We are enthusiastically looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel was close to the airport about 15 mins. We stayed there in July 2012 for 3 nights before going to Anaheim. The room was very clean, there was a little canteen that sold basic stuff, the room included a little kitchen with a stove top, regular size fridge, dishwasher, microwave, glasses and dishes including stuff to wash dishes. There were 3 washers and 4 dryers that were free to use for guest. Parking was also very good with secured parking I believe the parking was free and also included wi-fi internet (a little on the slow side). Easy check in and check out.

The area was sort of run down but the people were very friendly and there was a lot of fast food places all within walking distance.

The only negative thing I can say about the stay was the noise we heard every morning and night of someone walking in the room above us. It was really loud like if the person was stomping and walking.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELAXHB, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Lax Hawthorne, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind word. I am very happy to hear that we successfully matched your expectation. It is very important for us that all of our guests enjoy their stay and remember us for their next occasion.
In addition to all the amenities you mentioned, we also have a library of movies at the front desk. Renting a movie is free of charge and you can watch the movie in your room on 32" flat screen TV. Every room has a DVD player and a recliner. Popcorn is available in your room. So, next time remember to enjoy a movie night at our Candlewood Suites.
We are enthusiastically looking forward for your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Had a nice stay at Candlewood Suites near the airport. They had a free shuttle to and from LAX but the shuttle doesn't loop around so you need to call them to pick you up. I suggest that you give them a call when you arrive coz it takes about 15 minutes to get to the hotel.

Check in was quick and we got to spin the wheel to get a free great being a priority club member.

The room was nice with two double beds and it has a kitchenette with a full size fridge, a two or three burner stove and a microwave and a good size sink. The bathroom was spacious with very basic toiletries. They also had free self-serve laundry. They had a nice gazebo with a BBQ close to the parkade.

I think this hotel caters more to long term clients with their free laundry and a mini kitchen and no breakfast.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anoini2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Lax Hawthorne, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for writing this review about our property. As you said shuttle service is on demand and guests can call the hotel when they arrive at the airport to arrange pick-ups. It will just take 10-15 minutes to get to hotel from the LAX airport.
Please make sure to remember if you are going to stay in Los Angeles for a long term; Candlewood Suites is your best choice. You would have nothing to worry about when you stay in Candlewood, because it has bigger rooms, comfy beds, full kitchen, free parking, free laundry, free WIFI, and easy access to highways. Above all you will pay less if you stay for a longer term.
Although Candlewood Suites is an extended stay hotel, it has a lot of transient guests who stay for one or two nights. Candlewood Suites' free parking, free WIFI, free shuttle to/from LAX and comfort are very attractive for short term stay guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Spent one night here before flying out of LAX. Hotel is clean. Staff is friendly. Rooms are a small "suite". It's all one room, but you do have a mini kitchen.

Room had a food odor...must have been whatever the previous occupant had cooked the night before. No big deal.

Parking is secure...it has to be. The area sucks. It's not a part of town I would go walking around by myself or at night.

Very convenient to the airport. I don't think it even took 10 minutes to get to Alamo to return the car.

It's also noisy. Didn't look out the window, so I don't know if it was hotel guests outside, or the neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rizzo0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELAXHB, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Lax Hawthorne, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. It is a pleasure to read of your satisfaction. If you are going to have a longer stay in Los Angeles area, do not forget to check out our rates. Candlewood is an extended stay hotel so the rates drop when you stay longer.
As you mentioned, all of our rooms have full kitchen with pots and pans, beds are comfy and rooms are bigger than normal transient hotel. Our hotel is located near major highways, so you will easily get to downtown or beaches.
Enthusiastically looking forward for your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Looking for a new place to store our car before a trip I found this hotel. I choose it for it's reasonable price, 24/7 shuttle, and 2 weeks car storage in a covered garage. Altho, at first, we found the area a little sketchy, it turned out to be a grand melting pot of friendly people. We drove around a bit and later walked, never feeling uncomfortable about the people or surroundings. From our arrival to final car pick up, every employee was polite, cheerful, and helpful. The room was newly refurbished and comfortable. The bed and linens were upscale and very nice. The recliner chair is a welcome addition. Our car was stored in a gated garage. We found a Mexican restaurant nearby and the food was outstanding. Our morning shuttle driver was ready for us 5 min early and drove safely and sanely to LAX. Our pickup driver was the same and the shuttle arrived earlier than promised. We appreciated that our drivers slowed for corners, not causing all the passengers to slide in their seats. We picked up our car about 1130pm and the security guard, on his golf cart, assisted us with the gates. We saved Candlewood's business card and will use them again.

Room Tip: We had an outside room but didn't hear traffic, just 1 siren and we are used to the quiet of cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmscuba27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELAXHB, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Lax Hawthorne, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for your review, "Park-Stay-Fly" package is one of our most popular packages. Usually this package is for one night stay at the hotel and two weeks of parking and is available online. If you are interested in changing the duration of your stay or parking on your next visit, just call us and we would make the arrangements. Parking is in a gated and covered parking structure as mentioned in your comments. We are looking forward to your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Lax Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Lax Hawthorne

Property: Candlewood Suites Lax Hawthorne
Address: 11410 Hawthorne Blvd, Hawthorne, CA 90250-2312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Lax Hawthorne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Specializing in Extended Stays our hotel features the Candlewood Cupboard Convience Store, a lending DVD Library and 24 hour Fitness center. You'll find fully equipped kitchens, high speed internet access, large work spaces and free parking. We are minutes from great shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Lax Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Lax Hawthorne Hotel Hawthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing