We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC Birthday Party”
Review of Wetheriggs Animal Rescue Centre - CLOSED

Wetheriggs Animal Rescue Centre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Wetheriggs Animal Rescue Centre is a small family run animal sanctuary now based at Thorpe Farm Centre near Barnard Castle having previously been situated in Clifton Dykes near Penrith since it started in 2006. The centre is currently home to over 600 animals, many of which have been pets in the past and are now looking for new homes. Some of the animals are brought in from the RSPCA and other animal rescue organisations and centres. There is lots to see, and visitors have the chance to get close to many of the animals and even feed some of them. We offer talks and animal handling sessions during weekends and local school holidays, and we are always happy to go the extra mile for our visitors, so if there is any animal you'd like to hold or learn more about please just ask.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Thank you Terry and team for a wonderful birthday party for 17 very excited 6 & 7 year olds. Great value - £7.50 for food, feeding animals, snake & millipede handling, meet ferrets and foxes and the highlight for kids and adults - feeding the meerkats live mealworms on our knees!! AMAZING!

1  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

63 - 67 of 135 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

It's a zoo because they have to pay zoo licence for some of the creatures not because they have lions and tigers in massive cages. They dohave some unusual animals though, like a genet. Don't know whatone is? Go and see.
Fruit bats flying past you in free space is wonderful.
Cafe on site is basic.
They cpuld do with having a look at moo.com and getting at least some postcards printed up for themselves.
Excellent few hours wandering around. Loved the wallaby with it's joey and caughtsight of the albino hedgehog.
£17.50 for a familyticket

Thank kkkaarreenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Well I went here today (16/09) and it was terrible. I have no idea why this place is called a zoo because it isn't whatsoever. Yeah some of the animals were ok but a very big disappointment overall plus the staff weren't exactly very friendly nor welcoming. Never again!

2  Thank Emmalouiise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Keeper & Administrator at Wetheriggs Animal Rescue Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Hi, i'm sorry to read you were disappointed with Wetheriggs, but i'm guessing you didn't understand Wetheriggs is primarily a rescue centre. I'm sorry if you were expecting Lions, Tigers and Giraffes. Part of the reason we have Zoo in our name is because we have a zoo licence which allows us to accommodate the many exotic animals we have in our care, most of which have been rescued. We also Zoo in our name to attract visitors as we rely on visitors to keep the place running, and if we were just called Animal Rescue Centre (like we were previously) many people think the centre is only open to people who want to rehome any of the animals.
As many of our visitors say, we have many unusual animals to see, and we are a lot more hands on than most places you can visit. I'm sorry if you didn't enjoy any of this.

Also i'm sorry you feel the staff were not friendly or welcoming. I was not in on the day of your visit so I cannot comment on your experience, but it is very unusual for any staff members to be unwelcoming. If any staff member was unpleasant during your visit I can only apologise for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We've just spent a couple of hours wandering around wetheriggs with our 2year old and we had a great time feeding the goats and miniature donkeys. There are a few unusual animals there too that we weren't expecting to see like the coati, mongoose, spotted genets and raccoon dogs.
I can't imagine what a difficult job it must be to look after so many rescued animals.
Well done folks, keep up the good work!!

Thank vichicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Keeper & Administrator at Wetheriggs Animal Rescue Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Hi, thank you for your kind review. I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to Wetheriggs. I'm glad you enjoyed seeing the wide range of animals we have on display, most of which have been rescued in one way or another.

It does get very hard at times keeping the centre running, especially some days when we don't have many staff and volunteers in. I'm glad you appreciate the work everyone at the centre does.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you back at Wetheriggs soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This place is very well run by dedicated staff, a rescue centre for mistreated animals and very worthy of your interest and donations. The whole family spent a great few hours there feeding and petting some lovely creatures and had a great time. Keep up the good work guys!

1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Keeper & Administrator at Wetheriggs Animal Rescue Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Hi, thank you very much for your kind review. I'm glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit to Wetheriggs. We rely on people like you to visit the site as this is our main source of income for the rescue centre. Without visitors coming and supporting us we would not be able to keep the centre running, so thank you very much.
Thank you also for your kind comment about our dedicated staff. We all work hard to keep the place running and spend time with visitors when we can.
Thanks again, and we hope to see you back at Wetheriggs soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing