We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Fabulous Variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harmony Glassworks

Harmony Glassworks
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Harmony
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Harmony (population 18) is regarded as a local treasure, and home to a handful of shops, including Harmony Glassworks, Harmony Pottery and Harmony Cellars. Harmony Glassworks offers a one-of-a-kind experience in contemporary glass art. Founded in 2007 by glassblower and instructor, Eric Dandurand, Harmony Glassworks is an art gallery, studio, and school all in one. Their mission is to create unsurpassed glass art and share the joy of glassblowing with the public, through their unique glass gallery and in-house glassblowing classes. Inside the gallery, you'll find a large collection of hand-blown glass art from some of the best glass artists in the world, including a large selection from local glass artists. Harmony Glassworks is a working studio and one can see glassblowing on a daily basis.
New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What a Fabulous Variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

A friend had said that she heard that the glassblowing here was reminiscent of Venice ( Murano ). It is is many ways better.
There is everything imaginable here from inexpensive trinkets to the most sophisticated and beautiful works of art. The place is airy and, unlike Venice, there is no pressure to buy. You have all of the time you need to wander and discover. They give you attention when you ask for help and they leave you alone to discover for yourself. What is clear is that the glassblower and the owner, as well as the very helpful salespeople, really love glass.
Discover we did, the more we looked, the more we truly liked.
The only problem here is choosing because the more you stay, the more you see and admire.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorkscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Artistry at Work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

My hubbie probably spent an hour watching the glass blowers create in this little glass / art studio while the kids and I shopped and looked around town. A darling little town and alot of great glass work in this studio, we enjoyed this visit very much.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dsnotary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“You have got to Stop In Harmony”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is more a review for all of Harmony. This is a lovely place to stop for just a few hours. The Glassworks shop, the pottery shop and a must must must…the Winery!!!! Harmony Winery had some of the best wines (their Chardonay was amazing as were others such as the Anniversary wine). The setting was beautiful on the top of a country hill. They encourage you to experience your wine tasting around the premises. Their are picnic tables to enjoy so bring some food or just cheese to pair with your wine! You can also buy cheese in the winery. I unexpectantly happened upon this town and am greatful that I did. I stopped here after seeing the Seal Harbor. Harmony is also close to the Mansion.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mybell222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Impressive array of artisan glass to showcase, wear, decorate and gift”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We were on a mother daughter trip to the Mid State Fair and Harmony was definitely on the trip itinerary. I have visited as often as I am on the central coast since the early 70s. I always look forward to seeing local artisan work and Harmony Classwork made the trip to Harmony memorable. It has so many items that are whimsical and practical, as well as fine art. We spent a little longer than we expected watching a student trying a newly learned glassblowing technique. We decided to get earrings that would remind us of our summer together. Eric helped us solve an earring issue over long distance and in a timely manner. The employees are friendly and helpful. Thoughtful customer service you can definitely expect. Bring your gift/wish list when you visit!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank slotraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harmony Glassworks also viewed

Harmony, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Harmony Glassworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing