We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much food that you can "bearly" stand when you are done eating :)”
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #4 of 122 Restaurants in Hanford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Georgetown, IL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So much food that you can "bearly" stand when you are done eating :)”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The salads were big, there were plenty of veggies, and lots of meat. We brought home a complete meal! Save room for a banana split but make sure you have someone to "split" with as it is HUGE. Unless you like huckleberry, ask for a different third flavor. We did not like it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sailorwife23320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fallon, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly delightful”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Initially, we were completely ignored by the female floor manager.. We almost left because of how rude she was at her blatant ignorance for customer service. However, we sat at the counter and had a terrific waitress. I received service I expect in a 4 star restaurant. The general manager is certainly the glue to that restaurant, he was helping ALL of his employees and always had a smile and a joke. This is the kind of manager I would want on my team. Food was great, surprisingly as we'll. overall excellent experience, the female floor supervisor is bringing that restaurant down.. A simple hello, I will be right with you would have gone a long way.. Happy staff except for her, sad...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carla324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

A place to stop by to get a real good American food. So far, none of the dishes I have had have been disappointing. Taste was excellent, portions are more than you can imagine. Greta service, and awesome cobbler. Check if there is one around you and head there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernsteinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love Black Bear”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The food is always great and big portions of food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wade D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best pot roast around!”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Black Bear diner is a bit pricey, but their wait staff is friendly and for a girl who had just moved away from home, their food was just like the kind mom makes!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing