We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice rooms, Friendly staff, but select room carefully!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Very nicely maintained hotel. The rooms were immaculate (and I have a very critical eye for any dirt/mold). My wife and I loved the layout of the room, it was very spacious and yet felt very cozy/comfortable. The views of the ocean are great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast was nice fresh fruit and pastries with fresh coffee and juice. However, on the negative side, the road traffic is deafening -make sure you get an ocean view room, this will block most of the traffic sounds. We got a partial ocean view facing south, and it was just tolerable, but we couldn't leave the sliding door open because of the traffic noise. The Half Moon Bay area is ok, but not a travel destination, it is a bit run down. Our favorite thing to do was to drive up the road to the Ritz Carlton and park-- It is open to the public -but you have to tell the Ritz Carlton guard that you are there to walk on the "coast trail". The Coast Trail is a very beautiful paved walking trail that hugs the shoreline along a golf course. It is scenic and pastoral, as compared to the run down nature of the rest of Half Moon Bay..... We ate a few of the restaurants near the hotel, but they were very expensive and the food was not that all that good.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank xray316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 950 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at the Beach House in Half Moon Bay for a few nights in one of their 'top of the range' ocean view rooms as part of a multi-stage vacation across the US - we were very disappointed.

No air conditioning, no restaurant or bar, breakfast is a joke - you have a few pastries etc. in the lobby along with a few chairs, you're actively encouraged to just take it to your room so as to keep the lobby clear, literally the worst breakfast experience in over 40 years of hotel custom. The only other restaurant nearby doesn't open until 11:30am and doesn't serve breakfast. They have a nice little display of merchandise to buy in the lobby, pity they couldn't have used the space for a better breakfast offering.

It's not the Beach House's fault but they fail to mention the incessant (every 20-30 seconds, 24 hours a day) loud fog horn noise blaring out from directly outside their hotel - I'm sure it's a boon to local fishermen but I didn't find any reference to it in their material and it kept us awake each night.

There are some nice grounds to sit in and around but when we were there we felt like intruders as there was some corporate function going on outside in these grounds and there's only so many hard-stares and 'tuts' from the serving staff we can take.

The car park is also too small for the hotel - which given the location is inexcusable.

Overall it's clear that the owners care far more about their business customers and have never eaten before noon in their lives. Try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Chopper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2010

Mean temperatures for the Half Moon Bay area range from 50-58 degrees and, therefore, preclude the necessity for air conditioning. In rare instances of high coastal temperatures, we have provided each room with a portable fan.

The recurring unpredictability of fog has prompted the federal government to mandate the placement of unmanned navigational aids which provide warning and ensure the safe passage for boats in limited visibility. By law, the high pitched electronic tones must be operational 24/7. The signal marking the entrance to Pillar Point Harbor sounds every 10 seconds identifying that specific location. Since it is a natural and expected part of a marine environment, the mention of a fog horn does not appear in brochures or websites for any our local hotels. For those guests who may be sensitive to sound, we have provided sterile, packaged ear plugs in each bathroom.

Our room rate includes a compimentary continental breakfast, served buffet style in the lobby. Guests can savor the delights of beautifully presented seasonal fruit, sweet and savory muffins, pastries, bagels, orange juice, and a selection of hot beverages, inlcuding freshly brewed coffee, teas, and hot chocolate. China, silverware and trays are provided for guest convenience. Most love the idea of returning to their room to enjoy a romantic "breakfast in bed" experence. The Ocean Terrace patio is another popular location, providing the opportunity for breakfast "al fresco" as the sun rises over the blue pacific ocean. For those desiring a full breakfast, our front desk staff is always rprepared to offer suggestions. Nearby restaurants like Ketch Joanne's (walking distance from the hotel) or the award winning "Three Zero Cafe" at the Half Moon Bay Airport are perennial favorites with the locals.

Beach House Inn and Conference Center prides itself on providing 4 star service to both leisure and corporate guests in a friendly and unwavering professional manner. If this experience was percieived as anything less, we apologize and will continue to strive for 100% guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The Beach House at Half Moon Bay is lovely! It has every amenity and is decorated beautifully. We stayed in an ocean front suite and it was terrific. The fireplace is cozy and the sink/bar area is awesome. The complimentary breakfast is delightful and it is served on real china and silverware.
I would highly recommend the Beach House at Half Moon Bay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This hotel has a gorgeous location...right on the beach, close to good restaurants, boating, the marine preserve, and not far from Main Street in HMB. We were really impressed with the wine and cheese reception on Friday and Saturday--good wine, good selection of cheeses, crackers, and veggies! And, the breakfast was MUCH nicer than a usual "continental breakfast"...lots of choices with good food and really fresh fruit. It was yummy. The trays to take to your room were great!

The rooms are not the newest but the suite concept is nice... It was good to have a fridge and a microwave and the fireplace was great since the evenings are chilly by the water. It would have been nice to have the main sleeping area completely walled off from the rest of the living area but overall, the rooms were nice!

The staff was great! They were helpful and kind. We really enjoyed the atmosphere--it was casual beach but still very upscale in many ways.

Overall we really enjoyed this property! The price ($400 per night including taxes) was a little steep for what we got, but it is a good "special occasion" property--definitely a trip to remember!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyCA28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The staff at the hotel changed the way I feel about the beach house. Quite a few times they made me feel very "little" and unimportant. I won't go back until they change the way they approach the customer. One particular woman with a German accent was very harsh to my party and other guests.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Docts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2010

We sincerely regret that verbal communication fell short of expectations and caused any discomfort. We take great pride in hiring individuals who can provide unwavering four star service in a friendly and professional manner. While this review runs counter to our high standards of customer service, we continue strive to provide 100% guest satisfaction. We acknowledge that the only thing that is important is guest perception .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We had a beautiful view of the bay BUT there is a foghorn that sounds every 10 secs 24/7 so choose between a great view and the foghorn noise (windows open since there is no A/C) or a view of Hwy 1 and traffic noise. This hotel would be fabulous if they had A/C so you could close the windows at night. Staff very interested in pleasing their guests - it was wonderful in every other respect.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

My daughter surprised me with a overnight stay at the Beach House. From the moment we arrived our stay was incredible. The hotel itself is just beautiful with ocean views that take your breath away. The staff was so welcoming and helpful and always with a smile. We were escorted to our room which was clean and decorated in such a lovely beach house way. So comfy cozy and beautiful!
The amenities were plentiful, everything you could possibly want or need. That evening we were treated to a wine and cheese reception, as well as a yummy continental breakfast in the morning. We were able to choose what we wanted and enjoy it there or take it to our room on the trays provided. The fresh treats were replenished frequently by the extraordinary staff and we even packed some goodies for our morning walk!
During the evening we were able to walk to a nearby eatery and enjoy the fresh ocean breeze. As for sleeping that night, glorious is the word that comes to mind. The ocean breeze and the sound of the harbor fog horn, perfect! Isn't that why we stay at an ocean front hotel anyway, for the total experience.
Our stay was perfection. Thank you to all for making a special memory even more wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachducky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
5.4 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#4 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
586 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
185 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
1.0 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House at Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Address: 4100 Cabrillo Hwy N, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-5219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: $262 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House at Half Moon Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a private Nantucket summer home, the Beach House Hotel Half Moon Bay offers spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Pillar Point Harbor. Just 25 miles south of San Francisco, the hotel features 54 spacious loft suites providing the perfect romantic getaway or retreat for the entire family. Each guest receives complimentary high speed internet access, full continental breakfast and parking. Take advantage of the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi overlooking the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach House at Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Half Moon Bay
Beach House Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing