We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$359
$341
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$259
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Bay Lodge(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$246
$239
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Rose Inn(Half Moon Bay)
$404
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coastside Inn(Half Moon Bay)
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nantucket Whale Inn(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$294
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$849
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (985)
Filter reviews
985 results
Traveler rating
581
276
83
29
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
581
276
83
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssam's chowder housefog horncontinental breakfastjunior suitestove topocean viewmini kitchenbagelswine and cheese receptionpool and hot tubliving areasmall kitchenetteget awaythird floorfresh fruitno air conditioningwalking path
Filter
Updating list...
928 - 933 of 985 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2006

We stayed here for only one night at the end of our recent trip to California. We chose it because we wanted to stay somewhere nice but fairly near to the airport for our morning flight back home. It was pretty expensive for a hotel that isn't really a luxury hotel, but we enjoyed it a great deal. We had a "partial ocean view" room which really didn't have much of a water view at all, it was at the end of the hotel and you could see a bit of the harbor and also a lot of the highway on the other side of the hotel! However we were still glad we paid the extra money, because otherwise I think we would have just been overlooking the fairly noisy highway. The overall ambience of the hotel was very pleasant, though, and the staff were also very nice and helpful. The room didn't look much like the pictures on the website (which I'm sure are of the fancier suites) but it was nevertheless a very nice room with a separate sitting area, two TVs (one near the beds and one in the sitting area) and a fireplace. The bathroom was sparkling clean and pretty big, really quite nice. They had a wine reception at dinnertime, with some snacks, and in the morning there was a continental breakfast near the lobby. The best part was that you could walk to the harbor and look at the boats, and we could just walk to the restaurant we chose (The Half Moon Bay Brewing Company, which we enjoyed). The best part of all, though, was the (very small)pool and hot tub, which we had all to ourselves at night with an almost full moon overhead and the lights of the harbor visible down the beach! We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank woodchucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Southlake, TX
15
Reviewed July 4, 2006

What a great, relaxing place. We scheduled our two-night stay at the end of a Bay Area vacation so mom and dad could relax after a week of "on-the-go". Our two teenaged boys found plenty to amuse themselves including surfing on the adjacent beach and kyacking at the harbor. Our third-floor, corner room was large enough for the four of us and the queen sleeper-sofa was perfect for the boys. The property is well kept and the front desk is very helpful. They keep a large notebook of menus from area restaurants so you can preview what's available nearby. The only suggestion I have is that they need to do a better job of keeping non-hotel guests from sneaking around the fence from the adjacent public beach to use the hotel's pool and spa. All in all, it was a great experience and we would recommend the Beach House for couples and for families.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2006

My partner and i stayed at the Beach House for one night whilst driving from Santa Cruz to San Francisco. We hadn't planned the stop over so hadn't booked a room. When we arrived we were given keys to various rooms so we could look about and see what suited us best. The chap on reception was exceptionally friendly, encouraging us to spend as much time as we wanted looking about. After we had decided on a room (which were all superb) and checked in the staff gave us excellent advice on where to go for walks, dinner etc. We took their advice and headed to a local fish restaurant, which was fantastic!
The hotel has a pool, which although quite small is clean and lovely to have a swim in. Relaxing aftewards in the hot tub, listening to the nearby ocean was quite simply lovely!
All in all an excellent hotel which I would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JillRitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2006

What an incredible experience. My husband and I spent 7 days at the Beach Hotel in celebration of our 7th year anniversary. The views surrounding this hotel are gorgeous. Our best description would be Hawaii meets Big Bear. On one side of the hotel you have the lush greenery and mountains, and on the other side of the hotel there is nothing but the Pacific Ocean! We stayed in the Penthouse Suite with Ocean View and spent the majority of the evenings either in front of the fireplace or on the balcony listening to the crashing waves of the ocean. Our room came with a spacious bathroom (with an array of Aveda products), an elevated bedroom area that faces the view of the ocean, and then the living room/kitchen sits below the bedroom. Each room comes with a refrigerator, dishes and a small stove if you wish to cook. We bought a number of food items to have available instead of eating out everyday. Great restaurants in the area, and the hotel offers Concierge service for anything you need. We checked out a number of rooms in the hotel before we left. The difference between the Penthouse Suites and the Ocean View Suites are the vaulted ceilings. All the hotel rooms are the same size, and are decorated and situated in the same fashion, so if you are looking to save a couple bucks and you want an ocean view, go for the Ocean View Junior Suite or the Partial View (yes, even the partial view has great views of both the ocean and the mountains.) Also, pack warm clothes- it can get quite chilly. Lastly, if you are looking to travel to Half Moon Bay within the next 4 months, please contact the hotel for directions because Hwy 1 is shut down for building and repairs. We will definitely be back for another trip. For relaxation, great customer service, and overall beauty- definitely book The Beach Hotel at Half Moon Bay.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank kenrob537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2006

My husband and I just came back from a week long trip down the coast of California.The first 2 nights we stayed at the Beach House.We arrived very late in the evening(3 a.m. east coast time), midnight west coast.We flew into Oakland & got a little lost driving to Half Moon Bay.I called the Beach House and spoke to Dave at the front desk, and he gave us directions.When we finally arrived-he took us to our room, & showed us another room if we wanted a partial ocean room.We stayed in the original room the first night.The next morning we had a decent breakfast buffet.Then we asked the girls at the front desk if we could switch to a ocean view room.The woman wasnt as nice as Dave was, she said we would have to pay the difference(which sometimes I've been upgraded when there is a room available).We took the room and paid the diffeence.It was beautiful.You could walk right outside to a path to the ocean.It was very cold that day, and we asked if they could fix the heat.Again we spoke to the same girl-who was very indiffferent-said she couldnt do anything.So I went to the front desk, & she made some phone calls.It never was fixed.We used the fireplace, which really doesnt do much.But we loved the room,the ambience, and the feeling like I was in Cape Cod.We had lunch in Half Moon Bay-there are a lot of nice shops and places to eat.I would love to stay there again, hopefully they fix the heat problem.

9  Thank LM-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews