We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$399
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$213
$174
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coastside Inn(Half Moon Bay)
Free cancellation until 07/26
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/28
$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Rose Inn(Half Moon Bay)
Book now, pay at stay
$414
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Bay Lodge(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$370
$361
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/22
Book now, pay at stay
$1,299
$899
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveler rating
597
280
85
29
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
280
85
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssam's chowder housefog horncontinental breakfastjunior suitestove topocean viewmini kitchenbagelsaveda productswine and cheese receptionpool and hot tubsmall kitchenetteliving areaget awayfresh fruitthird floorno air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2015

My Fiance and I were here celebrating our 2 Year Anniversary and Valentine's Day.
Definitely worth the stay. Loved the scenery. The rooms were clean and comfortable.
Very relaxing and just a walk away from the beach. Great Location.
Will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Beach View is better.
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maricela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2015

Dear Maricela C,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor. Half Moon Bay, and the Beach House in particular, is the perfect location to escape for a romantic night or weekend. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2015

After seven days in Sonoma it was great to drive down to HMB and land at a Beach House junior suite. Nice room - first floor so it felt like we were on the beach. Comfortable, nicely equipped and good continental breakfast. Very good location.

The fog horn (every 10 seconds) didn't bother us after a few minutes (but it was winter and most of the time the windows and slider were closed. Every property in that area would also hear the fog horn.

Only negative was the "heated outdoor pool" was neither heated nor working. Also, at reception we were told there would be wine and cheese receptions both nights (Sat and Sun), but there aren't any on Sundays - they are held on Friday and Saturday.

Room Tip: We liked the first floor rooms and the junior suite was nice.
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SanM412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2015

Dear SanM412,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. You definitely picked two great locations to visit on your West Coast trip. I do apologize about the miscommunication regarding the wine reception. We do offer a complimentary Wine & Cheese hour on Friday and Saturdays from 5:30 - 6:30pm. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2015

Great place, can't wait to go back. We spent 2 nights in the junior suite. The room was clean & comfortable. The hotel staff was great. We enjoyed eating breakfast on our patio each morning. The fog horn wasn't an issue at all - it added character (& I sleep with earplugs!!!). We don't usually rest & relax much on vacations, we're on the go all the time. But we we able to rest & relax during our stay at the Beach House. We will definitely go back & will always splurge for the junior suite.

Room Tip: The junior suites are corner rooms with windows on 2 sides, so very bright.
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2015

Dear Kris I,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor. Half Moon Bay, and the Beach House in particular, understands what it means to relax; and I glad you had the opportunity to do just that. All of the rooms here at the Beach House are Junior Suites; and although the corner rooms have a little more light, there truly isn't a bad room in the place. We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2015

This was an ideal location to enjoy Half Moon Bay and the Coastside. The property is located close to the ocean above a walking trail. It's less than 5 minutes to the beach! The hotel has welcoming touches of lobby fireplace, fountains, lemon water, and spa treatments. Loved staying in an ocean view room with patio to enjoy the view. The room was spacious and had ocean views from the bed. Soft linens, comforters and pillows made for a pleasant sleep.The pool and jacuzzi also looked out over the ocean, as did the large terrace with plenty of seating. Loved the in-room fireplace and separate shower and tub. A continental breakfast buffet is served in the morning. It was so relaxing here and staff were very helpful that I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Loved ocean view room!
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank InternationalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2015

Dear InternationalGal,

Thank you for your kind post about the Beach House on Tripadvisor. We are very fortunate to have the location we do. There is not a hotel in Half Moon Bay that is as close to the water as we are; and the easily accessible Coastal Trail, located just steps away, is a phenomenal alternative to get around the harbor on. We look forward to your next stay.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2015

After being diagnosed with breast cancer and having surgery, my husband and I decided to spend some time at the ocean to rejuvenate our mind, body and spirit. We haven't stayed at the Beach House for many, many years but it was the perfect place to read, relax, and soak up the ocean air. We did remember the fog horn when making reservations, but it quickly blends with the sounds of ocean waves, seagulls and the gentle breezes which captivate and restore your soul.

Beautiful accommodations, reasonable winter rates, and a wonderful three day stay. I hope we get back sometime soon---perhaps after treatment ends.

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more and take advantage of the ocean view junior suite. It has microwave, refrigerator, dishes, sink, coffeemaker, toaster, so in addition to the Continental breakfast, you can have lunch and/or a light dinner in the room--which has a "living area" with comfy chairs, sofa, fireplace, TV and stereo, as well as a large bed/sleeping area with desk/working area and another TV. And….the artwork throughout the hotel is magnificent!
  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dkd2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2015

Dear dkd2015,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the us on Tripadvisor. The Beach House is the perfect location to renew yourself for whatever the reason. We are so happy you stayed with us and we all wish you the very best. Hope to see you in the near future!

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews