We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,046)
Filter reviews
1,046 results
Traveler rating
622
289
89
29
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
289
89
29
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sam's chowder house fog horn continental breakfast junior suite stove top mini kitchen ocean view bagels wine and cheese reception aveda products pool and hot tub small kitchenette living area third floor get away fresh fruit no air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 1,046 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is our 2nd time bringing our large family with us to the Beach House. We love the location and the coziness of this hotel. We had two rooms side by side but wish we had been able to have the rooms which share a private hall as we did last visit. It would be nice if repeat visitors were recognized as such. The staff is always friendly at the front desk. This visit, we were disappointed by the lack of attention by the cleaning staff-- when we checked in, there was no toilet paper in one room( a tiny bit on the roll and no replacement in the room) and no shampoo/ conditioner in the second room. While the desk staff was happy to supply these to us, the next morning the maids did not replenish ( nor did they the next day!). When you have four people in a room, it makes sense to leave them a little extra. When I took a few shampoos off the cart the third day, the maid unhappily covered the cart with a towel, I assume to keep me from helping myself to what she refused to provide in our room! This is a lovely hotel and we will probably come back because we really like it here and it is safe for families, but the experience with the maids made us disappointed. These rooms are very expensive, not a value, but it's worth the price for the view and other amenities ( very nice pool and hot tub). They do sell wine and champagne right at the front desk and have a nice little wine and cheese reception on Fridays and Saturdays. You can walk over to Sam's Chowder House for great seafood and they do take reservations. The fridge in the room is great for leftovers and there is also a microwave. Overall, if you're not looking for a bargain and want a cozy, beautiful location, you will be happy here. Don't let the fog horn keep you away!

Room tip: Ocean view a must!
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

We appreciate the time you took in writing your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our property and location. We are very much looking forward to having you come back and stay with us again, When calling to book, please know that we are here to assist you in any inquiries or request you may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

As a first time guest of Beach House at Half Moon Bay I have to say that my wife and I have a very pleasant stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, the facility was clean and comfortable. We slept great when we finally got to sleep. The foghorn that other reviews have complained about is not really an issue, it is not a traditional two note steam foghorn that you would think of. It is more of a modern electric single note "booop" and it is fairly far away and barley heard with the windows and door closed.

We did however have a somewhat rude upstairs neighbor who had children and they liked to stomp and drag furniture around and generally make a lot of noise. But they finally got quiet sometime after 11pm and did not start again until around 9am.

When we were there the weather was fairly cool and we were able to open the sliding door in the afternoon and evening to keep the room comfortable. We closed it later and were able to stay comfortable to sleep. However I know it can sometimes get quite warm in this area and my only concern about another visit is the lack of an A/C unit. I know that the corrosive salt air is rough on A/C coils and most hotels near the coast do not have A/C, but I feel that at the quality level of this facility it should be an option for guests to be assured of maximum comfort.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our helpful and friendly staff. We strive to provide excellent customer service to our patrons. We do provide a portable fan in each room and as you mentioned opening the sliding door and windows does cool the room quickly. We have the front desk staffed 24 hours to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. Notifying the front desk if an issue arises is helpful so we can assist you. Thanks for taking the time to write this review, and we hope to see you for your next anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nice enough room and a reasonable view across the marina, but no way worth the price. No restaurant and the closest one along the beach pathway jammed solid with a long waiting list. There are hotplates,but if you want to cook yourself a breakfast egg, you're out of luck. No pans - and a request for one is answered by a sniffy 'no cooking in the room'. Permanent heavy traffic on the highway outside and the ho hum town centre is some way off.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boomer046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thanks for your comment regarding the rooms and view. We do provide a complementary continental breakfast for our guests daily. The Beach House is in close proximity to many great restaurants as well. Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were nice but our family of five probably should have gotten an adjoining room. The kids are growing and 3 can't share a sleeper sofa anymore. The hotel is next to a marina and by the jetty. This was the area where we had our first "walk along the beach" experience. All we could comment on is how filthy the area was and decided that we needed to find a better beach. The next day we asked a local and they mentioned Montara State Beach. We had a great time.

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nmb373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our hotel guest rooms can accommodate up to four people. It is common for guests with families of five to request rooms which are next to each other and have an extra door in the hallway which provides a little privacy in the hallway. We are not able to guarantee these rooms upon booking, but we are able to place requests for these rooms if there are more than four guests. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The furniture in the room needs some updating. Staff is great, rooms are spacious and the view is great even from the first floor. I'm a deep sleeper and the foghorn didn't wake me, but I did find it hard to fall asleep with it going off. Do keep this in mind if you're a light sleeper, it can ruin all the great things about this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatonTaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind comment regarding the friendliness of our staff. We strive to provide excellent customer service to all of our patrons. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant nights sleep during your stay. The foghorn is a mandated safety measure for the boats in Pillar Point Harbor. If it is something the guests do not want to hear at night, we do provide ear plugs in each of our guest rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews