We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Long Weekend in Half Moon Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Long Weekend in Half Moon Bay”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Beach House is a great place. Every room has a fire place and the views out to Half Moon Bay are great. We stayed in the Beach House and had the Sunday Brunch at the Ritz Carlton. Both were a great value. Beach House was half the room price of the Ritz and was more cozy and a better value for the money. Staff was very helpful. The cookies on check in, the morning breakfast buffet and evening wine and cheese were also great touches. I'd recommend it for anyone looking for a bay area get-away-from-the-cuty trip without having to drive very far.

Room Tip: Choose the extra cost for the bay view room. City on the porch or by the fire was very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anddrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are right, each of our rooms does have a fireplace, and it most certainly adds to the guest experience (so happy you liked it). Thank you for your comments regarding our staff. We gladly offer cookies in our lobby during the holiday season. We're happy you were able to enjoy that.

Thank you again for writing this review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Half Moon Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    266
    79
    29
    14
See reviews for
228
482
27
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We live on the San Francisco peninsula and use to go for weekend retreats in Carmel until we found the Beach House Hotel. Its not only closer but we love the area of Half Moon Bay more with each new trip. The staff is welcoming and always helpful in the old fashion friendly way. The rooms and grounds are fastidiously kept up at all times. Once you arrive you have a choice of some great places to walk and eat. The harbor is always alive with activity for one to watch day or night.

You will not be disappointed by staying here.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your patronage! We greatly appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and property. We work very hard to provide excellent customer service to all of our guests. We are happy that this came across to you during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Half Moon Bay. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were traveling over Christmas, so we wanted a place of refuge from the holiday bustle and family gatherings, and the Beach House certainly provided a restful experience. The rooms are meticulously clean and good sized, and there is a real kitchenette with stove, microwave and refrigerator in case you want to have snacks or lunch in your room. The hotel is located adjacent to a good restaurant, Sam's chowder house, and just a short walk from the marina and some good beaches. There is a wood burning fireplace in the room, and the hotel provides an instant light log to fight off the chill. The continental breakfast is minimal but of good quality, and there are spa services as well as a a hot tub for evening soaks. This is a quality addition to the neighborhood and well worth consideration, especially for couples

Room Tip: Only the full ocean front rooms avoid the noise of highway 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Electric2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you found your stay to be a restful one. Thank you for mentioning the Spa Services which are offered on property, among our other amenities. We hope that you will come and stay with us again on your next trip to half moon bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vrboska, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Had a great time with my mom at Beach House. Staff was very friendly and helpful...we had very good massages...enjoy staying there...had a ocean view. Fireplace in the room...Had a chance to spend quality time with my mom. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Ocean view must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aleksandar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
How thoughtful to think of us as a Christmas give to your mom. We're very glad you enjoyed the massage therapies the hotel offers. Thank you very much for the kind comments regarding our staff. We work very hard to assist our guests in any way possible. Thank you for choosing us to have the quality time with your mother. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spent thanksgiving weekend with our 7 month old daughter. Friendly front desk checked us in even though we arrived a few hours before the normal checkin time. Baby's crib was set in the room. The junior suite room with full ocean view was fantastic. Loved:
- a tiny practical kitchenette with basic silverware/glasses etc
- ipod connectivty/DVD player
- incredible views and access to beach walk
- evening cheese & wine
- don't forget swimwear for a superview hottub soak

A great casual alternative to the Ritz.

Room Tip: on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for spending your Thanksgiving holiday with us. We're glad you enjoyed the property and amenities. Thank you for your comment regarding the service you received from our Front Desk staff. We try to go above and beyond for our guests and their requests. We're happy that you were able to check-in early and had the crib set up in your room. We hope you decide to stay with us again on your next trip to Half Moon Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We needed a quick overnight getaway not too far from home and The Beach Hotel was perfect for us! We were very impressed with the rooms amenities, we could have stayed there a week. The views were gorgeous, the staff was very helpful with early check in/late check out . It also felt very private,we couldn't hear any other hotel noise. We didn't take advangate of the continental breakfast but we will have to do that NEXT TIME :) It was a great way to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Thank you.

Room Tip: We loved our location on the far north end of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
First, may we say...... Happy Anniversary to you both! We are so glad to hear that you chose our property to be the place where you celebrated your 30th anniversary. Thank you for that. We greatly appreciate your kind words regarding your stay and the helpfulness of our staff. We hope to see you before your 31st anniversary! Thank you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We love staying at Beach House. The location is perfect, and close to points of interest. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious and the views are great. Right next to the excellent Sam's Chowder House and the bike/walking trail along the ocean.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are great because of the nice patio. The hotel is on a bluff, so even the patios...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidC_SanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are glad to find that you enjoy staying with us. Thank you for your recommendations to fellow readers. Having Sam's Chowder House next door to us is such a treat for our guests. It also sounds like you had an opportunity to enjoy some walking and hiking in the area. We hope that you will be able to come back and stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
5.4 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
568 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
182 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
0.9 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House at Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Property: Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Address: 4100 Cabrillo Hwy N, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-5219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House at Half Moon Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a private Nantucket summer home, the Beach House Hotel Half Moon Bay offers spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Pillar Point Harbor. Just 25 miles south of San Francisco, the hotel features 54 spacious loft suites providing the perfect romantic getaway or retreat for the entire family. Each guest receives complimentary high speed internet access, full continental breakfast and parking. Take advantage of the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi overlooking the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach House at Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Half Moon Bay
Beach House Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing