We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Nearby Hotels
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$178
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$362
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Rose Inn(Half Moon Bay)
$414
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$299
$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coastside Inn(Half Moon Bay)
$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nantucket Whale Inn(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$388
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zaballa House(Half Moon Bay)
$144
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$859
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (995)
Filter reviews
995 results
Traveler rating
590
277
83
29
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
590
277
83
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssam's chowder housefog horncontinental breakfastjunior suitestove topocean viewmini kitchenhot tubbagelswine and cheese receptionliving areasmall kitchenetteget awaythird floorfresh fruitno air conditioningwalking path
Filter
Updating list...
680 - 685 of 995 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Was looking for a place for one night outside the city before flying out the next day. This worked perfectly. Only 20 mins from the airport. Room was huge, bathroom also large. Fireplace was nice.. was clean. Wine and cheese reception was enjoyable. Desk clerks very friendly and helpful. Sam's chowder house right next door. Would stay here again, no doubt.

Room Tip: Stay on the waterfront. Non-water front is on the road (Hwy 1) and can be a bit loud.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your time here at the Beach House Hotel in Half Moon Bay. It was great that your stay was on an evening when we have our wine reception (on Friday and Saturday evenings from 5:30 to 6:30pm). Thank you for the kind comments you made in regards to the service you received from our Front Desk. We strive to provide excellent service to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Half Moon Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Spent a whole week here the end of September and must say, it was an incredible opportunity to slow down. Located right on the water, the Beach House was a great respite for the two of us. Close to the BART terminal to ride into the city, plenty of state parks nearby, quaint drives around the area, Half Moon Bay is a slow part of the world, perfect for resetting your internal clocks. The hotel itself is in pristine condition: beautiful grounds, nice pool and hot tub and there is a fundamental breakfast with rolls, bagels and juices each morning. The is a lockable gate leading to the coastal walking/biking path near the poor--to the north, the harbor, to the south, miles of very good and marvelously scenic trail. We had a suite on the south side--read again: side (significant in good time). The room had a working fireplace with a new Duraflame log each day. There was a little kitchenette and we stocked up on Day One at the Safeway a few miles to the south with our favorite goodies. There was a pleasant balcony with a great view and the room overall was spacious and spotless. The south wall was entirely glass and the light in the morning was luscious if we wanted it or dimmed if we chose to close the shades. Sept was still quite pleasant, if not warm, and since there was no ceiling fan or A/C, we resorted to leaving the windows open at night for air circulation. Bad move. Given the side location, we were painfully aware the first night of just how close we were to the highway. And to the trash collection area. And to the parking lot. And to the pool. You get the idea. The breeze would have been amazing but the noise was overwhelming. Advice: Stay on the water side, not the sides of the property--it's worth the extra. Or, buy a cheap box fan that moves air around. There was only a small 6 inch fan with the room, hardly sufficient to meet our needs. And, a minor thing, while TV was hardly a major diversion, the reception was incredibly poor. There was nary a gram of protein in the breakfast selections--all big carb/fat bombs. Yogurts would have been a nice touch. Intriguing to me is that I wrote the management a cordial note, describing there few issues and received no response.
Would we stay here again? Absolutely! By any definition of luxury, this was it. We would stay third floor, water front, center of building and bring in our own breakfast stuff. The staff was cordial but not overdone, eager to advise us when we asked for guidance on activities, dining and area travel. You couldn't ask for a better location and the coastal trail was a wonderful diversion each day. Expensive, yes, but what a treat you'll have!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind detailed account of your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed, not only the hotel property, but the area of Half Moon Bay, as well. I am sorry you found the room to be too warm. Although we do have a fan in the room, if you need another, the Front Desk is always happy to assist. I also have some great news! Our television reception issue has been recently remedied! We are very happy with this development, and in turn, have more television channels to choose from. Thank you again, and we are happy that you would like to stay with us on your next trip to Half Moon Bay. See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We loved the Beach House. It was a perfect room, very spacious and very clean. Location was wonderful...eating at Sams and walking home was fantastic! Loved the view from our room!
Wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

How wonderful that you loved your time here with us! Thank you for the description you gave on the room you stayed in. We're happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the restaurant Sam's Chowder House, which is next door to us! Many of our guests enjoy doing just as you did. We are so happy you had a wonderful time with us. We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Half Moon Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Love staying here.. the rooms are clean and roomy. The people are nice too. The location is great.. having dinner at Sam's and just walking back to your room is wonderful. I was introduced to this place by a friend years ago. It is nice to see that the place has not changed at all. In my opinion it is way better than spending a lot of money to stay at The Ritz down the street. The weather was perfect so we enjoyed having our full ocean view.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay, and we appreciate your patronage. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and property. Our standards are very high in giving our guests a wonderful experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Family of four , we stayed after arriving in San Fran for our first night of a road trip down to LA. room was spacious and comfortable although the furnishings were not really to my taste. Amazing views and the fog horn was hardly noticeable . Despite poor weather the children loved the heated pool and hot tub and it was lovely to have the fire. Breakfast was basic but good . All in all a good stop either from or to the airport on a beautiful piece of costline

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We are happy that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for mentioning that your children had fun in our heated pool and Jacuzzi and that you enjoyed the fireplace in your room. Many of our guests do just as you did... staying at the Beach House at the beginning or end of their trip with their flights from SFO. Thank you again, and we hope to see you on your next trip to Half Moon Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews