We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location - Not the Best Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights. It's billed as a three star hotel, and I would agree with this assessment, except the price is much higher than what you would pay in a typical thee star. You are paying for the location and the views.

First, the pros:

- Room was fairly spacious and clean
- Lovely Aveda amenities, which is definitely step up from a typical three star
- Beautiful views (we had a partial view of the ocean)
- Room was well laid out with a sitting room, fireplace and separate bed area (but no walls)
- Staff were efficient
- Grounds were well-maintained and pretty

Cons:

- As others have mentioned, there's a fog horn that goes off every 5-10 seconds, day and night. This isn't the hotel's fault, but you may want to keep this in mind, as some people find it difficult to block out. They do provide ear plugs in the room as a courtesy.

- We had a fan but the room got rather hot and stuffy at night. Due to the fog horn and road noise, we didn't open the window. No air conditioning but there is a fan provided.

- Mattress was a little lumpy -- not terrible, but not my best night's sleep either.

- While well laid-out, the room looks a bit dated and could use some minor renovations.

We had few interactions with staff - they were efficient and courteous but not overly friendly.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Beach House Hotel but I'm not convinced it was worth the price - nothing particularly stood out as amazing (except the views), and when you're paying four star prices, you expect a bit more for your money.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor, away from the highway -- partial or oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skye247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed the room and found the hotel rooms to be spacious and clean. We apologize if our staff did not come across as friendly. We strive to provide excellent customer service to all of our guests.

You are correct that there is a fog horn in Pillar Point Harbor which can be heard. We do provide sterile ear plugs in each of our rooms (thank you for making a note of that). The Fog Horn is a mandated safety measure for the boats in Pillar Point. There are many people who find the fog horn to be relaxing and enjoy the nautical feeling it brings in being in a marine environment.

Half Moon Bay's median temperature is about 58 degrees, therefore, we do not have air conditioning. There are a few uncharacteristic warmer days we experience. We do have a portable fan placed in each guest room for the unseasonably warm days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 965 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Loved the place,clean lovely rooms and grounds with a very efficient staff. We choose this place because it allowed us to be on the ocean for our last night in CA yet close to the SFO airport. (Took about 30 minutes to get to airport) I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful corner suite, and just a note there is a fog horn that goes off 24/7 that can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and our staff. We are glad that you found the location to be convenient for your trip out of SFO International Airport. Thank you for your comments regarding the fog horn. We find it charming and it reminds us of the nautical environment where we live. We hope to see you on your next trip to Half Moon Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Bedding, bath , and corner room view were excellent! Complimentary wine hour and continental breakfast were very good . it's an easy walking path to the water. This is located right on 1 south.the only drawback is trying to pull out onto highway1 with traffic from the restaurant next door!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stushmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the property and our amenities. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Coming from the hectic pace of 4 nights in Las Vegas this place was just what we needed to unwind. Can't beat the location, the staff was very helpful even though we were recommended the sea food place next door (Sam's Chowder House, which is the worst restaurant imaginable and should be shut down for the simple reason that they serve horrible food). The breakfast was small but fresh and delicious.

I recommend taking a walk on the beach and check out the seals.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Björn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Beach House as a place to unwind. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location. We kindly thank you for your comments regarding our staff. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently stayed at the Beach House in a room featured as having a partial Bay view. The room did indeed have a partial view of the bay but this was obscured by an industrial type rusting metal outlet, an Air Con Unit and a large commercial satellite dish all sited on an ugly flat mineral felt roof.
Please see attached photo of said "view" to see what I mean.
Bearing in mind I paid nearly $300 for the room I felt that the hotel had been disingenuous in charging an enhanced rate for a partial bay view. In my mind the room should have been priced no more than a non bay view room as who in their right mind would want to sit on that balcony looking at those outlets and inhaling goodness knows what fumes.

Other aspects of the hotel were fine, clean spacious room (although a little dated), pleasant staff, good breakfast , etc, but I'm afraid they let themselves down badly in the way that particular room is marketed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We thank this guest for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the kind comments regarding our property, staff and amenities.

We apologize if the guest did not like the room in which they stayed. This room is considered one of our Partial Ocean View rooms because it has an angled view of the ocean from the balcony. Our Front Desk Staff works very hard to accommodate the needs and requests of all of our guests. If guests contact our front desk during their stay, we are happy to remedy any situation to the best of our ability. In this case, depending on our availability, we may have been able to transfer this guest to a different room if they so desired.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel had potential and looked very nice online but the room did not come close to meeting my expectations. First, our room overlooked both a very busy restaurant parking lot from the balcony and the highway from the window closest to the bed. We could not open our window or sliding door while staying here because the noise from restaurant, parking lot, and highway was just awful. Across the hall was the stairwell and adjacent to our door was the exercise room which all just added to the noise polution. At night it was too hot to sleep but we couldn't open up to get some fresh air without getting a headache from the noise. We had come here for a special occasion and would have turned around and gone home after seeing the room, except that my husband and I weren't ready to get back in the car for another long drive and call the whole weekend off. When I called the front desk with the hope of changing rooms, they claimed to be sold out for the weekend and asked why I hadn't called an asked a receptionist about the specifics of the rooms before booking! I still can't believe I spent over $300 to stay here for a night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Our Front Desk puts the guests comfort on the highest priority and are happy, ready and willing to assist our guests. We are always truthful of our availability and would have gladly moved this guest to another room if we had the availability.

Guests are more than welcome to book online, but it is true that we encourage having guests call to book because we believe that voice contact is very important. We believe that having a personal touch with our guests not only adds to their experience, but it also gives them the opportunity to ask any questions they may have.

The average mean temperature in Half Moon Bay is 58 degrees, so it was deemed that air conditioning was probably not a necessity. To provide relief from the occasional hot afternoon on the coast, we have provided a portable fan in each room.

For guests reserving a room for a special occasion, it is common for them to try to book one of our Ocean View rooms, but it is very understandable that it may have not been available because they are usually the first ones to be reserved. This guest happened to booked one of our Standard Non-water View rooms, which are our least expensive rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We wnated to be within a short drive for our flight out of San Francisco International Airport at the end of our drive up the Pacific coast. There were not many options...and this one worked out well. About 35 minute drive to the airport. We did not get much time in the area, but there are many pretty vistas and nice beaches, along with great surfing.

The hotel is in a very ncie location, with many rooms facing the bay. It is modern & the staff is very helpful. The breakfast was nothing to write home about, but convenient & the coffee was good. There is a Starbucks about 2 miles away, along with a health food store & supermarket.

For dinner, don't miss PAsta Moon in Half Moon Bay...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. We're glad you were able to enjoy the area and the property, even for the limited time you were here. We appreciate your comment regarding our Front Desk. We always try to give our guests the best experience possible. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
5.4 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
591 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
187 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
1 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House at Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Address: 4100 Cabrillo Hwy N, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-5219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: $260 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House at Half Moon Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a private Nantucket summer home, the Beach House Hotel Half Moon Bay offers spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Pillar Point Harbor. Just 25 miles south of San Francisco, the hotel features 54 spacious loft suites providing the perfect romantic getaway or retreat for the entire family. Each guest receives complimentary high speed internet access, full continental breakfast and parking. Take advantage of the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi overlooking the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach House at Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Half Moon Bay
Beach House Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing