We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice in Half Moon Bay!”
Review of Coastside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coastside Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Along our road trip up the California coast, my mom and I chose Half Moon Bay as one of our stopping destinations. The Coastside Inn had everything we needed for a one night stay. The staff gracefully welcomed us upon check-in, our room was incredibly clean and the bed was one of the comfiest of our other hotel visits. The location was near the shops and dining on Main Street as well as being located along Highway 1 which made it quite convenient for us! I would highly suggest the Coastside Inn for anyone looking to visit Half Moon Bay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel000Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 186 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We wanted to visit the area for fallish activities(great pumpkin festival in Oct). We booked in the $ 100 range - the staff was very helpful.

Overall I enjoyed it - frankly I would stay here over San Mateo, and just drive down 92. Its a great - laid back beach town area. The breakfast was good - mix of usual toast and waffles.

I would recommend - its a good place to stay.

Room Tip: I prefer upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OkJustjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very reasonably priced basic hotel. We were pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms. The staff were very courteous and helpful. The location is convenient to everything, town, beaches, and highway. While on a main road, we did not notice the noise. We would stay there again. Oh yes, breakfast is early; we are late risers so almost missed it. That said, the staff were nice and let us get some food, and we had a very nice breakfast at one of the tables outside.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevvieb n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent two nights at the Coastside Inn and were very impressed at how hard the staff work to keep the place looking nice. The breakfast was tasty and the staff were very good at cleaning up after people in the breakfast room. The room was quiet even though they were very busy. We enjoyed our stay at the inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silverstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was a fine place to stay. The room was large, clean, bed was comfortable and they had a nice breakfast. You park outside your room. You could hear some noise but not a big problem. You can walk a few blocks to the beach

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Coastside a total of 5 nights. For the money, it is a very good value, and we definitely recommend it. The rooms were clean, the beds very comfortable, the staff very helpful and pleasant. The included breakfast while basic was better than many, with DIY waffles, hard boiled eggs, muffins, cereal, fruit, yogurt, instant oatmeal, bread and bagels.

We liked the location - right in the town of Half Moon Bay, making for easy walk to mainstreet restaurants, bars, and supermarkets. Maybe a quarter mile to the beach and the coastal trail.

The downsides are as described in other reviews - basic accommodations, on the highway with no view, but we found it quiet enough. For laundry we had to use the laundromat a few blocks away in town. The AC units made some noise.

If you can get the two bedroom suite including the kitchen for a family it was amazingly large - could accommodate 6 ( we had 4). The caveat on this room is it has just one bathroom that comes off of the bedroom with the queen bed (the other has a king bed).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jesse-in-pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Not the most glamorous hotel/motel, but clean and fine for one night. Bed comfy. Good free wifi. Close to restaurants, the bay itself, petrol station, coffee shop etc. I could hear some highway noise, but didn't interfere with sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
264 reviews
3.3 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
955 reviews
2.3 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
3.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
186 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastside Inn

Address: 230 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-8207 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Half Moon Bay)
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: $180 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is AAA Diamond certified as well as Green Certified through the California Green Lodging Program. Located along the scenic Pacific Coast Highway with its pristine, natural beaches, Coastside is ideally located between Kelly Beach and historic downtown Half Moon Bay ` home of the famous "Pumpkin Festival". Take the leisurely walk either direction ~ no more driving is necessary. With plenty of shops, dining, grocery stores and specialty shops. Enjoy the spa amenities, in room comforts of soft & warm bedding. Daily housekeeping service along with a full hot breakfast to get your day started. 24 hours front desk to service your every need. Close to SFO, downtown San Francisco, Peninsula and bay area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coastside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastside Hotel Half Moon Bay
Holiday Inn Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing