We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine and good value”
Review of Coastside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coastside Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fine and good value”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Not the most glamorous hotel/motel, but clean and fine for one night. Bed comfy. Good free wifi. Close to restaurants, the bay itself, petrol station, coffee shop etc. I could hear some highway noise, but didn't interfere with sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    68
    40
    10
    16
See reviews for
51
67
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

These rooms are clean & nice for the cost. Not on the water but close to walk for food and the free breakfast was OK.I would stay here again for work or play. THis was a work stay and I needed the lower cost this room gave me. Easy to find this place is right on Hwy 1 and just south of Hwy 92.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xfil911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My GF and I took a quick one night trip from Los Angeles to Half Moon Bay over the Memorial Day Holiday to deliver one of my photo prints to an art gallery. Before we left we did an internet search for Hotels with rooms available and of course ones that had a good price. Most of the Hotels were already booked solid and the ones that did have rooms available were just way too pricey. Then I found the Coastside Inn, they had a few rooms left, the location was close to everything, especially close to the gallery I was delivering to, the guy on the phone was very friendly and helpful, and even though the price was still too high for my inexpensive liking, it was still a better value for the money than everything else in the area. I booked the room.

When we arrived, the staff was friendly and courteous, the room was VERY clean and comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water. The free breakfast in the morning was ok, toast, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, waffles, etc... But like every other hotel that offers free breakfast, another waffle maker (or two) would be great; it does get tiring waiting for the 6 people in front of you to make one waffle at a time.

In conclusion, we liked the hotel; clean, comfortable, friendly staff, and nothing to complain about. More than likely, we will stay there again on our next trip to Half Moon Bay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WearyPhotoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Room was relatively small but functional for an overnight stay. Prices for rooms in Half Moon Bay are a little on the high side due to its coastal location/reputation. This motel is a little high in price compared to similar motels in other non-coastal locations. It's not a place you'd choose for a memorable multi-night visit. It's a cookie cutter generic sleep one night kind of place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OChalofn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went down for the 2013 Mavericks! We were greeted by very friendly staff. The room was very clean. The bed was awesome, comfortable and huge. Rooms had all amenities: microwave, refridgerater, hair dryer, good heat, free internet access, great shower with variable showerhead. Good free breakfast! Beach 5 minutes away by car. Downtown 2 minutes away by car. Restaurants within walking distance (close). We'll be back.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room Avoid noisy upstairs neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

this hotel is the best one on the coast it has a great price and great location
it has free internet
they also give breakfast with your stay
every room has a frig and microwave
the staff was great
it is my fav place on the coast

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank varcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Ended up at this hotel last year as a last minute change of plans. This year, I shopped around first before booking. After looking at all the locations, prices, and amenities. This one has, by far, the best value for your money. The breakfast was still great, the location was perfect, and it is one of the least expensive hotels in the area. A year later and the staff was still very courteous so I had to up the overall rating to 5/5.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KesaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.3 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
3.3 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastside Inn

Property: Coastside Inn
Address: 230 Cabrillo Hwy S, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-8207 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Half Moon Bay)
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is AAA Diamond certified as well as Green Certified through the California Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Coastside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastside Hotel Half Moon Bay
Holiday Inn Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing