We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“very clean, great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coastside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coastside Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very clean, great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were on a road trip and needed to spend the night at Half Moon bay. We weren't particular but just wanted a decent, clean place to stay. Coastside Inn fit the bill very well. The place was pretty much empty on an October Sunday night, so even though we specifically asked for an upstairs room based on other tripadvisor reviews, it wasn't particularly necessary.
The room was quite noisy given its proximity to the road, but not to the point where it affected our sleep.

Out of all the places we stayed at on this trip, Coastside Inn was probably the cleanest and most pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VLPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    67
    38
    10
    14
See reviews for
48
66
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
161 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for a business meeting at a nearby location. Staff were very accomodating and friendly, and the continental breajfast was just right. Lots of very good restaurants close by and beach is a short walk away.

Room Tip: All rooms face California rte 1 though no noticeable traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capg610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night before flying home to UK. Although it was one of the few places I could get a room for one night only at reasonable rate we were very satisfied. More up market Motel than most and this was reflected in the quality of the room room. Large varied choice of breakfast. Just be aware in the town there are only Italian and Mexican restaurants which was disappointing. Wish we had drove down to the bay to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonyRedhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Went for a couples retreat and needed something economical for the area. Stay was nice. I got no complaints from the other couples. The young man at the desk was very nice. Enjoyed the basic continental breakfast with waffles too. One problem I had after I went to sleep, was that I woke up early in the morning and then couldn't go back to sleep. This was due to the cars going by on the nearby highway. The quiet of the early morning made the noise of the cars stand out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salasrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley, Arkansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

my wife and i stayed one night before departing out of SFO. the room was very comfortable and very clean. the staff was helpful with information of the half moon bay area. the property was located right on the 1 close to downtown HMB and to the beaches. When traveling the PCH we plan on making arrangements to be in HMB about the time we need a place to stay so we can enjoy more of the area using the Coastside Inn as a homebase. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and were glad that we chose their facility.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a good place to stay for one night while traveling the California coast. Half Moon Bay is a nice community and we wish we had had more time to spend there. The beaches are wonderful. The hotel was clean with only minor maintenance issues (the bathroom as typical with older hotels). The bed was comfortable and the room was a decent size. Breakfast was fine - nothing great. It's right on the highway, but we just kept the fan on all night (which I usually do) to block out the traffic noise. The hotel & windows don't face the coast so there's no view, but you don't pay for it anyway. It was a good value and I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: I'm glad we requested an upstairs room. There was enough outside noise, I think someone upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FieldfamilyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

There really isn't a bad thing to say about the Coastside Inn. It's an average Califonia coast motel. The room was clean and spacious. Small fridge and microwave. Good morning breakfast - especially for families. Lots of choices! The hotel sits on the main highway within walking distance to the the historic HBM downtown. We walked it in about 10 minutes. The front desk manager was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend it for a night or two. Rates were very reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oatmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
3.3 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
2.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastside Inn

Property: Coastside Inn
Address: 230 Cabrillo Hwy S, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-8207 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Half Moon Bay)
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is AAA Diamond certified as well as Green Certified through the California Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Coastside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastside Hotel Half Moon Bay
Holiday Inn Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing