We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, just a few let downs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good, just a few let downs”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I would definitely feel okay about recommending this hotel. The room we had was spacious and we enjoyed the fireplace. The continental breakfast was nice as well, more than just the typical pastries and dry cereal. There were lots of lovely touches in the way of flowers and greenery. We were able to walk to the ocean from the property. There is a nice restaurant with good food and super nice staff in the parking lot basically and we ordered dinner from them both nights of our stay. The let downs were the TV not showing clear, the cable channels came in fuzzy during our entire stay, the staff wasn't always the nicest, I got the feeling I was bothering them sometimes, and although it is adjacent to a golf course there really aren't grounds that you can walk along to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    221
    73
    15
    13
See reviews for
159
228
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed here with my 2 children. Pleasantly surprised how nice the rooms were (we had a remodeled room).

The front desk staff at check in & check out was very rude & unfriendly.

Request a second floor room as we were awaken at 6am by the heavy footsteps of the person staying above us. No sound proofing between the floors.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shishichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your recent visit. I am delighted to learn that our accommodations exceeded your expectations, but I am disappointed that you found the friendliness of our front desk staff did not. Please be assured that our staff has been made aware of your experience , and we are committed to creating an experience that exceeds your expectations in every way. If you will contact me, I promise to resolve your concerns to your full satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Keith Wesselmann
General Manager
650.726.9000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really, really nice. The price is right too! We paid around $100/night, which is really reasonable given the location & the fact that the Maverick surf competition was on that week. The room was very large, had a balcony, & a mini-fridge. The color scheme was nice too. The huge plus was the extensive breakfast offerings. Very impressed. And the coffee was good enough to wake me up.

I would like to give the hotel 5 stars but I can't because of the heater. I couldn't find a way to control the temperature adequately so I froze. The heater kicked on & off the 3 nights we were there - which woke me up. And I froze. I'm prone to being cold if the temperature is below 80F but regardless, I should have been able to adjust the heating to my comfort level. Perhaps if they have to install a new system, they will select systems similar to other major hotels.

I still really enjoyed this hotel & recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetHopfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

As we were there for Valentines Day & the Family Week end, this accommodation fits both categories. We were travelling to reunite a sweet small Doggie with our Son & Daughter. This Lodge accommodates Pets and shows appreciation for honest, responsible pet owners. The large King Suite with living room was such a good fit for our needs. The separate bedroom with large screen TV was a big plus for us.
Our balcony was double the length of most with a view of the golf course & lake.
The breakfast room was warm & welcoming & well stocked considering it was a self serve.
And there was a good variety of choices to eat. All food groups, both hot & cold.
So clean & well cared for. I appreciated the heated tile floor in the bathroom, just like home.
Location is just a drive away from the Ocean so make sure to take the drive. so amazing!

Room Tip: We chose the King suite for our family to gather as it has a living room and a separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agoldenmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Very clean, quiet place just outside of town, with modern, tasteful decor and amenities. Our room had a nice view, overlooking nearby golf course; breakfast (served in a dedicated room) was great - overall a great value!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank brocdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Although the hotel backs up to Half Moon Bay Golf Links' Old Course, the view from our deck appeared more like the wooded backyard of a private home; a very quiet setting with big cypress trees. The room was nice, spacious and comfortable. The deck and deck furniture could stand an updating. The pool and hot tub didn't look very appealing The lobby was well appointed; airy with a yellow and blue/grey palette that fits the "close to the ocean" locale. Was it the Ritz? No (I'll save that one for a romantic trip to CA with my husband), but the price was unbeatable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChelleAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This has to be the best value in the entire Half Moon Bay area. It rivals a 5 star hotel in cleanliness, comfort, and thoughtful amenities. We had an upstairs room with two queen beds. They were made up with sparkling white sheets. I am always concerned with germs and bacteria and was happy to see that all the drinking containers were individually wrapped. They provided coffee, hair dryer, ironing board, flashlight, lovely toiletries, free wifi, large flat screen TV, a balcony with a pleasant view of the golf course and water, and topped it off with a delicious breakfast in a pleasant room. Nothing was left out, and we were very comfortable. Oh! And it is a pretty place as well. Nice pool, hot tub, and lovely landscaping.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reallydisappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
4.6 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Property: Half Moon Bay Lodge
Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing