We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A motel not a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A motel not a hotel”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed for three nights.A little disappointed as expectations were probably too high.there are no public rooms,so small reception,no lounge or bar and continental breakfast in small room by pool.I think the hotel is getting a little tired,the pool area is ok but dated.The hotel works if you take your own food etc as there is a fridge and microwave in the room,there is also Joe's Diner next door.The situation is a little out so you need your car unless you are in your room or going to the diner.I am sure this suits some people but I did not feel much of a guest more a passerby.Finally the hotel is not cheap but we did stay for the Labor Day weekend.Staff ok workmanlike rather than welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leisurely_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    221
    73
    15
    13
See reviews for
159
228
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night. The room was spacious. Lovely slider to deck overlooking golf course. Unfortunately there were some vulgar and vile men golfing and swearing loudly the next morning at 8. Why do men turn into idiots when golfing? Another question for another day. Otherwise this stop on the PCH was very good. The staff was nice and gave a very comprehensive list of local eateries to try. Nice toiletries and towels and a lovely free breakfast. Other associates I encountered during our short stay there were very polite and helpful. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momtokande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited Half Moon Bay Lodge because we were looking for a near-by get-a-way. Having stayed here a few times before we knew what to expect but this time we were really looking forward to enjoying the one and only room that has it's own whirlpool jacuzzi tub! So needless to say we were excited and looking forward to letting Calgon take us away. When we entered the room, we immediately noticed that it didn't have a fireplace. We were not told that we would have to give up a fireplace for the whirlpool tub. So right away we were disappointed especially after we started filling up the tub and the fixture for control of the water wouldn't stay where we needed it for the correct temperature. It kept falling down and losing the hot side as well as the pressure.

The room was also on the second floor and they don't have an elevator. We had to haul all the luggage up some very rickety stairs. My husband almost fell twice. Also, be careful when you step out on to your balcony, it's a big step down.

If you're thinking of coming here for a romantic get-a-way look somewhere else. The kids take over the outdoor jacuzzi tub and pretty much have the fun of the place. They need to build a separate jacuzzi just for the adults. They also need to do some refurbishing overall as the place is starting to show it's age. The facelift should include better locations for the ice machines as well. It appears they like to hide them here. I went up and down looking for one and finally had to ask a maid who took me all the way downstairs and into a dark hallway to the closest one.

If it weren't for the fresh cookies put out everyday in the lobby it would be total disappointment. In fact the lobby is about the only good part of this establishment.

Room Tip: You have to call and request the Whirlpool Room as its not available to reserve online. Just beware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicebydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I chose to stay at the Half Moon Bay Lodge largely based on the price. I compared the amenities to other nearby hotels and read multiple reviews. So, based on the price and the fact that the HMB Lodge was not on the water, I assumed that it must be an exceptional property to charge as much as the waterfront properties. WRONG! It is a nice property and meets all of the standards, but there is no reasonable person who would rate this property higher than average considering the properties that have ocean views for the same price. Not to mention, the rooms do not have any AC or way to control air temperature - though there is a thermostat on the wall. I guess it is helpful to know that you're not too hot or cold. The golf course next door did cut the grass starting at around 6 a.m. Not exactly, what I had in mind for sleeping in on Labor Day. The balcony is nice and the room is well equipped - king size bed, wi-fi, and very clean. I would just consider an ocean front property for the price.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the 2nd floor. A little more quiet and the balcony overlooks the golf c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marshcanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is in a central location and easy to find. The staff is very professional and cordial albeit a little shy on offering local info unless prodded. The breakfast that was included was quite picked over by the time we got to it. I will admit we slept in and came towards the end but if you give a specific time to end then you should be prepared to stock 100% until the end. We felt penalized because we were not lined up at the start to get the included goodies!

Room Tip: go for a second floor overlooking the garden looking towards the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr350893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

When we first arrived they had our reservation for us arriving Sept 6th, even though my email confirmation clearly stated 8/30-9/2! Fortunately they had the availability but I'm not sure what they/we would have done if they didn't!

Rooms - very nice, updated and spacious. We stayed in a King room with a fireplace. I do not recommend staying in a room with a fireplace unless you like the smell of smoke because it is strong! I tossed the firebags that they provide outside of our room to make it a little more tolerable but it really stinks! If you stay on the ground floor you can really hear the people above you, however if you travel with a pet, this is your only option.

Pet friendly comments - They do make it easy for people with pets, however they were out of the cleanup bags, but fortunately I brought my own! Also beware of people who refuse to put their dogs on a leash. I don't know why people think they should be an exception to the rules but they do and it's annoying, especially for someone traveling with a dog who does not always love other dogs running up to her. This is not a negative on the hotel, just a note to keep in mind when traveling with your pet or even if you are not and do not like dogs!

Breakfast - Waffles are good but other options were more continental style. Bagels, muffins, cold hard boiled eggs, cold cereal, oatmeal and cold cuts. For the price you pay and when they say "full breakfast" you would expect scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon.

Price - Overpriced but it was Labor Day weekend, so higher prices are expected.

Location - Nothing is in walking distance. There is one restaurant in front of the hotel, however it did not look very appealing. Downtown is a short 5 minute drive and all beaches are also a short drive. The harbor with other restaurants are about a 10 minute drive as long as there is not traffic (which there is a lot of traffic on a holiday weekend).

Overall, I would definitely stay here again, just not in a room with a fire place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Decent average property but a bit overpriced. The breakfast was different from what the reviews said. No scrambled eggs or sausages. It consisted of yogurt, cold cereal, hard boiled eggs, toast and cold cuts. Noisy when people walk around in the room above and their footsteps can be heard. Would have liked to keep the sliding door open at night since there is no A/C. But being on the first floor felt a little creepy with it being pitch black outside.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-Traveler I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
4.6 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Property: Half Moon Bay Lodge
Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing