We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$924
$849
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Beach House at Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$149
$127
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor View Inn(Half Moon Bay)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coastside Inn(Half Moon Bay)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness center
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveler rating
253
241
78
18
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
241
78
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursehot tuboutdoor fireplacechristmas treebreakfast roomhard boiled eggssecond floorincluded breakfastthe ritzbagelsroom was largeclose to downtownwould definitely stay here againfront desk staffsliding glass doorwaffle makerquiet location
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 605 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We picked the Half Moon Bay Lodge as our last stop on a road trip up PCH based on the favorable reviews on TripAdvisor. If the hotel was billed as a budget hotel like the Hampton Inn and Suites at $80-100 a night we probably would have been happy. But at over $200 a night, we expected more than the slightly tired rooms and self service coffee and bagels for breakfast. Maybe it's just the location and all the hotels in Half Moon Bay are over priced. However the hotel felt really bad value for money compared to the other places we've stayed, including similarly priced boutique hotels in San Francisco. So we actually left the Half Moon Bay Lodge feeling somewhat cheated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts, Andy. I am sorry to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. We are committed to providing a comfortable stay at great value and we will certainly take your feedback into account.
Sincerely,
Keith Wesslemann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Needed a mid-week break. Brought the family and dog to Half Moon Bay Lodge. We all loved it. The kids loved, loved the pool and hot tub. Our pet loved the walks and being with us. Complimentary breakfast was fine (only mar was styrofoam bowls for cereal). Rooms were spacious; little fridge and coffee set up included. Very quiet. Wonderful staff. We will return -- this is a jewel.

Room Tip: $75 pet fee p/d seems a bit high. Upstairs and downstairs rooms equally quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We arrived at Half Moon Bay late afternoon and were greeted with friendly efficient service and chocolate cookies! We headed to the beach for a cold walk in the fog and were glad to defrost in the outdoor pool and hot tub.

Our room was on the second floor and I didn't hear a thing all night (and I am a very light sleeper). The breakfast is excellent. Cheese, hard boiled eggs, ham available along with the regular cereal, oatmeal, fruit, juice etc. The outside area is lovely. Very restful. There is even afire pit if you the fog is still around when you get up.

All in all, two big thumbs up. This is probably the nicest hotel I have stayed in for a long, long time. It ticks all these boxes for me: Beautiful location, relaxed, inexpensive, quiet, restful and the kind of place that makes me wish I was staying for more than one night!

No room service per se but the restaurant next door delivers. And they have wine and corkscrews at the front desk!

Book with confidence!

PS - Just back from walk past the Ritz Carlton. The Half Moon Bay Lodge is way, way superior!

Room Tip: Upstairs I think!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed four nights, the staff were really helpful, the rooms clean and tidy, breakfast was ample but a bit formulaic, parking and location just fine and overall a decent place at a decent price. Our only gripe was that the lower rooms seem to suffer from a lot of noise transference from the rooms above. Go for an upper floor room if you have the choice. Also the room temperature was tricky to adjust and get right. The location is good for SF, about half an hour up Hwy 1. There are loads of local restaurants and the hotel has a really good little sheet outlining them all with the options.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J801ton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was such a good find and a lovely place to stay with a very home like feel. The cleanliness of the rooms was superb and the view over to the golf course was so relaxing after our stay in New York. The hot tub was excellent and the breakfast was very filling and well presented with superb coffee and waffles. Ideal location for exploring San Francisco if you have a car.
Only down side is that the bathrooms have not been refurbed, but the rooms have - but perfectly clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExtremeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews