We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Cornwall On Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
313 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed June 19, 2008

This is a spectacular property in every way. The gardens are beautiful-as are the spa and pool. Breakfast area includes fireplace and offers a broad variety of options.......and when was the last time the background music was classical? Yes! We liked this so much we made another reservation so we can go back before this vacation ends.

  • Liked — Beauty and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UMichAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    223
    73
    15
    13
See reviews for
160
230
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool. Lancashire
Level Contributor
295 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

Spanish style two storey hotel. Convenient for San Francisco if you are driving. The room was spacious with an outside patio, but not a great view, however it was quite private. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was disappointing as there were not enough tables to seat everyone and we had to leave on three mornings without breakfast as we couldn't find a seat. Totally inadequate for the number of rooms. Pool area delightful but it was a bit too cold to use in early April.
Beds were really hard - why can't hotels provide a decent mattress - and we didn't sleep well at all. Otherwise it was a pretty hotel and far enough away from the Pacific Coast Highway not to be affected by road noise.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Very hard beds
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

This hotel was nice and tidy. The staff were friendly and accommodating. However, their beds were uncomfortably firm. I think I would have been more comfortable lying on the floor instead!

Just a note: their 'garden view' rooms are just a view of the golf course.

And lastly, either there were a pack of elephants that stayed in the room above us, or the building itself is poorly built or old. Every time the people above us walked around their room, we could hear creaking noise. If you like to sleep in until the last second before checkout, this might not be the hotel for you.

I probably would stay at this hotel again, but next time I'll be sure to request a room on the second floor!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank letsdizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2008

This was the first hotel we stayed in on our recent Holiday. There wasn't anything about it that we didn't like.

We were hugely jetlagged and spent a lot of time in the room having woken up at 3.30am on our first night! The accomodation was lovely and comfortable. The hotel itself was generally nice and quiet, the only real noise coming from the nearby golf course - the odd ping of a ball and some rowdy conversations!

The continental breakfast far exceeded our expectations, again no doubt helped by our jetlag as we were famished by breakfast time.

We didn't try the pool as it was a bit foggy and cool the days we were there, but it was clean and warm. The gym looked great and they had a sauna behind that.

The grounds were lovely, the little patio area from our room was nice to sit out in and the landscaping was just perfect.

All in all a great place that I would recommend. Don't bother with the restaurant adjacent, you will be disappointed! There are plenty of nicer places in the downtown area.

  • Liked — Breakfast!
  • Disliked — Jetlag
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Feebarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
247 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2008

Popped in on drive up highway one. Good hotel reasonable value for money. Lovely rooms overlooking a golf course. Various restaurants a few miles up the road.

  • Liked — Staff and close to highway 1
  • Disliked — Cost compared to others we had stayed in
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bully1959Canaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2008

WE LOVE THIS HOTEL! Seriously I know.... it's a Best Western..... and WOW, never did I expect such a GEM!

My only regret... not staying two or three more nights!

You can really see the pride of ownership in this place. Clean, quite, comfortable.... did I mention clean!

Yes, it is a three star at best, but the nicest three star i've been to and one i'll for sure recommend to others and come back to again when visiting Half Moon Bay!

Kudos to the owners!

  • Liked — ROOM, STAFF, BATHROBES (I bought two), DECK ONTO GARDENS! Just Lovely.
  • Disliked — NOTHING.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LIBERTADTODO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2008

First trip to Half Moon Bay and we stayed at the Best Western. Hotel definitely lived up to its trip advisor ratings.

We were pleased with the delightful staff that took quite a bit of time to educate us on the area when we checked in. We chose a fireplace room. The room was generously sized but I am not sure if this was because of the room we picked. The grounds were in excellent condition and we overlooked a golf course.

What impressed me most about the hotel were the little touches. A live plant in the bathroom and a window in the bathroom to let in some fresh air and natural sunlight. The fireplace was woodburning, and they provide cute burlap bags full of wood that you simply light up to burn. Much easier and neater than messing with logs! They also offer cookies at 4 pm in the lobby, which I imagine kids would love!

I thought the continental breakfast was above average. A wide assortment, including hard boiled eggs and cheese for the carb conscious crowd. I do agree with the previous poster that the room is small, so you feel a lttle rushed to let other guests grab a table. There were plastic trays that you could have probably used to take breakfast up to your room.

I have a few things to note that weren't perfect.

The room where breakfast is served is not in the middle of the hotel, so you could be walking from the opposite end to grab a bite to eat. Same with the pool.

While we were here, there were some repairs going on at the hot tub during work hours. A little bit noisy, and would have been a dissapointment if we wanted to use the hot tub.

There is a condo complex adjacent to the hotel which has a small playground that can be viewed from the pool area. We did not investigate if it was accesible to the public, but it might be a nice diversion if you are bringing the little ones.

  • Liked — Litttle touches
  • Disliked — Nothing bothered me
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank honeymooncanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
911 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
175 reviews
12.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Property: Half Moon Bay Lodge
Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing