We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed to get away for a night and this is just what the doctor ordered!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel was nice and QUIET! It is located right on a golf course (my destination was the beach, which is why I gave the location section 4/5). My girlfriend and I reserved the "Dinner & A Movie" package direct from the hotel website the night before our stay. For the value, we couldn't pass it up. The distillery had EXCELLENT food and A GREAT view of the sunset. I was unable to make my reservations for our desired time, but the Hotel made us the exact reservation we wanted! The hotel told us exactly when the Sunday was so we could get the the restaurant on time and get a window seat. When we got back from our fantastic dinner we rented a movie on the flat screen in our room. There was no limit on the cost of the movie we could rent, so we rented a new release movie priced at like 17 bucks... For Free!! We had an all around wonderful experience with this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay and not wanting to spend 500/room at an overrated place like the Ritz hahaha! Stay at the Lodge!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Padgett925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 589 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Half Moon Bay Lodge for a weekend. We took advantage of the Renovation Special online. Loved the location, on a golf course, rooms overlooking the garden. The renovations were not in the way at all. We booked the Deluxe King, large room with fireplace and terrace. The terrace has two chairs and a small table to enjoy the gardens below or watch golfers land in the sand trap. Front desk was very nice and professional. Made us feel very welcomed at check in. We will stay here again, DEFINITELY!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klmeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback, and for the great photos showing off our now completed renovation! We are delighted to learn you had a great time at our hotel during your visit to Half Moon Bay, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Keith Wesselmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Half Moon Bay Lodge is a pleasant and located in a quiet area, set back from the busy coast highway. It is adjacent to a local golf course, which had nice views from our 2nd story room. The beach areas are several miles away, so if you want an ocean view, look elsewhere. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff was friendly. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch. Half Moon Bay is a small town, but has several nice restaurants and interesting shopping in the old downtown area. It is minutes away from one of our favorite brew pubs, which is an authentic British Pub with a restaurant. It's less than a hour's drive to Santa Cruz, and about the same to San Francisco airport. If you want a comfortable, quiet stay while you roam the California coast, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZinFanatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Half Moon Bay Lodge. The first time was when it was under the Best Western Management. Both times were very nice, but they have been doing remodels recently and they are very nice. Rooms are large and comfortable. We had a king fireplace room with a nice balcony (2nd floor) which over looks the golf course and if you look really hard, you can even see the sun setting on the horizon,

We did not take part in the breakfast but it sounded very nice. It was too cold for the swim pool and I forgot our suits, so couldn't use the hot tub,but it looks like a very nice area.

I would not hesitate to refer this lodge to friends. Staff was pleasant as well. They have great off season specials.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Have stayed here over @ 20 years and the rooms have been completely renovated. You would think it was brand new with trendy look. The staff had pulled up our previous room preferences and we stayed in 230. Upper floor end of a building, perfect. Ask for end rooms for the best.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BrianoGraeagle_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Staff were very helpful and went above-and-beyond more than once to meet a request. Rooms, lobby and breakfast room were neat and clean. It is a 20 minute walk to the Pacific coast at the Ritz-Carlton. The complimentary breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Room was re-organized daily, was clean, and things put in order while leaving personal items untouched. Very accessible since right off Highway 1 - a pleasant drive in either direction to see coastal scenery. We enjoyed Filoli Estate which is only 20 minutes by car.

Room Tip: One of party had a room underneath a stairway and it was noisy, so would avoid that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWeston1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel since the Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay was sold out for one night. This is a small hotel/lodge nestled back off of Cabrillo Hwy. What I didn't know was you can play golf on the property. My room was clean, the bed was comfy and the staff very courteous and attentive. I wished I could have stayed longer to check out all the amenities, but I was in Half Moon Bay on business and only slept there and returned to the Ritz Carlton during the day for meetings. I will definitely visit again when I have more time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
955 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
2.3 mi away
Coastside Inn
Coastside Inn
#7 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Address: 2400 Cabrillo Hwy S, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: $175 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing