We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds and fireplaces”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This road side lodge has golf course views. No elevators so lugging suitcases is a pain up to second floor. Encountered surly Sara at checkin. Big comfort rooms with fireplaces but no matches and had a difficult time with fire bags with kindling and pressed wood. Breakfast room is small but they offered waffles, eggs, cereal and muffins with juices and coffee. Hot tub was nice. Quiet and comfortable and enjoyed cookies in lobby!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripTalkHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 592 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. Location very good -- easy to reach sites of great beauty: the ocean (15 min. walking or 5 min. driving), Coastside Trail, Pursima Creek Preserve, the town of Half Moon Bay. Surprisingly, only 40 mins.+/- from SFO. Small, quiet and relaxing, all rooms open in the rear to manicured gardens and golf course vistas. Our "basic" 1st floor room was unexpectedly large and well-appointed, including private patio, refrigerator and sink at entry that could serve as a wet bar. Our relatives' "basic" room on 2nd floor seemed even larger with cathedral ceilings and a balcony. Pool, hot tub beautifully maintained; also a small exercise room with sauna. "Continental Breakfast" included real scrambled eggs replenished frequently, waffles, sausage, juices, teas and coffee, plus an array of pastries and breads which delighted my husband. The lovely breakfast room overlooking the pool was quiet, charming, and had classical music playing - no TV blaring! Hotel doesn't have its own restaurant for lunch and dinner, but Joe's, right in front of the hotel, on Hwy.1, has good fresh, well-prepared food and will provide room service. Good beds. Any request was met with an immediate and helpful response. Virtually everything about Half Moon Bay Lodge was better than expected. The value is exceptional, if you reserve via hotel website. I've been traveling for business over 20 years and stayed in hundreds of hotels/motels - couldn't have been more pleased!

Room Tip: Reserve via hotel website for deep discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeslieB999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent one night at Half Moon Bay Lodge and were very pleased. Although we only live forty-miles away, we decided to spend the weekend at the coast, visiting the elephant seals at Ano Nuevo State Beach, as well as the Moss Beach Tidepools. HMB Lodge was a perfect location. Our young daughter LOVED the heated swimming pool, and we loved the lovely hot tub/gazebo. And breakfast is included, which far exceeded most 'free breakfast' at hotels. Excellent. Yes, some of the decor is a bit dated to the 80's, but they were actively upgrading rooms while we were there. Although this is no Ritz Carlton (which is behind the HMB Lodge), it is perfect for moderate budgets and taste. Our room was very spacious, and all have decks overlooking a golf course and much greenery. You can drive into HMB for dinner, we stuck with old-school Joe's next door, which was okay. Highly recommend HMB Lodge if you are exploring the coast!

Room Tip: Two-story hotel, chose the upper so no one is above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Last minute trip to the coast for Valentines weekend--unable to find a room on the water since it was spur of the moment. I was impressed from the moment of check-in. Staff was friendly and professional and we found our room to be comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rnmarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We chose the most basic of rooms, to be fair....we were arriving late and leaving by 10 the next morning, so we did not consider a more luxurious room for this particular stop; however, I didn't expect to find an 'upgraded motel 6' as our room!

The structure and grounds of this lodge are quite pretty. Lush plants, green grass, pretty flowers dot the landscape. The golf course behind lends itself to making this place have a great setting. The ocean is not far away and there are snippets of it that can be seen in the distance.

The lobby is charming; there are oranges to choose in a bowl. Yes, there were robes in the room, although they didn't have that 'freshly laundered' smell. The room was just REALLY basic. Sheets were very crumpled when we opened the bed, leaving us with a feeling that we weren't the first to sleep on them. They were clean, but very wrinkled/crumpled. The bathroom was pretty with some lovely tiles; fairly clean but relatively old looking. Carpets, lamps need to be replaced.

Breakfast was the biggest disappointment. It is truly a negative and we were shocked since there were so many good reviews of it. There were no gluten-free options. There were scrambled eggs, but of the 'mixture' variety, the kind you receive at a low-end breakfast. There was no fresh fruit other than more oranges in a bowl. One attendant in the room stood in the corner and cleaned up after people as they left, but there were no friendly faces, and it felt like a step above a truck stop breakfast. I'm so sorry to say this, but it's just not that great. We paid under 200.00 a night for the room. I guess this price in this part of the world is CHEAP and we should have expected much less.

I would NOT go here for a get-a-way. It's a one night stop on the way to somewhere else, but maybe the more expensive rooms are better. A huge disappointment....

Room Tip: Choose a more expensive room and ask a lot of questions if you want a better experience. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cityc0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your review, and for your recent visit. I am sorry to learn your experience fell short of your expectations. I am pleased to share, however, that we are undergoing a renovation at this time, having completely updated our guest rooms in recent weeks and nearing completion of our public space. In conjunction with the efforts to improve our facilities, we are rolling out a number of changes to our complimentary breakfast, including more gluten-free options every day.
Sincerely,
Keith Wesselmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We needed a quick overnight stop on our way north on Highway 1. The hotel had decent reviews and a good price so we gave it a try.

Half Moon Bay Lodge was recently converted from a Best Western and it's obvious they are working hard to establish it as a premier property, (we passed a section of rooms being renovated and updated with new fixtures.) Friendly check-in staff provided fresh fruit, cookies, and restaurant recommendations. Since our room had a mini fridge but no freezer section they also took our cooler's cold pack to refreeze.

The room was large with a comfortable bed, large flat screen TV, and a deck that overlooked the golf course at the nearby Ritz Carlton. The morning breakfast was more than continental with scrambled eggs, sausage, custom waffles, and all the other usual suspects, i.e., cereal, breads, yogurt, & beverages.

The hotel is located just south of downtown and easy to reach by car.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms. We stayed in February, 2013. The new rooms should be finis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GingerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent one night as a get away to check out the half moon bay area. The room was very nice. It was clean and had all the amenities that make a spot good. Coffee maker, nice bath items, hair dryer and robes! In addition to the view we had of the golf course the complimentary breakfast was great. Most places get you some packaged pastries and weird orange juice stuff and some watered down coffee. Not here. Good juice, coffee, muffins, scrambled eggs, sausage, waffle maker, and all the rest that make this great amenity to the hotel. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: get a 2nd level room that faces the west side. you may not see the ocean but you will have a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveb914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
965 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
187 reviews
12.2 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Pacifica
303 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Address: 2400 Cabrillo Hwy S, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: $199 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing