We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice, but nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Moon Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
malibu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here in January 2013 with my two kids for two nights on a cold but sunny weekend. The reviews here were so good and they were having a deal ($109/night) so we tried it. Our room was average although a bit dark and gloomy. It had a balcony but it was too cold to use but it did look onto a nice grassy courtyard. Breakfast was standard fare, we are vegetarian/vegan so we always bring a lot of our own stuff. The waffle maker was a nice touch and my son enjoyed making them. The room where we ate breakfast was quaint and nice. The outdoor pool looked nice and was really warm enough to swim in but we didn't get a chance since we came to Half Moon Bay to go to the beach. Beach access is a LONG WALK from the hotel but only a few minutes drive. Public parking lot extremely small so I imagine impossible to park at in high season. We had no problem though in the middle of January.

Other reasons for the average rating:
- we requested a microwave in our room and when we arrived in our room it wasn't there so we had to call down to get it. Not a big deal but the hotel was only half full in the middle of January so I imagine not that difficult to be on top of this sort of thing. Also, not enough towels. I always find it amazing that a hotel can book you into a room and know you have three people staying there, and they only give you enough towels for two people. This happens all the time, so I'm not blaming Half Moon Bay Lodge exclusively, but how hard is it to plan ahead and make sure there are enough towels in the room to accommodate the amount of guests? OR if there is a standard "two sets of towels in each room" then hand the guests the extra towels when they check in, or have it sent up right away. Seems an easy thing to do and would be so nice for guests not to worry about.

TV/cable selection was dismal but I think that is standard for Half Moon Bay in general.

Best thing about this location was the little massage place next door. I had an awesome hour long massage booked at the last minute. Very convinient too being right next door to the Lodge and an easy walk. Cloud 9 Foot Massage.

We would stay here again if they were having another sale, otherwise for the same price we will try The Beach House next time, which is oceanfront.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingmermaid9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    213
    70
    15
    13
See reviews for
155
220
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

As we looked for the Lodge from the road, we found a small sign that had us turn into a pretty setting as we drove up to the entrance. We were greeted immediately and check in was a breeze. We were given restaurant suggestions, directions to shopping areas, and a continental breakfast the next morning. There are only 2 stories, but no elevators. We were surprised, but it added to the quaint feeling of the place. Pretty views from room and beautiful landscaping for a nice walk.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms that face the golf course and beautifully maintained landscaping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here after 25 hours of travel from Australia as a stopover on the way to Monterey. Room was large and very clean and allowed an excellent night's rest and refreshment. Location was close to restaurants and shops (short drive) and the breakfast that was included in our room rate was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Last stayed here in the mid90's. It was gorgeous then.
Sadly the rooms and property have not had much updating.
Breakfast was included with our room and was nicely presented
and quite nice.
Check in was a breeze and freshly baked cookies upon arrival.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CinDUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked the Half Moon Bay lodge for just one night, as a stopover on a drive from SFO to Monterey.
I booked a King room suite w/fireplace. What a cute, large sized room. The wood burning fireplace was so romantic and was a nice touch. They provide a little burlap bag that only requires a match to set fire..so easy.
The room was very large, with a seating area and separate bedroom and very large patio that overlooked the golf course.
Easy to find from Hwy1. Nice selection of free breakfast offered, and lots of convenient parking
Would absolutely plan on staying here again, next time, for longer...so we can enjoy the amenities!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rewardplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeatlastem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We recently had a cousins weekend in Half Moon Bay I have never stayed in town but this hotel was highly recommended on trip advisor so I booked a room for the four of us...the rooms were very spacious and clean...we did not however take advantage of the breakfast provided because we were never ready before ten when breakfast is over all in all if we ever decide to come back this will be where we stay ..also here is a restaurant right up the street named Cameron's pub the clam chowder is outstanding !!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I find myself in Half Moon Bay once a year. For the past several years I have stayed, with my family, at the Half Moon Bay Lodge. It's nice and comfortable. The property is pretty and they offer breakfast. This year I will not be staying there. They now require a 2 night stay if your stay includes a Saturday. I only need Saturday night. So they have lost my business...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for your loyalty over the last several years. Please note that while there some occasions when it becomes necessary to require a two night minimum stay, this is not always the case.
Please contact me directly at 650-712-5310, so that I may look into the date you're inquiring about and see if there is something we can do to accommodate you.
Sincerely,
Keith Wesselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
12.2 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Pacifica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Property: Half Moon Bay Lodge
Address: 2400 Cabrillo Hwy S, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-2253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing