We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time visiting and still a fantastic stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stopped here for one night after visiting Napa on the way down the coast. We stayed here a couple of years ago and had an excellent experience so decided to stay again. We were not disappointed, the customer service was excellent, the room was lovely, the hot tub and pool not crowded and beautifully clean. The breakfast the following morning was in a lovely room and continually supplied with fresh items. I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kemper_Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 589 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed 2 nights on the way fron SF to LA. First night was good in a King Garden view room. Second night was poor as we had to change rooms. We were right next to the reception area and it was very noisy. Then at 5am the guest above our room got up and started walking around, the noise came straight through the ceiling.
Also the young girl on reception at night should focus more on customer service than texting on her phone :(
Some milk in the fridge would be appreciated.
Has potential to be very good with a few changes and some good old fashioned service.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Domoliscious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for your review. We want all of our guests to have an extraordinary service experience with every visit. I am sorry to learn we fell short of that mark during your recent stay, and your feedback is helpful in moving us toward our goal.

Warm Regards,
Keith Wesselmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We chose this hotel partly because of positive reviews here on Trip Advisor. You win some, you lose some...our experience was not as good as that of other reviewers.

First impressions were good with friendly and helpful check-in. As others have noted, the hotel is set back from the highway and has nicely landscaped grounds. The room itself was spacious and the beds were comfortable. There was a balcony with two chairs and a small table, overlooking gardens and a golf course.

This is an older hotel, which seems to be in the gradual process of being updated. The walls in the room were very thin. We could hear people talking in the room next door and the door from the corridor outside didn’t keep much noise out. There was a ceiling fan and a sliding door onto the balcony for air, there was no air conditioning. The bathroom had an opening window which helped the airflow a little.

There was a very small wet bar area, with no way of heating up food. The bathroom was OK but had very limited counter space for toiletries etc. A shelf or two would make all the difference. The shower worked fine. Housekeeping was a little inconsistent, one of the robes disappeared one day and wasn’t replaced. The towels were not always very clean, one had black stains which may have been mascara or even shoe polish...

The wifi didn’t really work properly, we had to keep logging back in continually. This didn’t happen anywhere else on our trip.

The staff were friendly enough when we arrived, but we had a problem with billing part-way through our stay and we did not feel that the staff handled the situation very well. We had to chase them a couple of times to get any resolution to the problem. It seemed that they just weren’t prepared to make much effort and it was finally resolved in a grudging manner. That kind of thing is a deal breaker for us.

The town itself has all the amenities you’d need and is about a 5 minute drive away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ednacloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Located off Hwy 1 at the south end of Half Moon Bay. We were greeted by frienldy staff and the room and bathroom were spacious and clean. Balcony overlooked the golf course and it was very quiet and peaceful. Outside appearance of the lodge also very nice. Complimentary full breakfast was very good and. Nice breakfast room adjacent to the pool area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeylore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel gave my family and I a wonderful, quiet night and a fine breakfast the next morning. The hot tub and heated pool were appreciated on a chilly, foggy August day. The views from our balcony rooms were lovely. I personally had the best night's sleep in a long time in a comfortable bed in a very quiet hotel. I liven within driving distance and plan to return for another weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have stayed at the lovely lodge before and enjoyed the second floor rooms with private balcony overlooking part of the adjacent golf course. Savored the extensive complimentary breakfast with self-prepared waffles (pumpkin mix during pumpkin time!!!). So it was only fitting to celebrate an important birthday there, with daughters and grandkids in three rooms. We all had a marvelous time toasting grandma at the outdoor fireplace and pool. Gunter Konold

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeus777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

PRICE - $220 total per night, one spacious room, two queen comfortable beds, for weekend nights in August. Our room was located on the second floor and looked out the rear onto a golf course. The building is not a typical “Best Western” but really blends in with the California architecture (red tile roof, etc.).

LOCATION – On California Route 1 about a mile or so south of downtown Half Moon Bay and main street, set back off the road behind a local diner-type restaurant. You need to drive to town or elsewhere (not really good for walking due to highway).

ROOM – Spacious bedroom and bathroom. Room and bathroom were dated but neat and clean.

STAFF – Very friendly and helpful.

OTHER – Free computer access in the main lobby. Full breakfast provided in a breakfast room. I think I had read something about required (paid) valet parking, but that was not the case and parking was self and free (which I prefer).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasternUSA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
955 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
2.3 mi away
Coastside Inn
Coastside Inn
#7 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Address: 2400 Cabrillo Hwy S, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: $175 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing