We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Really Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Moon Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Folsom, California
2 reviews
“A Really Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have stayed in many hotels over the past 30 years but the Bodega Bay Lodge is certainly one of the best. The facility is beautiful, the staff is friendly and helpful, the complimentary breakfast is great. This hotel should rate four diamonds on AAA. It is certainly as good or better than some four diamond hotels we have stayed in. I would recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a balcony with two chairs and a little table. A great place to relax with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    216
    72
    15
    13
See reviews for
158
226
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We drove here from the airport for our first night and I'd chosen Half Moon Bay as it wasn't too far to drive (with jetlag!) and it put us on the road to begin our holiday. We were due to take this trip last year and had been booked into the Half Moon Bay Lodge but had to cancel as my mother-in-law was taken ill. When I contacted the hotel to cancel our reservation, they refunded my credit card even though it was too late under the normal rules. The manager sent me a really nice email saying that they could make an exception given the difficult circumstances and so I was determined that we would stay here when we re-booked! This was definitely the right decision as the hotel was very quiet and comfortable and we managed to get a pretty reasonable night's sleep despite our body clock's still being on UK time! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

This was a repeat visit for us . We visited last May over Memorial Day. This year we stayed
3 days in Wonderful Half Moon Bay. Nice Pool and Sauna and outside Jacuzzi.
Room was spotless, plenty of supplies and staff cordial. We enjoyed the Breakfast
which was Fresh and Nature Oriented. A note the same woman that oversaw the Breakfast
is still there from last year. If the staff remains you know you can' t go wrong!!!!!
Check in was pleasant and check out was fast and efficient. The price was on target
This is one of the best Best Westerns we have stayed at

Room Tip: Please request a Deluxe King it is perfect for couples. We were on the first floor still very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winslett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is a jewel on the coast, clean, very comfortable, super friendly staff and a great location!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side downstairs seem to be nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I adore this hotel. We were in H.M.B. for a wedding and spent one night here. After a slight check-in snafu (the girl working reception couldn't find my reservation- I suspect she misspelled my last name the first time), I let myself into room 227, which was close enough to the stairs to be convenient but far enough that I didn't hear people banging their wheely luggage up and down. The doors to the rooms open directly to an outside walkway, but instead of feeling motel-y I found it charming and reminiscent of a hotel I stayed at in the Dominican Republic. The rooms are spacious, and I appreciate little details like the easily-disinfectable remote control and jar of cotton balls/Q tips in the bathroom. There are two robes hanging in the closet if that's your thing, and it was nice to enjoy the balcony overlooking the links. They also have cookies in the lobby in the afternoon :-) Only two obvious flaws to me: first, some suspicious-looking brown spots (mold?) on the corner of the cloth shower curtain. Not a huge deal, but also not what you want to see when you get in the shower. Second, they need to get rid of the comforters with the outdated floral pattern and follow what other hotels are doing; that is, sandwich a blanket between two clean sheets so no one actually has to touch something that's not washed between guests.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank y0adrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Great place to go for a short drive to visit and stroll the ocean or shopping very near by. Clean, cozy and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
884 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,764 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were scheduled to stay here for two nights but checked out at noon after our first night's stay. I did not care for the location of our room at all and when I asked to be changed, the front desk said they were full. We were placed in a room downstairs on the corner, steps away from the parking lot. I found the room to be a bit outdated and there was a fireplace in the room but they charge you an extra $5/fire log!

The property is nice, a heated pool and outdoor fireplace. One of our major complaints was the golf course noise from some tree cutting! It started early in the morning and went on for hours. This was a very loud, annoying noise! I called the front desk and asked if we could leave early and they were very cooperative.

We found the Oceano Hotel & Spa and went there for the remainder of our stay and also booked the same room there for another stay.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in a room away from the main parking lot! If you book a fireplace room, be prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank syrahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonBayLodge_GM, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. I apologize that your stay was not completely relaxing and peaceful. We will contact the management of the golf course and request that they delay any future landscaping improvements until later in the day.

I would also like to assure you that we will continue to look for ways to exceed our guests' expectations. From the full hot complimentary breakfast that we now offer to concierge services, the Half Moon Bay Lodge wants to be the best value in the charming seaside town of Half Moon Bay.

Sincerely,

Kurt Picillo
General Manager
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
4.5 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Property: Half Moon Bay Lodge
Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing