We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zaballa House visit”
Review of Zaballa House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zaballa House
Ranked #10 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The walls in this hotel are pretty thin, so you wouldn't want parties next door. However, it's located on Main Street and is convenient to restaurants, galleries and shops. Also, the breakfasts served at Zaballa House are delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Zaballa House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 136 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked this hotel because the location was on Main Street. I knew it wasn't going to be great but I was disappointed. First of all, we arrived a couple of hours early and I thought I would check in, even if the room wasn't ready. The inn keeper was not welcoming to say the least. She "allowed" me to check in early since the room was ready. The room...... it was probably the worst one in the entire place. It was on the second floor of the other building. The room was a stuffy so I wanted to open the window. Well, the window that had a screen was broken and wouldn't budge! The open that was working, didn't have a screen, I left it open for a few minutes just to get some fresh air. The bed was okay, the pillows were flat and I asked for 2 extra pillows just to make it somewhat comfortable. Stains on the carpet and they claimed to have cable TV.... well, maybe ours was turned off because we could only get 6 channels that were in English and the rest were in Spanish! Very frustrating and disappointing. Breakfast was okay..... stale bagels with jam so old it was petrified when removed from the container. Also, the walls are paper thin. There is an "office" next to our room and a guy was making phone calls at 7:30AM and I could hear his whole conversation. I can continue but if you are reading this, you can guess I won't be going back to this hotel. The only good thing about this place is the location, it is walking distance to everything on Main Street, which is a huge plus!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenniferG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Zaballa House in Half Moon Bay is the oldest surviving structure in Half Moon Bay. It is located in the heart of the town and close to many interesting sites. The staff was very nice and accommodating. Why not over quite, it is more so during the weekdays. We stayed there during the annual town Christmas parade, which was fun. It is a great place to stay due to centrally you can travel to many great sites and attractions. San Friancisio is very close and an easy drive or Santa Cruz heading south. Next to the main house are little shops including a art gallery where there is lots of local art and photos of the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back on the second floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We have travelled to many places in the world and occupied many hotel and b&b rooms and this has got to be one of our few bad experiences. In fairness to the receptionist she did ask us to view the room first and we did. We took it only because we could not find a viable alternative and were road weary after 8 hours travel. The room did not seem like it had been decorated in many years, but was not quaint, a couple of hundred dollars and a few hours of hard work, could make this a lovely room. Bed was hard, and the room was noisy because a large gap existed between the door and the floor ( a simple thing to rectify)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cavanlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

A lovely stop a few miles from SF, perfect on your way back to the airport.
Old original 19th century house, rooms decorated with original antiques, quite comfortable and with private bathroom.
Yummy healthy home made breakfast, very warm welcoming from the front desk.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Was denied a room I made reservations for after I drove there in 3 hour traffic from Stockton. The desk offered no explanation other than it was my fault and no help to find another hotel. Bad bad business practises IMHO.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Made reservation on Zaballa website and received confirmation email. Arrived about 2:30 pm and was rudely told we could not check in until 3 pm. Returned a bit after 3 and was told they did not have our reservation. I did have the confirmation and total amount so since they did have a vacancy, we got a room. We were told that breakfast starts at 6:30 am. When we went for breakfast at 7:45 am there was no one anywhere. The table was set but no one was preparing any coffee or food. We proceeded to load our belongings in the car (took two trips up and down the stairs) going in and out the front door and still no one emerged to see what was going on. Since we had an appointment, we had to leave and go buy breakfast somewhere else. I left a note and wrote to Zaballa on their email and have not heard from them. Our room was pleasant, had a fireplace and big 4 poster bed which squeaked so bad it woke us up every time one of us moved. There are no TV's, ceiling fans or showers- just tubs. If you need to cool off you have to open a window. Also, the bedside lamps in our Room 6, were tiny and not good if you want to read in bed. The WiFi signal in our room was too weak to use.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mellowsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
260 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
940 reviews
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastside Inn
Coastside Inn
#7 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zaballa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaballa House

Address: 324 Main St, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1724
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: $142 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zaballa House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Zaballa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaballa House Hotel Half Moon Bay
Zaballa Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing