We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B & B Half Moon Bay, CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zaballa House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Zaballa House to your Saves list
Zaballa House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   324 Main St., Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Frisco
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming B & B Half Moon Bay, CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Zaballa House in Half Moon Bay is the oldest surviving structure in Half Moon Bay. It is located in the heart of the town and close to many interesting sites. The staff was very nice and accommodating. Why not over quite, it is more so during the weekdays. We stayed there during the annual town Christmas parade, which was fun. It is a great place to stay due to centrally you can travel to many great sites and attractions. San Friancisio is very close and an easy drive or Santa Cruz heading south. Next to the main house are little shops including a art gallery where there is lots of local art and photos of the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We have travelled to many places in the world and occupied many hotel and b&b rooms and this has got to be one of our few bad experiences. In fairness to the receptionist she did ask us to view the room first and we did. We took it only because we could not find a viable alternative and were road weary after 8 hours travel. The room did not seem like it had been decorated in many years, but was not quaint, a couple of hundred dollars and a few hours of hard work, could make this a lovely room. Bed was hard, and the room was noisy because a large gap existed between the door and the floor ( a simple thing to rectify)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cavanlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Half Moon Bay hotels

Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

A lovely stop a few miles from SF, perfect on your way back to the airport.
Old original 19th century house, rooms decorated with original antiques, quite comfortable and with private bathroom.
Yummy healthy home made breakfast, very warm welcoming from the front desk.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Was denied a room I made reservations for after I drove there in 3 hour traffic from Stockton. The desk offered no explanation other than it was my fault and no help to find another hotel. Bad bad business practises IMHO.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Made reservation on Zaballa website and received confirmation email. Arrived about 2:30 pm and was rudely told we could not check in until 3 pm. Returned a bit after 3 and was told they did not have our reservation. I did have the confirmation and total amount so since they did have a vacancy, we got a room. We were told that breakfast starts at 6:30 am. When we went for breakfast at 7:45 am there was no one anywhere. The table was set but no one was preparing any coffee or food. We proceeded to load our belongings in the car (took two trips up and down the stairs) going in and out the front door and still no one emerged to see what was going on. Since we had an appointment, we had to leave and go buy breakfast somewhere else. I left a note and wrote to Zaballa on their email and have not heard from them. Our room was pleasant, had a fireplace and big 4 poster bed which squeaked so bad it woke us up every time one of us moved. There are no TV's, ceiling fans or showers- just tubs. If you need to cool off you have to open a window. Also, the bedside lamps in our Room 6, were tiny and not good if you want to read in bed. The WiFi signal in our room was too weak to use.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mellowsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

30 miles far from San Francisco, peaceful and cute little village with a couple of good restaurants, beach is nice, the bed&breakfast is in the oldest house in Hald Moon Bay (they say).
Clean, peaceful, comfortable, breakfast at one large table, with other guests.
Nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

This place is awesome! Everything about it was good. Nothing negative. Really. Clean, spacious room. Large bathroom. No noise. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast was wonderful. Fresh fruits, delicious homemade breads, quiches, waffles, homemade granola! And Sheila, the owner, and her family were delightful hostess/staff. If we were ever back this way again, we would stay only at Zaballa House.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sbell2852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
4.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
0.1 mi away
Mill Rose Inn
Mill Rose Inn
#4 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zaballa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaballa House

Address: 324 Main St., Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Zaballa House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Zaballa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaballa House Hotel Half Moon Bay
Zaballa Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#