We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zaballa House
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$135
$127
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Bay Lodge(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$218
$209
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House at Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor View Inn(Half Moon Bay)
$148
$144
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coastside Inn(Half Moon Bay)
$149
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,219
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness center
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
33
33
31
27
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
33
31
27
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge tablefresh fruitinteresting sitestown's main streetgranolabed was comfortablelarge bathroomsan franpasta mainannexmaintenancehmbbayhwycoast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 149 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We just love the Zaballa House, I just happened to book a room there with my husband and dog for a last minute get away and have been going back ever since. The people are friendly, the room's is always clean and the location is great! Located in historic downtown Halfmoon Bay,you are in walking distance from all the great shop's, resturants, and Northern California's beautiful coast line.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Great location. Carpet in room was frayed and worn out. No charm - room and bathroom was like you'd expect at a cheap hotel. Only one small shampoo and one soap in the bathroom; one towel each. The beds weren't comfortable, walls and door transoms were beat up. The grumpy clerk who checked us in gave us no info on breakfast or times until wen asked ( at a bed and breakfast). Not only was it noisy (thin walls and music coming from a music store and bar across the street), plus - at 630 in the morning someone from the staff was outside hosing down the floors immediately outside our room and pushing carts p and down the hallway. Spend your money somewhere else, this place is a bomb (not to be confused with the bomb)....

Room Tip: Don't go there
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EricO1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is a great old house, right in the center of the historic district. We've always stayed in the house, not in the motel building behind.
In a room right off the lobby, there is a diorama-in-progress of the original buildings of Half Moon Bay, accompanied by lots of great documents and pictures of locals. There are a few hand-colored maps in the hallways, including an amazing one of the early Sierra expeditions - fascinating! The breakfast is served buffet style and is huge, esp. for the fresh fruit selection. Concerns: there is very little parking right in front of the hotel, but you can easily find a street space, as long as you move the car by the posted time in the morning. Also, if you arrive after 4pm, make SURE to CALL to arrange for a key to be left for you in the front mailbox, or you won't be able to get in. MOST IMPORTANT: call to confirm your reservation if you use an internet hotel booking sight, as we've stayed there 3X and they didn't receive our reservation 2 of the times (but found us an extra room that happened to be available when we arrived and showed our printed-out confirmation).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house, as those rooms are historic, clean, and charming. The motel rooms are simpler and less so.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDSPd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This was the first time we had stayed in a B&B. My husband and I were looking forward to a cozy, romantic atmosphere to rekindle some sparks while away from our 3 children. The B&B was cute. The bedroom made us feel like we were at grandma's house. The fireplace was nice. But the BED WAS THE SQUEAKIEST BED EVER!! You couldn't reposition without excessive noise...much less do anything else...!! The bed was hard and uncomfortable. The light shining in around the door from the hallway was annoying. The bathroom faucet dripped all night. The trash truck showed up before 6 both mornings beeping and making noise.
The breakfast was delicious. The people were very nice. The town is cute. But if you want a little romance, I suggest different accomodations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B_lynnjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I booked 4 months in advance and paid over $300 to stay in a motel. Their is no wine and cheese like they promissed. They took my credit card and gave me a nice room in the house. Then moved everything out when I was not there and put me outside in the motel building with dogs barking in the next room. Only stay their if you have dogs so they can crap all over the room.

Room Tip: It's a motel they call B&B
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joy4l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews