We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful gardens and excellent inkeeper in Half Moon Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mill Rose Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sausalito, CA
1 review
“Beautiful gardens and excellent inkeeper in Half Moon Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this lovely B&B. Terry, the innkeeper, has thought of everything you could possibly want. We especially loved the evening jacuzzi in the gazebo, the absolutely stunning gardens, and gourmet breakfast. Kudos!

Helpful?
Thank explorer_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    13
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
120
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

Beautiful setting, fantastic garden, opulent room. Hot tub available privately. Terry, our host, anticipated our every need. Lots of amenities including brandy, sherry, cheese plates, soft drinks and best of all homemade cookies and cakes. A delicious breakfast was served in a elegant dining room. Hundreds of DVD's available too.
Just no negatives to say about this inn - we loved it!
D.B. & T.M.
Oakland, CA.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanBOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

I stay in the San Fran area, usually close to the airport, every other month or so. I'm tired of hotel rooms that look the same whether you're in San Fran or St. Louis so I decided to try Mill Rose Inn in Half Moon Bay. I'm so glad I did! The area is beautiful---an abundance of blooming flowers! It is a 20 minute drive south from the airport so it's very convenient and much less of a hassle than going into the city. There are great little restaurants and gallery shops to browse through, all in walking distance of the Inn. And, the beach is a short drive away and is gorgeous!
The Inn keeper has thought of everything. He has movies to watch, tea and coffee bar and cookies and cake for dessert, wine and cheese and fruit when you arrive, robes and flipflops for the hot tub, and wifi for working. He also made a fabulous recommendation for dinner and made the reservation for me. And, breakfast was incredible!
I strongly recommend Mill Rose Inn in Half Moon Bay for business travelers or for couples looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissouriMizmilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

I did not want to go home. We were spoiled in every way possible. I felt like royalty; a queen for two days! The gardens and flowers are spectacular. The comfort is unbelievable. The beautiful rooms are breathtaking. The food is scrumptious. There is every amenity you can think of...you lack for nothing. The hosts/owners are gracious and attentive. This Bed & Breakfast is a FEAST for your eyes. You will not soon forget its charm and beauty. The antiques and bed linens are awesome. I cannot say enough about this wonderful B&B in Half Moon Bay. My husband and I will be regulars...at least twice a year!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m-rosefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

I was surprised on my anniversary my a trip to Half Moon Bay and a stay at The Mill Rose Inn. Trust me, he won big points for this one! From the moment we arrived, we felt like honored guests, from the personal tour of the facilities and our room, to the personalized welcome note. The innkeepers make you feel as if it is their desire to take care of you - bringing you whatever you would like. I especially enjoyed the dessert table which we could come to at any time to bring treats to our room, and their extensive collections of movies to borrow and bring to your room. There was also a private spa where couples could sign up so that you don't have to worry about being disturbed in the hot tub. Overall, the location was perfect - close to downtown but quiet and the room was adorable. Decorated ornately and romantically with a perfect charm. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was adequate size. In the morning, the delicious homemade breakfast was delivered to our room in courses, and it was the perfect end to a weekend of no worries.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marnimatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2009

A couple of years ago I reserved a room at the Mill Rose Inn for a surprise birthday gift for my “boyfriend”…that sounds so silly calling him my boyfriend at almost 60 yrs old! We had not seen each other for almost 40 years and were just getting to know each other again…what a romantic place I chose! My guy loves flowers…growing, giving, or just viewing and he really enjoys old fashioned places. This one was so special and from the moment we drove up I knew I had made the perfect choice.

Terry and Eve both greeted us with birthday wishes for my guy and congrats on our newly rekindled love (my earlier emails explaining my hopes for a spectacularly romantic stay were understood)…and with that Terry gave us a wonderful tour of the grounds and finally up to our room…the top floor where the small corner table allows for viewing out windows overlooking the amazing flowers, a nearby meadow, and misty mountains in the distance.

Since that first night at the Mill Rose Inn we’ve returned for two more wonderful visits. The first evening we dined at Pasta Moon, a short walk away. The other two dinners have been at the Miramar just 10 minutes up the highway…we highly recommend this place but be sure to call ahead and reserve a table at the windows, and find out ahead of time when the sun sets…you won’t believe your eyes!

Breakfast in the morning is incredible! Terry always asks when we arrive if there are any food restrictions, needs, wants, whatever, and asks if we would like breakfast delivered…we always do and we have not been disappointed with both the quality of the interesting breakfasts, and the quantity!

Each time we return we find something new to enjoy…whether it’s the huge pumpkins that line the outer edges of the beautifully kept gardens, or the transformation into a Christmas wonderland, or the …well, you get the idea, this place just takes our breath away with the flowers, the lights, the food…and the ambience.

We highly recommend the Mill Rose Inn for anyone wanting a beautiful fantasy away from the real world…it’s definitely floral, it’s a bit frilly, but it’s oh, sooooo romantic!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Hmmm, can't think of anything we didn't love about the place!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ModestoCA_Grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2009

Although I have been a Trip Advisor "user" for 5 years now - this is my first review with others to come - now that I have all my notes in front of me.

What a wonderful place to stay - even though it was foggy on the outside every morning - it was sunny on the inside.

We loved this place and every time we come back to the Bay Area we will definitely spend our quality time with them.

  • Liked — The distance to everything was short and a great location for views
  • Disliked — All perfect
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Utravelwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
3.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
2.6 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Rose Inn

Property: Mill Rose Inn
Address: 615 Mill St, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Rose Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Rose Inn invites you to spend a night or weekend in the comfortable luxury of an English country garden by the sea. All the conveniences of a world class hotel, including free WiFi, and the charm and gracious services of a small country inn are beautifully combined here in this AAA Four Diamond award-winning inn. We are a great romantic getaway destination as well as wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mill Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Rose Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing