We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb in every way!”
Review of Mill Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mill Rose Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Two nights at this fabulous inn have convinced me to return here whenever I am in the region. My room was exquisitely appointed, and the common rooms equally stunning. The outdoor garden was peaceful and lush, the breakfast delicious, the innkeeper knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. Walking distance to the wonderful shops and restaurants in Half Moon Bay, the Inn is on a quiet street and an easy drive to some of the most breathtaking coastline in the world. The location manages to be both central and secluded, a wonderful mix. Add the fireplace, the free beverages and snacks, the extensive movie collection and personalized recommendations from the innkeeper, and you have pretty much the perfect stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boomster9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you so much.

Eve and I were overjoyed to welcome you as our guest, and now, we see your magnificent review
of your 2-day stay with us.

Wow!

Well, I will tell you, we were beaming as we read just how ecstatic you were to
be at the Mill Rose Inn. We hope you will find yourself in our region again quite soon.

It is a very pleasing compliment having had guests like yourself return many times
to our secluded comforting care, appointed luxuries, and the breakfast they remember
sparking their taste buds so well.

Many thanks to you for your passionate review!
Warmly
Eve and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 201 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you want to be pampered and get away from the hustle and bustle of life, this is the place for you. The rooms are beautiful, the gardens are full of flowers, birds and hummingbirds, and the service is impeccable. Terry is so attentive of your needs and always willing to talk about his food, the inn and the town. Breakfast is the best we've ever had at a B & B!! Love the OJ and hot chocolate. From the wine and drinks in the room to the plush towels, everything is wonderful at this inn. You won't be sorry to stay at this special inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsTerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

This makes us feel very good to hear that you and your husband had such a
relaxing stay with us at the Mill Rose Inn, that your one evening stay felt like you
had both been on vacation! Thank you for your complimentary review and
warm comments of about your stay in our tropical hide-away.

Eve and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

After having grand children all weekend, my husband and I made a fast get-away for an over nighter in Half Moon Bay. Our regular inn was booked so we decided on Mill Rose Inn. We had a lovely room complete with a separate sitting room for enjoying complimentary wine, cheese, fruit, and crackers brought up to us by Terry the owner. If that wasn't enough we reserved the beautifully appointed gazebo hot tub. It was like a tropical hide-away with the sound of a fountain in the background. We had a simple dinner in the room and dessert was a few steps away in the breakfast room all layed out with cakes and cookies, tea and coffee. A gourmet breakfast was brought up to our room the next morning. In less than 24 hours we truely feel like we have been on vacation!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us. We believe our guest
are the very BEST! It is so nice to have your admiring compliments of our
guest services, it was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your
gracious return.
Eve and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a wonderful trip to Half Moon Bay and the Mill Rose Inn was spectacular. The gardens were colorful with a wide variety of plants. The antiques were gorgeous and in use. The Innkeeper was welcoming and gave us an informative tour when we arrived. Complimentary beverages in the in-room refrigerator! We tasted the Brandy and Sherry provided and enjoyed the fresh baked goodies daily. We booked our private time in the hot tub and the soft fluffy towels wrapped us up when we got out. Many nice touches in this Inn. We also went walking downtown, a block away. We took a longer walk to the beach, about 8/10ths mile. Church bells nearby in the evening and morning were a great benefit. We will be back.

Room Tip: Briar Rose had a nice fireplace and partial country view. We did hear a garbage truck both mornings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your review.

It was so nice to hear that your trip to Half Moon Bay was wonderful, and
your stay at the Mill Rose Inn was spectacular.

Your gracious comments remind us of just how much enjoyment you
experienced. We do appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts,
and we certainly welcome your return stay.

Terry and Eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Out of this world room we had a suite for 4 of us, breakfast was the best I have ever had, book a private hot tub amazing, complimentary alcohol, coffee and cakes, beautiful hotel, clean and so comfortable, you have to stay here

Room Tip: Eat at the sushi restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for your stay at the Mill Rose Inn in Half Moon Bay.

Eve and I are so greatly pleased to receive your families fine compliments on your "Out-Of-This-World", luxurious stay with us. Your many charming remarks and, favorable expression about enjoying our Mill Rose Inn breakfast, private hot tub, cleanliness, and complimentary services made us smile.

Your gratitude is what inspires Eve and I every moment to create the warmest, homelike experience, with distinct touches of lavish comforts for your family and all our guests.
Warmly
Eve & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place was wonderful. We stayed in the Baroque Rose Room for two nights. The first night we walked in, it smelled delicious (they were baking Banana Bread!) We could not find anything wrong with this place! Every angle had something fascinating whether it was decoration, furnishings, glass decanters of brandy and sherry, candy bowls, delicious cookies and cakes for an evening sweet tooth...The place was gorgeous, especially their garden. There was an enclosed garden Jacuzzi that you could reserve for an hour to have alone with your significant other (it was a nice way to end the evening!). There were towels available along with bottles of water so you were well hydrated. In our room we had plenty of towels. We also had robes and flip flops if we forgot ours at home (which I did lol). The customer service was wonderful and everything felt custom and personalized for your room. The breakfast was awesome and it was unique each morning. Their Mexican Hot Chocolate made my morning lol :) Their location is awesome, within blocks from downtown Half Moon Bay, 5 minutes from the Half Moon Bay Brewing Co. and 15 minutes away from the Moss Beach Distillery. This place was so unique and unforgettable. We want to come back and book a different room when we return!

Room Tip: Please refer to their official website for details. Each room is wonderful and unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zayezaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your, if we might say, 'delicious review' of our Mill Rose Inn in Half Moon Bay.

We are extremely grateful to read of your wonderful detailed recount of your stay with us.
You were a unique and special guest as each is, which is why we focus on providing the
precise assistance and customer care tailored to suit your hospitality needs.

Eve and I will certainly welcome your return stay at the Mill Rose Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

There are hundreds and hundreds of free dvds, a real collection, and the gentleman who created the place is a buff. I had trouble with the internet, and that's a must for me, so I left, and the owner was kind and refunded my cost, so hat's off to him!

If you love Christmas decorations and Solvang, and sweetness, cuteness, a nice private hot tub that is in the garden, this is the spot for you. Also, they provide water and apples when you arrive, all in all, perfect for those who love the B&B feel.

It's not on the beach or with a view, it has its own garden ambiance and it's not on a main drag or noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerlynKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Aloha Merlyn,

Your praise of our Spa, Movie Library, Decor, Luxury Amenities
and our Garden Ambiance was so very gracious and appreciated.

I wish also to thank you for your recognition of our sincere concern,
that your experience at the Mill Rose Inn be exquisite, perfectly relaxing,
comfortable and flawless in every way.

Merlyn, we most certainly relish your return, and anticipate once
again sharing a pleasant greeting.
Mahalo
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
3.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
951 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#4 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
263 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
481 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Rose Inn

Address: 615 Mill St, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: $359 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Rose Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Rose Inn invites you to spend a night or weekend in the comfortable luxury of an English country garden by the sea. All the conveniences of a world class hotel, including free WiFi, and the charm and gracious services of a small country inn are beautifully combined here in this AAA Four Diamond award-winning inn. We are a great romantic getaway destination as well as wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mill Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Rose Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing