We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mill Rose Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This started as a gift from my wife - a weekend getaway - only it took me a couple of years to collect. I glad we stuck with the choice! We grew up in the Bay Area but had never spent time in HMB. The Mill Rose Inn made the experience memorable. Terry was an awesome host, from the intro to the room, to the cheese and fruit plate, the breakfast service and concierge service. After our intro to the room I immediately took advantage of the sherry and brandy - a first for me in a B&B or hotel! The decor of the room was elegant, the condition clean and everything worked, including the Wi-Fi. Location: perfect for us - a short walk to downtown, dinner the first night at a Thai restaurant and the second night at Pasta Moon - excellent). Terry suggest we hike the Coastal Trail past the Ritz Carlton - just what we needed. The Inn's grounds were awesome and we enjoyed the resident poodles. Breakfast was unique and tasty. We highly recommend this place! Oh, and my wife thought the bed was comfy:-)

Room Tip: We had one of the less expensive rooms - the Burgundy Room. No hot tub, but it had two adjacent win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saxman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
It's a pleasure hearing from you! Thank you so much for saying such great things about us. We care a great deal about our guests' comfort, and we were happy to make sure your stay was a memorable one. Sounds like you had a pretty active time discovering Half Mood Bay, from the downtown exploration to hiking the Coastal Trail! It's an amazing walk, isn't it? Capping those activities off with a meal at Pasta Moon sounds like the perfect weekend. It was great to have you and your wife. You are welcomed at Mill Rose Inn again anytime—our poodles miss you both already!

Sincerely,
Terry, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    13
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
113
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Spent a weekend in Half Moon Bay on a whim, and WOW! the Rose Mill Inn was beautiful. The gardens are amazing, it's easy to see why many weddings have been held there. Terry and Eve make you feel right at home: fresh baked cookies, a mini fridge in your room stocked with complimentary beverages, and a delicious breakfast that can be enjoyed in your room or in the dining room. The hot tub is completely private, with a lovely garden feel. Robes and sandals are in your room for your convenience.

The bathroom was spacious, with a claw foot bath/shower combo. The gas fireplace was a nice addition to the room. We had a hard time trying to decide whether to leave the room or stay in each day!

The Inn is about a block off Main Street, so no traffic noise, and just a brief walk to restaurants, shops and galleries.

Terry had some great recommendations for hikes in the area -- definitely looking forward to going back to try them out, and stay at the Rose Mill Inn again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We're glad we could show you a good time, Theresa! A relaxing time and happy memories are what we strive to provide, and it was our pleasure making sure your visit was nothing less than perfect. Thanks for your support. Next time you have another whim to visit Half Moon Bay, we'd love to have you again! (And the garden will be waiting, beautiful as ever.)

Warm regards,
Terry & Eve, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night of our honeymoon in Half Moon Bay and WOW we were glad we did! The innkeepers let us check in early and we immediately took a nap to recover from traveling down the coast. Service was fantastic...every detail was considered, from the complimentary drinks in the room to the chocolate chip cookies, the evening fruit and cheese tray, books of DVDs to choose from, private use of the hot tub, breakfast brought to your room if you prefer, and on and on. We reserved the smallest room on the property to cut costs, but it was a lovely space. The only slight problem was trying to figure out where to put the luggage. One of the bags ended up in the bathroom, which was very large. We had a private door leading to the back patio and hot tub, which was lit up and landscaped beautifully. We would love to return to Half Moon Bay in the future, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
It’s very gratifying to offer our guests such relaxing getaways, and we’re so glad we could do the same for you! Of course, it’s easy to unwind with our beautiful views and luxurious hot tub. Thank you for taking the time to sing our praises, Jennifer. We would love to welcome you back soon!

Warmly,
Terry Baldwin, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Although we live only a few miles away, driving from sunny Belmont to foggy HMB, we escape to a whole different world and climate. Our stay at the Mill Rose Inn B&B was relaxing, quiet and thoroughly enjoyable. All amenities included...decanters of sherry and brandy on the antique desk, beer, wine and water in the frig, wi-fi, cookies, cake,cheese and coffee available in the dining room all day long. Beautiful hot tub surrounded by plants and flowers in a gazebo setting. Amazingly delicious breakfasts! Terry, the host, very friendly. Abundant flowers in the garden give the feeling you are in the English countryside when Main street is only 2 blocks away for strolling. We brought our bikes to pedal along the coast trail which leads to Princeton-by-the-Sea, home of Maverick's surfing mecca, and yummy seafood at Barbara's Fishtrap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosalieBelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much. We look forward to seeing you again.
Terry and Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Mill Rose is beautiful. I have never seen so many flowers.
The hosts are friendly and the food was 100% Gourmet.
All the amenities included.
Quiet but not dull.
Excellent location off Main Street.

Room Tip: Take a Suite, they are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Channing D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your wonderfully sweet review, Channing! We strive for every guest to feel welcomed, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. You’ll be happy to know that the flowers are still blooming and beautiful since your stay. Next time you need a quiet weekend away, we hope you choose to see us again — we’d love to see you!

Terry and Eve, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is an extraordinary inn.
Absolutely beautiful - - the design, the furnishings, the gardens, the details. Everything you see and feel and smell reflects the owners' exquisite taste. The beds, the rooms, the setting could not be more comfortable. Everything is immaculate - I've never seen such attention to detail; even the housekeepers are more rigorous and attentive than others.
The inn has an enormous selection of wonderful, hard-to-find DVDs.
Our room was quiet and romantic and absolutely wonderful.
Terry and Eve could not be more generous and helpful. Refreshments are available all day and evening, including delicious and imaginative home-baked cakes and cookies.
The inn is a two-minute walk from stores and restaurants, including at least one terrific restaurant with excellent food at a great value -- and three bookstores!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoddingOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for the compliments, NoddingOnion! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to make sure that your time here in Half Moon Bay was memorable. When you visit again, we'd love to welcome you back!

Warmly,
Terry and Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had the least expensive suite at the Mill Rose Inn which is in the main house so you do hear people arriving to check in which wasn't really a problem. It was quite nice albeit jam packed with furniture. The queen size bed was comfy, the amenities plentiful and complimentary, the private (by reservation) hot tub relaxing, the breakfasts delicious and satisfying, easy street parking, and an easy walk to the village of Half Moon Bay shops and restaurants make this a great place to stay. The gardens are also spectacular. The place is VERY over the top in terms of the decor, but that is to be expected with the Inn's theme. The owners have large poodles on the premises which may be a concern to dog haters.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TVRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbterry, Owner at Mill Rose Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We appreciate your kind review, TVRDH! Glad you enjoyed your stay and made good use of the hot tub. We pride ourselves on keeping our garden a welcoming space, so we're always happy when guests enjoy it as much as we do. Next time you're back at Half Moon Bay, we'd love to host you again!

Terry and Eve, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
3.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
2.6 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Rose Inn

Property: Mill Rose Inn
Address: 615 Mill Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mill Rose Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Rose Inn invites you to spend a night or weekend in the comfortable luxury of an English country garden by the sea. All the conveniences of a world class hotel, including free WiFi, and the charm and gracious services of a small country inn are beautifully combined here in this AAA Four Diamond award-winning inn. We are a great romantic getaway destination as well as wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mill Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Rose Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing