We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy meal after walking on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Shea

Chez Shea
Ranked #14 of 97 Restaurants in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Healthy meal after walking on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

After a short hike on the beach, we stopped at this small but wonderful restaurant on Main Street. Chez Shea is popular with tourists and locals alike. The menu leans toward the "healthy" side, with dishes ranging from Mexican to Middle Eastern - I had the chicken enchiladas which were excellent. Atmosphere is small town café, but the variety and quality of the dishes will impress you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2009Benjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    54
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monte Rio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This little touched away eatery is excellent. I love the exotic ethnic cuisine offered. Usually, I go for
The curry no matter where I am, but last night I opted for something milder, the chicken with mashed potatoes and, wait I'm drooling just remembering, with mushroom gravy. Yum yum yum! The pumpkin curry soup, there I DID have curry! Was a mild curry and light, a great start to the meal. This is a place I'll return to when I'm on the coast.

Helpful?
Thank bearstarkorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Eclectic Cuisine in Half Moon Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great little find of a restaurant that is more like a cafe with a wide variety of food from Mexican to Middle Eastern. Top pick for a lunch spot in the downtown main street of Half Moon Bay

Location: Main Street of historic Half Moon Bay.

Food: Excellent. Choice of everything from middle eastern, to american, to mexican. Fish tacos were great.

Atmosphere: Unfortunately it doesn't match the food quality, and is a bit small with a tiny backyard patio.

Service: Average. You order yourself at the counter,and not much table service. A bit disappointing.

Value: Reasonable for the quality.

Occasions: Lunch before an outing in Half Moon Bay

In summary nice little find of a restaurant if you want some worldly selections and you happen to be spending the day in Half Moon Bay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redpagoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“International organic extravaganza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This was a reccomendation from our inn keeper and several locals at a farmer' s market...winner! This is a counter service/ table service kinda place but don't let that detract you. The cuisine is authentic African, Mexican, Irish, The Middle East, European and US comfort food. The kitchen was hopping and the food was served hot and fast. We had an heirloom tomato salad with an orange vinaigrette and a brilliantly composed Wagu burger and frites. They are open for breakfast lunch and dinner and located in the heart of main street. They serve several beers and a selection of wines as well. We ate on the back patio which was cozy and private. Don't pass this one up, actually we will probably dine there again during our visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
217 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A real find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We checked out the places reviewed on tripadvisor and they looked ok but we were taken by the variety on this menu. We were not disappointed! The corn chowder was fabulous, the beet sald very good and the vegetable and goats cheese burrito amazing.
The staff were friendly and helpful. We will most certainly be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank candirisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Shea also viewed

Half Moon Bay, CA
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Chez Shea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing