We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find for a Light Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Shea

Chez Shea
Ranked #15 of 97 Restaurants in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Find for a Light Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Happened upon Chez Shea while looking for a quick, light lunch and was happily surprised by their delicious menu. My wife and I split the ample vegetable and goat cheese wrap with chips and salsa and it was just the right amount of food. The Mexican specialties look wonderful, so I can't wait to go back when we are hungrier!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoWheelExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    52
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sf bay area
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“very good and very creative food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Crowded restaurant for a Wednesday's evening, all the tables were gone by 7 pm.
The international menu was very interesting, unfortunately, the only fish available was farmed, so I opted for the chicken enchilada. I haven't had such a good enchilada since Puerto Vallarta a couple of years back.
The other people in our group had Poule' roti, and a vegeterean dish, both were very good and yummy.
Attentive service amid the chaos of a crowded restaurant with one server was very admirable.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drT&3ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
344 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Creative Menu, Inexpensive, But May be Hard to Get A Table”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

The "hook" of Chez Shea is that the menu features dishes from different countries around the world. It is owned by the folks who own Cafe Gibralter. The place is tiny, and sometimes people just sit at the tables and sip wine (which must drive management crazy.) There is no ambience and only one guy works in the open kitchen.

But I must admit that the food is well above average: the concept works. My wife and I have sampled the calamari (amazingly fresh), schwarma platter, fish & chips, paella, bobtie, and chile rellenos and it all worked. Tasty, well-thought-out, fresh and served with a smile. So if you are wandering Main Street and are looking for good, creative food at a great price -- and there is a table available -- try Chez Shea. My guess is that you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marfak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adana, Turkey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“For your Global Tastes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

First of all, my darling mother had "stumbled" across Chez Shea on one of her "just wandering around" trips [she's lived in San Jose for the past 3 years], and she was so excited to take me there with her on another of her excursions. With reason. Read on:

Indeed, you could say Chez Shea is one of those "hole in the wall" restaurants, but aren't they [almost] always the BeSt?!! CS certainly fits that "the BeSt" category.

You walk in, and you feel as if you've almost stepped back into a quirky South or Central American shop--just with 4-spot tables spread about the small-ish dining area. Oh, there IS dining outside in the back, if one desires. The atmosphere was fun; high ceilings [after all, this building dates from the early 1900s, at least!] with textured walls painted an almost Grey-Poupon Mustard yellow. One wall has a fabulous 4'X5' photograph of a darling latina selling marigolds from her rickety wheel-barrow. You order from the mid-center counter, reading either from the wall menu or one you can peruse as you hold it.

Now for the food! The Creamed Artichoke Soup was delicious [seasonal], and the Chile Relleno with queso blanco was covered with a tasty spicy tomato broth that was topped with crema fresca. Simply delicious! The Falafel too, was outstanding -- the patty was typical ground chick peas with tzatziki and red-bell pepper spread that added exquisite flavor. All these items were more than enough--shared everything with my mom.

As we are vegetarian, we were pleased with our menu choices--you will love your visit there no matter what food preferences you have!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lledds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a storefront joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

High-quality, locavore ingredients. Great for a crisp, in-and-out lunch. Imaginative "world-music" menu. Zero atmosphere, but it's all about the food. Very reasonable prices. Friendly. Fun. Would go back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Shea also viewed

Half Moon Bay, CA
Half Moon Bay, CA
 
Half Moon Bay, CA
 
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Chez Shea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing