We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great place”

Princeton Seafood Co.
Ranked #59 of 97 Restaurants in Half Moon Bay
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Half Moon Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
185 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“This is a great place”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

While not as attractive as other seafood places, everything here is great. Their chowder is THE BEST, their fried seafood is great, and also don't forget in the back you have the best fish monger in town. The owner is a local and supports the community big time too.

Drive past the idiot tourists paying high retail for fish at Half Moon Bay Seafood and by Sam's Chowder House for horrible service and mid-range chowder and head into Princeton!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Badq45t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local Kind of Place Great Food Families welcome”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is one of those places you might be inclined to walk by and go to a more popular or tourist type place. In fact my family had done that several times even though we live in the area. We are very happy that we tried it out. The hearty family food is so fresh and sizes great. We had Calamari, Steak Sandwich, Crab Sandwich and kids meal. All were fantastic! They also have a variety of local fish and clam chowder. The service is genuine by locals not fancy waiters. Plenty of parking and can walk around pier and shopping so it is great. With a family I would avoid the "big deal" overcrowded, overpriced and marginal food places and go to Princeton. The total bills may not be cheap but for the value it is great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maybe the specials are better”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our server neglected to tell us about the specials; I spotted them on the way out of the restaurant, and wished I'd ordered one. We'd ordered off the regular menu: half a dozen oysters as an appetizer, grilled rockfish with vegetables and red potatoes for my companion, and a grilled rockfish sandwich with sweet potato fries for me. The oysters were okay, but nothing special. We liked the butter grilled oysters better than the 'zesty' ones, which are just topped with a dab of tomatoey, generic-tasting cocktail sauce. My partner said his grilled fish and vegetables were better after he doused them with lemon, salt, and pepper; apparently they weren't particularly seasoned. I guess my sandwich was better than that -- there wasn't anything wrong with it -- grilled fish, a slice of tomato, some iceberg lettuce, and a toasted bun. I wasn't impressed. With fresh fish coming off the ocean at the pier right out the door, I was frankly expecting something special. And maybe the 'specials' are that.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonInNv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Top for couples and families”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

When you arrive it looks like a very simple and familiar place, just in front of the harbour. The service was lovely, it was really quite, not many people eating. We ate two huge plates of calamari and prawns deep-fried, everything was so tasty and the fish was fresh from the same day. We just spent 16$ per person and it was great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Supersaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch date”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were really hungry when we arrived after some wine tasting and walks on the beach. The clam chowder in a bread bowl was tasty! The calamari was tasty and not overly crispy. The oyster on 1/2 shell were ok but too many oyster shell chips. Overly priced for the quantity and quality.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank luvzshooz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princeton Seafood Co. also viewed

 

Been to Princeton Seafood Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing