We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but make a reservation ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Moon Bay Brewing Company

Half Moon Bay Brewing Company
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy. 1
Description: Half Moon Bay Brewing Company is a warm oceanfront restaurant and brew pub at Pillar Point Harbor in Princeton-by-the-Sea Calif., four miles north of Half Moon Bay and 30 miles south of San Francisco.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food but make a reservation ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

The food here is good! The only thing is that i had to drink a beer out of a plastic glass! If you are planning to go here in the weekend make sure you have a reservation or you'll have to wait for about half an hour!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    274
    117
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Promising, but not”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

New owners since last time we visited; therefore, thought we'd give it another try. The menu, overall, seemed better; however, food disappointed. had to send a salad back because it was drenched in balsamic dressing. Perhaps the chef looked away while pouring it on? The flank steak at $21 came with french fries only vs veggies & mashed potatoes or similar, A rather inexspensive way to serve the steak, we thought.
Also, entered restaurant at 8:20PM and although the kitchen did not close until 9:00PM, the hostess seemed almost reluctant to seat us making the point the ktichen closed at 9:00PM. Do you want the business or not? THe waitress seemed to believe there was no problem ordering at that time and stated we could stay past 9:00PM as long as the food was ordered by 9:00PM. A much better response, but the coordination/communication between staff needs to be uniform.
Would NOT go again when next in Half Moon Bay.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always fun for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We go for the beer, the food and the music. As usual, not disappointed. We were there for several hours, enjoying the band. We have also enjoyed other times there, often enjoying Giants games on tv while there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chip EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

While visiting this beautiful area, we stopped at this great place. Fish and chips were outstanding (and we are picky about our fish and chips). They had a good beer selection too. Very nice seating area outside with several fire pits to keep warm.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Paying for the water view and pet friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

My and I went here for lunch yesterday afternoon august 2nd. We have been here a few times and as the saying goes quit while you're ahead. The waitress was rude and she was in charge of way too many tables so she had no time but to ask the usual is everything okay here ?
The food is over priced , chicken sandwich and fries for 15 bucks ,I get it it's half moon bay but when it tasted like it had just been thawed out and thrown on the fryer then I have a small problem.
I had to ask to have the portable heater turned on, had to ask for water for our small cocker spaniel plus they serve you beer in cheap plastic cups that gets warm before you're hallway finished drinking it.i get it it's outside and cat have glass but come on we are all adults and aren't going to break the glass .my wife had a shrimp salad with thousand island which was horrible and overpriced,they have no atmosphere in the afternoon ,at least play some nice Sinatra or dean Martin music and let everyone enjoy the afternoon.i agree with other reviews great place at happy hour for a few appetizers and listen to the live bands but other than that I will never go back to this place for a sit down lunch whether they take let's or not ,it was a 60 dollar ripoff plus all the employees were standing around at the server station yapping and they could care less about the customers. Go at night when the band starts playing if you are lucky enough to be there when they have live music,have a few appetizers or warm local beers and get out.I,ve been here 4 times and this is the final time.also the outdoor tables are cheap plastic that weren't level and rocked back and forth.i,m not a big review writer but needed to share this one with everyone.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jjean66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Bay Brewing Company also viewed

 
Half Moon Bay, CA
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Half Moon Bay Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing