We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tunnel Vision” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Moon Bay Brewing Company

Half Moon Bay Brewing Company
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy. 1
Description: Half Moon Bay Brewing Company is a warm oceanfront restaurant and brew pub at Pillar Point Harbor in Princeton-by-the-Sea Calif., four miles north of Half Moon Bay and 30 miles south of San Francisco.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Tunnel Vision”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I visited this place probably 5 times during a 2 week business trip cycle. The outside patio and bar are both great places to unwind and drink a couple pints with dinner. The food is good enough, although not quite as gourmet as some diners might desire. The beer is excellent and the service was top notch. I just wish they stayed open later than 9.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheConjuras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    274
    117
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fremont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Relaxed Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Excellent selection of beers. Nice outdoor seatng with heaters and/or shade unbrellas. Enjoyed our drinks and lunch there. Many locals with their dogs and families.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great View & Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were headed home to Santa Cruz from Sacramento and decided to detour through Half Moon Bay. This sounded like a good place to try for lunch and we are so happy we stopped. The weather was a bit breezy but we were still able to enjoy sitting outside because of the patio was glassed in.

We chose to sit at the bar like tables because we could enjoy the happy hour prices. This just meant that we had to go up to the bar to order our food/drinks, but the food was still delivered to us. No biggie at all. Happy Hour was from 11:30-6pm Mon-Fri.

I am Vegan, my husband is not. We ordered the Maverick's Hummus to start. It was very tasty with just the right amount of spiciness. We saw some salads delivered at a table next to us and they were HUGE! We were still hungry but not starving so we decided on two more appetizers.

I ordered the Artichoke Hearts (Beer Battered & fried) and my husband ordered the Brat Pops. Of the two, mine were the clear winner. OMG...they were SO good. They reminded both us of of the best "Fish & Chips" we had ever had, without the fishy taste. The Beer Batter was perfectly cooked, light and airy and the texture of the artichoke reminded us both of fish. I ordered a side of the (homemade) Honey Lime Vinaigrette to dip them in and my husband liked that sauce better than the Bleu Cheese they came with.

We have decided the next time he is in the mood for "Fish & Chips" we are driving up to HMB to this restaurant for their Artichoke Hearts!!

We had a great experience. The food came out quickly, it was hot and fresh. The server was friendly and made sure we had what we needed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silt, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent Food and Great Views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in on our way to Monterey for dinner. The atmosphere was fun, especially the patio area. The beer was alright, nothing that would knock your socks off. We get spoiled with craft beer selection in Colorado. As for the food, it was pretty solid. My wife ordered the beer steamed prawns, which had great flavor, but she did like having to shell them. The fish and chips was plentiful, but lacked flavor. Overall, it was a nice place to stop, but a little pricey for food.

Helpful?
Thank Darthharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Cant go wrong with the view. great Coastal/Pub vibe. Good beer. Good food. But the vibe... that what we remember. Awesome.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chase41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Bay Brewing Company also viewed

 
Half Moon Bay, CA
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Half Moon Bay Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing