We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude hostile management”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Point RV Park
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rude hostile management”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The park is nice, the management is sub-par. The manager gets vindictive if questioned about his strict rules. It was raining and a member of our group put up a canopy at their site to stay dry. The maniac manager very rudely, barged into our site while we're eating dinner and told us to take it down. "It's the rules". He's completely unreasonable and wouldn't open up the group meeting room for us. The electrical power is unreliable and not maintained very well.

Some sites are unusable and have no power. The manager threatened to tow away cars parked at these unusable sites.

The manager complained about our Home Depot fire pit saying it's a fire hazard, even in the rain. The manager is a control freak who can only tolerate elderly people who stay in their RV's all day long and don't come out.

The manager threatened one of our group members saying, "He will remember and never allow them to return".

Our group has stayed there for years, but we won't return and will advise others to stay away from Pelican Point.

Happy Trails,
Bill

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wild B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    6
    5
    30
See reviews for
17
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, CA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I really enjoyed our stay over New Years and had no problems. The location is ideal; within walking distance of beach and trails. The town of Half Moon Bay is just down the street. The sites are close together, but I don't know of any private campground with hookups that isn't. The views are spectacular; try to get the upper rows. It is not kid friendly. You must keep your dog on a leash and can't let him howl at your site while you are out sightseeing. They do not make exceptions of any kind. They do "escort" you to the site because they are close together and you can back up off the end. Just ignore the manager. If he is a control freak, hostile, and obnoxious, what do you care? He's not staying with you. We will absolutely be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FolsomGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We book our trip for Thanksgiving well in advance for 8 people. When the reservation was made, it was stated there would be 8 of us. We were told that would be okay. When we arrived, they decided that we could only have 6 on the sight. After some discussion with the woman at the desk, she said we could pay an additional site cost for the 2 other people and having 8 on the site would be okay. We came back to pay the additional fee and she changed her mind. We ended up with 2 people stranded and forced to find a hotel for them over a holiday weekend! The management staff is extremely rude in addition to very stringent rules - check in before 8pm no exceptions, no fire pits, and they will follow you to your site to make sure your vehicle doesn't get close the grass when you are parking your RV. The only plus is that it is near the beach and allows pets. The State camping site is a much better option.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank KesaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Half Moon Bay hotels

Elk Grove, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Within 30 minutes of pulling in we realized the managers and camp hosts were completely hostile, rude and psycho. Small spaces, no firepits, expensive sites. Not worth it- we will not be back - EVER.

Room Tip: Small cramp spaces. Its like camping in a mall parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Mika71mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Park was immaculate! Quiet, relaxing trip!
Close to the beach. Nice hiking trails.
We will go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PamShor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The staff welcomed us and were very helpful. The views of the ocean were awesome. There were plenty of places to walk. Very quiet and clean. We will certainly return. If a big storm had not come up we would of stayed two more days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrst1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We spent two day at Pelican Point RV Park. The park is well maintained and clean. People working there were polite and helpful. The best park about Pelican Point is it's location: just steps from the beach, an amazing walking/bike trail, and incredible golf course. Because it's off the main drag, there is no traffic noise. When we called for reservations, we were told that it would be best to arrive after 1:00 pm to allow time for the weekend crowd to checkout. That's okay by me because when I am the one enjoying time on the beach or golfing or whatever, I know that I have some extra time before checkout. I am sure that all of things happened in the previous reviews but it seems that those reviews have been listened to. I would strongly advise you not to miss out on a great spot on Half Moon Bay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
562 reviews
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
922 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
4.7 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Point RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Point RV Park

Property: Pelican Point RV Park
Address: 1001 Miramontes Point Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-2399
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Half Moon Bay
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Pelican Point Rv Park Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing