We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Rethink your stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Bay Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Half Moon Bay Inn
Save
You added Half Moon Bay Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Auburn, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rethink your stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Rethink your stay here! Myself and three girlfriends stayed for two nights and between the restaurant below the Inn and HMB Inn we spent over $1500!!!!! We had one peaceful lovely evening to be followed by arrogant, blatant and completely unprofessional night provided by the restaurant below the Inn called "It's Italia" They had a party in the back patio area attended by both the restaurant and the HMB Inn employees. Being in the customer service industry both "owners" did not respect or consider the PAYING guests or their surrounding neighbors (the town is multi purpose with housing only yards away) the party on the back patio of the restaurant included live music which included speakers, amplifiers and of course, microphones set up right next to the wall of one of our rooms. The party went on and on…..until we, as PAYING guests, at the Inn called the SHERIFF to report the noise level of the "subdued" party (owners of the HMB Inn's words, not ours) as it continued up until 11pm……really folks, not one person from either the Inn or the restaurant could have the foresight to know that 11am is too late to be playing music at that level on a SUNDAY night, as PAYING guests, WE had to call the sheriffs in to stop and shut down the music …….wow,
how unprofessional of both owners of the HMB Inn and It's Italia. When we voiced our concerns the next day, we where told that it was their polices to always notify the guests of such events so you could move to a quieter room…..we where never notified or never offer to be moved. Upon a follow up on the situation almost week later and NO word from the owners of HMB Inn, WE had to contact the owners for a follow up, HER suggestion for future stays in Half Moon Bay is to stay somewhere else……...are you kidding me, that is your solution!! The just end was they sent us a gift certificate for one night stay during the week with NO apology or note in the certificate….wake up call HMB Inn, you need to review your customer service strategies. I would be ashamed to treat someone who dumped that kind of money into my establishment and then treat them like s&*t. Shame on you and the restaurant for not providing customer service on any level.
I will send the gift certificate back so they can make ear plugs out of it for there future unfortunate guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbinn, Owner at Half Moon Bay Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
I'm so sorry your stay at the Half Moon Bay Inn was so negative. I was hoping that you would give us another opportunity to stay with us, using the gift certificate I sent you, on a more typical night in Half Moon Bay and not the weekend of the Christmas holiday party season. We take pride in providing excellent customer service to our guests and regret that we could not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    27
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
47
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Nice little Inn right in town. The rooms are nicely furnished and clean.
We stayed in the cottage suite.
The bed was very comfortable making it hard to get up and get going in the morning. I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They showed me and my small dog to our room. The room was very beautiful and comfortable. The room overlooked the main street, right above an Italian resturant. The noise was minimual and tolerated. I had a great time and an excellent stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingpurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

As mentioned in other reviews, this place is beautifully decorated, very vintage. Desk clerk was great, room was beautiful and clean (rugs need washed/cleaned ladies!!) Bed was comfy, nice linens, towels, bathroom was super clean. We rented the smaller room (over the restaurant vent fan and the outdoor patio of the restaurant) on a Tues night. Big mistake. Apparently, HMB was having a small heat wave, and the crowd in restaurant partied until 11:15 LOUDLY. We couldn't shut the windows because there is no AC. For another 30 minutes after the crowd left, the staff moved chairs, slung boxes around and closed up, continuing the noise. At 5:10AM (mind you, less than 6 hours later) the deliveries started, and it sounded like the staff were moving heavy furniture around as they prepped for the day. A nightmare even with the windows now closed.

We decided to stay another night, but asked for another room, and explained the sleepless night. I guess we expected some sort of consideration on the price - NOPE. We took a larger room away from the restaurant, but facing the street for another $50.00/night. Another big mistake. Non-stop big truck deliveries again at 5:15am on the main street in front. Windows closed, still loud. But at least the traffic died down around 10:00pm the night before.

Suggestions: don't get the smaller room (cheapest) unless you can sleep through anything (like vent fans, truck deliveries at 5:00 am, and loud drunks on the patio of the restaurant until 11:30 and the staff cleaning up 20-30 minutes afterwards). Don't get the rooms facing the street if your an early to bed -late to rise guest. Don't expect consideration financially if your not happy. Price is reasonable for the area. We ate in the restaurant underneath. It was ok, but pricey. Really didn't love any place we ate enough to suggest.

Room Tip: Stay away from the cheapest room, and rooms facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Only just down the coast from Pacifica but its a different planet. Pacifica is rough atound the edges and lacks any real quality eateries. HMB seems to have food style in buckets and the HMB " it's Italia" is the top of the pile. Above this joint is the HMB Inn, so be prepared to party with the crowd or be kept awake by them anyway. It all falls flat at about 11 so it's pretty tame . the rooms are excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We're still on our first night, so it's early to give a review...
We took the Piccolo room (tiny) but for a night or 2 it's fine. This is an old hotel and it only has a few rooms. No elevator, but only 2 floors. Perfect location, and very comfy. Very into making you feel like you can walk down the hall for a cup of coffee or tea and a new magazine to peruse.

Give this place a try!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A sweet place to stay in downtown Half Moon Bay- a small coastal town-20 miles south of San Francisco. The rooms are all restored from a former dive hotel - great touches, such as nice robes out to little deck equipped with adirondack chairs and an ice bucket. Great beds and linens. Complimentary glass of wine in the evening. Hotel is adjacent to It's Italia restaurant. Perhaps would be noisey on a weekend. Many different room styles to choose from.
We stayed our last night in town before moving Phoenix. We will stay again when we visit friends and family.

Room Tip: Perhaps away from the restaurant. We stayed on a Monday night-it was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Mormad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Inn

Property: Half Moon Bay Inn
Address: 401 Main St, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1749
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent, award-winning boutique inn was built in 1932 and recently renovated to preserve its Spanish Revival Architecture. Our gorgeous and luxurious rooms have an old world charm, designed with your comfort in mind. Centrally located in the heart of downtown Half Moon Bay, you’re just a stroll away from some of the best restaurants and shops. This fantastical and luscious location is like a little bit of Europe in downtown Half Moon Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing