We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Half Moon Bay- oasis in the desert” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Moon Bay Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Half Moon Bay Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Buderim, Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Half Moon Bay- oasis in the desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Only just down the coast from Pacifica but its a different planet. Pacifica is rough atound the edges and lacks any real quality eateries. HMB seems to have food style in buckets and the HMB " it's Italia" is the top of the pile. Above this joint is the HMB Inn, so be prepared to party with the crowd or be kept awake by them anyway. It all falls flat at about 11 so it's pretty tame . the rooms are excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    28
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
49
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SW Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We're still on our first night, so it's early to give a review...
We took the Piccolo room (tiny) but for a night or 2 it's fine. This is an old hotel and it only has a few rooms. No elevator, but only 2 floors. Perfect location, and very comfy. Very into making you feel like you can walk down the hall for a cup of coffee or tea and a new magazine to peruse.

Give this place a try!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

A sweet place to stay in downtown Half Moon Bay- a small coastal town-20 miles south of San Francisco. The rooms are all restored from a former dive hotel - great touches, such as nice robes out to little deck equipped with adirondack chairs and an ice bucket. Great beds and linens. Complimentary glass of wine in the evening. Hotel is adjacent to It's Italia restaurant. Perhaps would be noisey on a weekend. Many different room styles to choose from.
We stayed our last night in town before moving Phoenix. We will stay again when we visit friends and family.

Room Tip: Perhaps away from the restaurant. We stayed on a Monday night-it was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Mormad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

The first thing I noticed was the way it smelled -- great! Spur of the moment trip; lucky that we'd stayed here years ago and it is still in business. Arrived after 10 PM without reservations and was graciously welcomed. Offered the choice of three rooms it became clear that quiet was more important to us than size of room or bed, so we had an interior room with an atrium-like patio. This old building already has a lot of character, but the eclectic, tasteful, and functional furnishings make it completely pleasant. Linens, soaps, etc. all very nice for someone who appreciates the sensual. And it was very clean and tidy. Love this place! Yes, there is a bit of noise from the ventilation, but we closed our bathroom door and that solved the problem. Good for those who like small towns and character accommodations.

Room Tip: Building sits on the corner of a block, so smaller town street noise from those rooms. Interior roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is a lovely and very stylish hotel. It's charming, warm and cozy. I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was gracious and welcoming. The only complaint I would have is that my room was quiet small. With my luggage in the room, it was very tight to walk around. There were larger rooms that I peaked into while they were being cleaned. There seemed to be plenty of available larger rooms, and I wondered why they had not upgraded me to a slightly larger room since they had the space. I was there on a slow Monday night. Just for the management's consideration I would say that if you have the space, upgrade your guests when possible. I might not return to this hotel because of the small room, whereas if they had upgraded me to a larger, more comfortable room, I would definitely have returned. I was only there for one night, and although, I enjoyed my experience, I don't think I could have been comfortable in such a tiny room for more than one night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GriffinCrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich/Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Half Moon Bay Inn is a nicely decorated hotel with comfortable rooms. Upon arrival we noticed a constant noise (vent fan) from the restaurant below and when we asked about it, we were offered to stay in another room. We decided to change to the room next door which has a nice small outdoor deck. Although the hotel had a lot of vacant rooms that night, we had to pay extra, no mention of a free upgrade, even though we noticed too late that the noise was also audible in the other room. All in all, with the coffee maker, flatscreen tv and great wifi it was a nice stay, but we've experienced much better value at other places.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is the sort of place you always dreamed of opening, if you only had the money and style. Dazzling decor and use of the old building space. Feels Tuscan.

Great hosts. Quirky building. Fantastic linens.

This is not on the beach, nor does it have an ocean view, but Half Moon Bay has plenty of coastline to look at all day long and this is right in the best part of downtown. Stay here and eat lunch at the Ritz, and save a few hundred.

Only complaint is the noise, but that goes with the territory of being in the middle of downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dean-Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mill Rose Inn
Mill Rose Inn
#3 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastside Inn
Coastside Inn
#7 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Inn

Property: Half Moon Bay Inn
Address: 401 Main St, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1749
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent, award-winning boutique inn was built in 1932 and recently renovated to preserve its Spanish Revival Architecture. Our gorgeous and luxurious rooms have an old world charm, designed with your comfort in mind. Centrally located in the heart of downtown Half Moon Bay, you’re just a stroll away from some of the best restaurants and shops. This fantastical and luscious location is like a little bit of Europe in downtown Half Moon Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing