We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice patio, fine coffee, and good desserts”

Moonside Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Bakeries in Half Moon Bay
Cuisines: Pizza, Central European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are located in downtown Half Moon Bay and serve a full-line bakery with european style patries, breads, pies, cakes, desserts and wedding cakes. We also have a delicious menu for a fresh breakfast and lunch includes wood-fired pizza, salads and home-made sandwiches are served in a fast-casual atmosphere on real dishes. there is plenty of seating inside and out and take-out is available.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice patio, fine coffee, and good desserts”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was a great place to go for a light lunch, breakfast, or dessert. Everything looked fresh, it was bustling with locals and tourists alike, and the coffee was high quality. I ate a traditional cupcake which was tasty. The patio is a nice spot to people watch, read, or work on your computer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthTDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    51
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Treat time!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We love stopping in here for a pastry and italian soda. We usually get, what we call, Elephant Ears! Flaky, crunchy, cinnamony, yummy! Great outdoor seating!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scrappette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“pizza and cookies”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Breakfast pizza sounded strange but turned out to be real good. We also really like the Trail Mix cookies although they don't make them everyday.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“It's Fine but There are Other Choices on the Street”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We sat outside and had sandwiches at the Moonside recently. The sandwiches were okay - my salmon sandwich tasted little of salmon and had the consistency of soggy tuna. The potato salad on the side was good as were the cold Sierra Nevada Pale Ales on tap. Sitting outside on this sunny day was pleasant and enjoyable. On a street lined with restaurants, I would recommend trying others before heading to Moonside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NeroNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Service slow, atmosphere mediocre”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The place looked cute on the outside and seemed to be popular at lunch. We ordered at the counter and went outside to find a table. We found a table that had not been cleared with birds eating remaining food on dirty plates. Inside seating was inside an atrium area with a pretty painting. Service was EXTREMELY slow for sandwiches. Each one of our items arrived at different times. We waited another 15-20 minutes before the 3rd and last sandwich arrived. Sandwiches averaged around $10 and were just okay. The chicken curry and apple was probably the best. The sourdough bread was sliced thinly. Birds found their way into the inside area as well as flies. Recommendation would be to order baked goods like cookies and cupcakes "to go."

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamtravelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonside Bakery and Cafe also viewed

 
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Moonside Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing