We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an institution!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miramar Beach Restaurant and Bar

Miramar Beach Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Miramar Beach Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Magellan
Transit: Highway 1 and Medio
Description: The Historic Miramar Beach Restaurant & Bar has a long and colorful history going back more than 70 years. It was originally designed and built as a Prohibition speakeasy to serve the liquor smuggled into the Bay Area through a drop off point on Miramar Beach. We have kept the historical ambiance and decor of the 1920s including an incomparable collection of photos from the era. With only a frontage road between us and the beautiful Pacific Ocean, we have the number one view and sunset on the Coast side.
Berthoud, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's an institution!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Miramar is a must-go when I go home to Half Moon Bay... honestly, it's the first place I go. It can get crowded so I plan and go when it isn't so busy. The food is good, but the atmosphere, the beach, the view is the best. Now it is my kids must-go place too! They still talk about it and how much they can't wait to go back. Love you, Miramar!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Babybug1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    164
    77
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great patio dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We ate on the patio which is fabulous. There's a fire pit and couches, plexiglass to curb the breeze, and space heaters for the cool evenings. Service was very good. Sea bass nighly special was excellent. Looks like a place that the locals frequent as well as tourists, always a good sign. Check them out!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DallasWilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood while watching Risso's dolphins feeding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Miramar is located right on the shoreline only a few feet from the Bay. While we enjoyed a delicious meal (I had the locally caught white sea bass special) we watched in amazement as a small pod of Risso's dolphins herded a school of baitfish up against the beach and enjoyed their own meal in full view of us all.

Great ambience, excellent food, reasonably priced. What's not to like?

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dunndeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif
Level Contributor
223 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good food and spectacular views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Had lunch with 3 friends and each of our sandwiches were pretty good. Lobster meat in the lobster roll tasted like it was a day or so old but it was okay. Crab Melt looked and tasted delicious. The seafood chowder was excellent. It is rich so a cup was more than enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigpenny34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our local gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I eat here often - it is a local gem that caters to the tourists on the weekends and the locals during the week - it's a "Cheers" kind of place - where everyone knows your name. Great views of the ocean, and the sound of the waves crashing when you step out of the car, always reminds you that you are in paradise. Many a night you can watch the dolphins put on a show as you dine.

The food is OK - not really outstanding, but palatable nonetheless. Ask what the fresh fish is as they can practically get it off the boats coming in daily from the nearby harbor. Great place to also watch the Giants games when they are playing. Friendly staff. Piano music is great and relaxing yet lively.

My recommendation: enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DogMomKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miramar Beach Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Miramar Beach Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing