We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but even better view!”

Miramar Beach Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Miramar Beach Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Magellan
Transit: Highway 1 and Medio
Description: The Historic Miramar Beach Restaurant & Bar has a long and colorful history going back more than 70 years. It was originally designed and built as a Prohibition speakeasy to serve the liquor smuggled into the Bay Area through a drop off point on Miramar Beach. We have kept the historical ambiance and decor of the 1920s including an incomparable collection of photos from the era. With only a frontage road between us and the beautiful Pacific Ocean, we have the number one view and sunset on the Coast side.
Mountain View, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food but even better view!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food is very good with an emphases on seafood. The view is wonderful due to the location overlooking Miramar Beach. Sunsets are beautiful from either inside the restaurant or from the heated outdoor patio. We had a late lunch outside with a cold beverage. Very nice. Lots of history on site because the building was a speakeasy and brothel in the 1930s. There is also a nice bar on the inside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ujones_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    182
    83
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“View was fantastic, service not as much”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am never going to complain about a life where I can eat seafood and look at the ocean, so if I gripe about the service at this restaurant, take that into consideration. This place has a good variety of food options. The margarita was good, but I had to ask for it 3 or 4 times. Perhaps they were understaffed. The seafood cocktail was just okay, the sauce was not my favorite but my friend loved it. I shared a clam steamer pate which was delicious. It was a fun place to walk on the beach afterward, and it wasn't too expensive. Overall, I would definitely go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good solid food and a great view”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My spouse and I live within twenty miles of the restaurant and have visited it several times. It has good reliable food, fish, seafood and otherwise with good salads and soups. The service is attentive and good. A bank of tables has a view of the ocean and it can be a beautiful view indeed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pacdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Pretentious and overrated”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Visited this restaurant for dinner during a multiple day visit to Half Moon Bay. The main asset of this restaurant is its location just by the sea. The parking situation is not good and half their sites are taken by the valet service. The food is rather a pedestrian selection of standard American fare without much imagination, somewhat disappointing for a seaside setting. The clam chowder was not as good as we had had for lunch at a dive by the harbor but a twice the price.Our selection of Coquille St. Jacques was a total bust any relation of the concoction they served from the presentation to the dry/overcooked scallops to a real version of this dish is purely fictional. The bread pudding was already a pre-prepared square cutout of a what must have been a tray of this dessert. The service was average with the exception of a very gracious hostess. Overall the sunset watch is not worth the price, Can get the same at Sam's Chowder House with better food and friendlier service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martinezcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We had such a great time”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Starting with the sun going down outside the window, drinking champagne, to a lovely beef meal -- such a wonderful time. Ask for Max the waiter, and ask him to sing you a song from Cabaret! He's the best. The wine list is inexpensive and has a great selection.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJWayne18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miramar Beach Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Half Moon Bay, CA
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Miramar Beach Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing