We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fresh fish in this beautiful coastal location”
Review of Barbara's Fishtrap

Barbara's Fishtrap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Florida USA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh fish in this beautiful coastal location”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

With a view of the boats in the harbor at Pillar Point in Half Moon Bay, this is a very casual place where you can feast on delicious fresh fish. The fish and chips is amazing with a light crunchy batter and sweet tasting fish. The pacific halibut was a bit expensive for lunch ($23) but so delicious it was worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    184
    78
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved their chowder and bread bowl best!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our first meal in Half Moon Bay and the start of our San Francisco trip was at Barbara's Fishtrap. We happened upon it by chance and settled in at this casual establishment right on the ocean for a quick bite to eat after a long day of traveling from the East coast. We started with the calamari and cold brew (both great!) and followed it with the traditional clam chowder in a bread bowl. The chowder had little (if any) cream - just a delicious blend of potatoe, celery and who knows what else secret ingredients. Then the sour dough bowl - absolutely wonderful. Little did we know we would search San Fran, only to never find a bread bowl/chowder combo anywhere near as good! In fact, we came back to the Fishtrap for our last meal in California and enjoyed it just as much the second time around.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Seafood place”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Little hole in the wall, but the food is absolutely amazing. You can wait to sit in the restaurant (a very long line), or you can get take out from their take out counter and be able to enjoy your food quickly. Lots of picnic tables outside with a great view. Note that they do not take credit card, so bring cash.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwin1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loved the giant prawns!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband ordered a breadbowl of clam chowder, I ordered the giant prawns and chips. Both were great! Very busy small restaurant, but worth the wait.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KSKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great local place with great food”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were glad we found this little gem. We really enjoyed the food and looking out over the water. The place was packed, but we didn't wait at all.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank reichspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbara's Fishtrap also viewed

 
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Barbara's Fishtrap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing