We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food for years”
Review of Barbara's Fishtrap

Barbara's Fishtrap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
362 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great Food for years”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We've been eating here for over 30 years - as other restaurants in the area come and go. If you want ambience, go to one of the other overpriced fish restaurants. They even have a senior fish and chips (but you don't have to be a senior) which is just the right amount of food for my husband and I. Always fresh, always good, always crowded - but that tells you how great it is. No credit cards.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon33191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    178
    72
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great location, daily special on beer. Not the place for a fancy meal but if you want some great fish and chips, this is the place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RajivT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Local Hangout”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Get here early as the small restaurant fills up quickly...better be hungry as everything that walked by our table was HUGE !! Crab cocktail was plentiful..

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always wonderful”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Each time we dine at Barbara's is a memorable meal with wonderful service and food. Chowder is tasty and satisfying, and fish & chips is consistently good. I got the the Dungeness crab sandwich this time and do not regret it--great roll and mild flavored crab meat that you can doll up with lots of condiments; lettuce, tomato, red onions, pickles. Love their coleslaw, just enough sweet/ tartness. Our server overheard my hubby wanting to share our plates, she brought out 2 soup spoons, extra plates and always offered my coffee refilled. This restaurant is up there in my list of favorite restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank napavalleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best crab in town”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We live in the San Francisco Bay Area and go here several times a year especially during crab season. It is a favorite spot to take friends from out of town. The ambiance is rustic but the food is so fresh and tasty. Try to get a table by the window so you can enjoy the ocean view.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cali4nians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbara's Fishtrap also viewed

 
Half Moon Bay, CA
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Barbara's Fishtrap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing