We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barbara's Fishtrap

Barbara's Fishtrap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northwest Indiana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

What a gem!! I had fish and chips, since they're "best fish and chips around" according to everyone who eats there and they definitely lived up to that! My sister had the clam chowder in a sourdough bowl and it was very good. The clam pieces were diced very small and we were told it was made without milk so the base is not as thick, so not soo heavy. We will definitely be going back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tenabeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    177
    72
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Benicia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Terrible chowder but good fish & chips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Went for dinner and had seen good reviews on the clam chowder. Unfortunately the clam chowder tasted like cream of celery soup with clams tossed in. No clam flavor shown through at all. Fish and chips were good and the chips were really great.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Food4allBenicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Drove 2 hours for dinner and it was worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

After spending a fun afternoon at the Harvest Festival in Half Moon Bay, we decided to go back to this restaurant because we enjoyed the food so much. We were not disappointed. Jeannie, our server was friendly. My husband had the clam chowder and fish dinner (tempura style), with baked potato and i had the crab sandwich with fries. We order clam strips for an appetizer. The clam chowder was nice and steamy hot as were the clams. The chowder was thick, creamy with nice bits of clams, onion, potato, corn, celery and seasoned just right. He savored every spoonful. The clam srtips were a nice, hot portion and yummy.
The fish dinner was nice portion sizes of fish and generous baked potato with sour cream with butter. My crab sandwich had nice portion of tasty crabmeat on a sourdough bun with crispy lettuce, tomato, sliced purple onion with pickles on the side. The steak fries were nice
, hot and crispy. This place has a friendly vibe to it. All in all, another great meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Undie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder near the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Nice place, not elegant (more shack like) but with a definite fisherman style. Great clam chowder, smooth and tasty, in bread bowl. Very good fish and chips, fish is soft and not dry at all and chips are large slices, not the usual frozen industrial small sticks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ratavaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, with excellent seafood & trimmings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We split a Veracruz (not sure if it was snapper, or halibut, or what, but -- very tasty!) with a baked potato & a deep-fried zucchini wedge. Along with a basket of sourdough bread & butter, it was plenty for two. We were there at night, so we can't comment on the view, but I'd imagine it's very nice, of the harbor.

This restaurant is not in the city of Half-Moon Bay, but farther north, in the little village of Princeton-on-the-Sea.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraGraceB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbara's Fishtrap also viewed

 
Half Moon Bay, CA
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Barbara's Fishtrap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing