We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great time, saw whale breaching

The experience we had is absolutely fantastic. We were a group of 3 pesons, me, my girlfriend and a... read more

Reviewed March 19, 2018
ivanS8870LN
,
London, United Kingdom
Always a great time

This is my fourth trip I have been on with the Oceanic Society and it keeps me wanting to come back.

Reviewed February 6, 2018
Janis R
,
Carmichael, United States
Read all 10 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Half Moon Bay
from $399.00
More Info
from $94.00
More Info
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
8
0
0
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
0
0
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2015

We recently went on a whale watch trip sponsored by the Oceanic Society out of Half Moon Bay. The boat (Salty Lady), though newer and quite clean, nevertheless was way too small for the number of passengers--fifteen would have been a better number. The ship's rules confined us to the stern or to seats inside which were immediately grabbed by those boarding first and never abandoned for the entire trip. Upon arriving at the pier, some red flags began to wave...there didn't appear to be any other whale watch companies on the dock and I started to wish I had done more homework. The “naturalist” signed us in and mentioned that some college students would be coming along (more people crowding the boat) to do surveys. Although the staff assured us that some grey whales had been seen "recently," we saw absolutely nothing on this trip except some marine birds. Three hours of sitting on a hard bench and not one sign of any fish or sea mammal. We understand that there are no guarantees of a whale sighting, but one would expect something...a porpoise maybe or a dolphin. To while away the time, the “naturalist” went on a rant several times about the evils of plastic in the ecosystem (some of that is expected on these expeditions), but her shrill diatribe shaded into leftist politics which we did not appreciate. If you travel to the Bay area and wish to go whale watching, do yourself a favor and go to Monterey Bay; they have fantastic trips featuring large boats, knowledgeable crews, and a strong likelihood that you will see something worthwhile.

Date of experience: January 2015
19  Thank michbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We took the 3-hour (9-12) whale cruise recently and saw somewhere around six whales. The staff was very friendly and informative and the crew of the ship was outstanding. I would highly recommend this experience if you can fit it into your schedule. You won't regret it!

Date of experience: April 2014
5  Thank Dave3176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Four of us went whale watching Saturday, it was so much fun.
we will be doing it again.
Get some friends and give it a try, it makes a great day of fun.

Date of experience: September 2013
3  Thank lampliter95123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: February 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews